We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My son booked us into the Clontarf Castle in Dublin as a treat, he also booked us tickets for the Garth Brooks concert. Sadly the concert was cancelled but the Clontarf Castle was lovely. We were lucky enough to be be upgraded to a fantastic suite with a four poster bed, roll top bath in the bathroom. Lovely time indeed. Rather than go into Dublin we decided to visit Howth which is a seaside village about half an hour away from the hotel. We had a great evening, lovely weather and a super meal at O'Connells.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you has a lovely stay with us, despite the cancellation of the Garth Brooks concert. I was even more pleased that you enjoyed your room and all the amenities. Again, many thanks for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to right a review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,386 - 2,392 of 4,151 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was delighted with my choice in staying at this wonderful hotel. It was just what I needed in terms of appropriate amount of luxury and provided me with excellent surroundings in order to unwind after a couple of hectic months work. My room was spacious and tastefully decorated and was a great retreat for some needed nap time.
Staff were courteous as expected and took the time to chat when engaged.
Food was very good in restaurant and had some nice wine selections. My partner was partner was also very happy with the stay here so all round a good choice and great place to get bedded in for our trip around ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank boolean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thought your room to be spacious and tastefully decorated. I was even more pleased you thought our staff to be courteous as we strive to deliver the best in customer service. Again, many thanks for your feedback. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel has quirkily fused the old world and the new with contemporary design with old world charm.
Our room was comfortable, clean and functional.
Breakfast was amazing, I would reccomend the pancakes!
Though its a little far out ,I liked the area,and buses are very accessable, only 10 minutes from centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with your stay at the Castle, and even more pleased to read you enjoyed your room and breakfast at The Fahrenheit Restaurant. Your review is much appreciated, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay for couples wanting a stay in a historical location. The Castle is made into a very comfortable place to stay. The dinning area and bar area are a great place to eat with castle like atmosphere. You do need a car if you are looking to go into Dublin city center but it is a short drive and worth the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scooter_girl_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us, and delighted you thought Fahrenheit Restaurant and Knights Bar to be great places to eat. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here on July 21, 2014. After spending the day in busy downtown Dublin, this was a perfect quiet setting to rest up for our trip north the next day. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Our two twin beds didn't feel small at all. We had a late night drink in the Knights Bar - definitely recommend the fresh made scones - I craved them for the rest of my vacation!! The breakfast buffet was very good and in the 8 hotels we stayed in, this hotel was the only one that had an espresso machine as part of the buffet. My latte loving companion was in heaven. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tasslegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an excellent experience at the Castle. I was even more pleased you thought our rooms to be comfortable and well appointed, and the breakfast buffet to be satisfying. Again, many thanks for your feedback. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

6 of us stayed at this hotel in April 2014. Lovely hotel, lovely grounds, lovely area of Dublin. A bit out of town though and although the walk to the bus stops was a lovely one it was a bit of a stretch each day with children. My grandchildren loved the fact they were in a Castle. Glad we spent the money for the grandchildren to say they were in a castle but I did find it pricey.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you and your family had a good stay with us. I was especially pleased you were satisfied with the atmosphere provided by the hotel and grounds. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This trip was booked to suprise myself and my friend by our husbands. We were not dissapointed. The service was warm and welcoming. The staff simply assisted us no matter what our queries and the hotel itself was stunning. 20 min bus ride into Dublin center. Reasonable taxi fare to and from Dublin airport. Lovely bar area that serves the most delicious beef and guiness pie and the drink it's self!
Big thank you to Chris on reception for helping us with his knowledge of Dublin and things to do on our trip!
We hope to return in the future!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank blissbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and even more pleased that you received exceptional customer service from our staff. I will be sure to send your comments on to Chris and the rest of the team. Again, thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,655 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,447 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,642 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £104 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing