We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I traveled to Ireland with my eldest daughter from Feb 17, 2010 to Feb 27, 2010. This was a trip that was a decade in the making and my daughter set up our last night in Ireland at the Clontarf Castle. A wonderful blend of old and new, great service and wonderful food. As my daughter had set this up as a birthday gift for me, I was surprised with a slice of birthday cake once we had unpacked.
The service at the front desk was great and a special thanks to Denise who worked with my daughter to make this a very memorable experience.
The restaurants were filled with locals which tells me the food and service are good all the time. Food was fabulous and the breakfast buffet was great.
Will visit again one day!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,525
    787
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
810
1,796
73
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Stayed for two nights on a three day city break. Our package included dinner on one night and two days worth of breakfasts and cream teas. As breakfast would have cost an eyewatering 23 euros each, that was well-worth it!
They looked after our bag as we arrived long before our check-in time (early morning flight!) whilst we spent the day in Dublin and our check-in, when we got back, was smooth. The standard room was larger than normal, as was the bed, which was even more comfortable than our bed at home (and that says something). I was expecting a little more character than we got, but basically we found a standard hotel built behind the original castle which houses the public areas.
Room furnishings were a little tired and stained, but the decor in the rest of the hotel was interesting (eclectic!). The 'best' interior design award seems a little exaggerated! Certainly the most unusual! The maids took hygiene seriously-I saw a lot of polishing and vacuuming of the public areas! However room service trays outside bedroom doors remained uncollected all day!
They could have been a bit more generous with pillows, bath towels and toiletries-these were minimal (only one pillow each, one bath towel between us until I found another hidden in the wardrobe, no shower hat). I have been offered much more in quantity and quality (respectively) in many inferior grade hotels. However the hair dryer worked and there were tea/coffee facilities in the room.
The food in the bar and the restaurant was mostly good, and the atmosphere in the bar was lively (loud even!). A pot of Earl Grey tea at breakfast would have been nice rather than a DIY teabag in a cup!
The restaurant claims to stay open until 10.30pm however we caused some consternation when we arrived for our dinner at 9.45pm.
There was free internet access (as we didn't have a laptop with us to use the free broadband).
The staff were very helpful and the waiters remembered our idiosyncrasies, which I was quite impressed with!
The location doesn't matter if you have a car or don't mind using a taxi or bus, as these were convenient and plentiful. We bought a three day bus ticket which we could also use for the airport transfer and this was amazing value.
We would have no hesitation in staying there on a return trip to Dublin, if we weren't tempted to stay in the middle of Dublin (by way of comparison).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleyg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Everyone else has raved about the lovely rooms and the helpful staff and I agree with them. It's a very pleasant hotel indeed. However, when I stayed here for a conference last week, my experience was marred by three things.

Firstly I see others here extolling the food, so obviously they weren't vegetarian. And clearly, neither is the chef! On the evening of my stay, I had a filo pastry dish (this was the only substantial veggie dish on offer) that was tasteless and greasy, and bordered on the inedible. Fortunately, the small dish of spicy potato wedges and meditarranean vegetables that accompanied it were fine - otherwise I would have gone to bed starving.

The next day, for our meeting lunch, the sole vegetarian dish on offer was a slightly different filo pastry parcel dish. This one really was inedible (although the simple vegetable accompaniment was perfectly good). This simply isn't good enough in my view, and although hotel vegetarian food isn't always great, it is usually edible. My expectations aren't high in this respect, which makes my experience all the worse.

The second problem was that after I had showered and washed my hair, prior to the 9am start of my meeting, I found that the hairdryer didn't work - occasionally it would run for a few seconds then cut out completely. I rang down to ask for someone to bring me a hairdryer, was told that someone would come straight away, but no one turned up in the next 45 minutes, by which time my hair had dried into a frizzy bush by itself. Thanks very much Clontarf Castle for making me spend the day at my meeting looking like I'd been dragged through a hedge backward.

Add to this, my being woken abruptly at 2am by a group of revellers outside my door, and you can maybe appreciate that my experience was not great.

If there'd been a decent vegetarian dish to eat, and if the faulty hairdryer situation had been dealt with quickly, I would probably be singing the praises of the hotel like everyone else. I might come back if I got another good deal, but I would never eat there again and I would definitely check that the hairdryer works before washing my hair!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mct1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Stayed here for Valentines day with my boyfriend. We could not check in on time due to it being fully booked the previous night and people checking out late. However, the staff were very helpful and gave us some free drinks vouchers whilst we waited. The initial room we were given, was not as expected (due to size) so we rang down to reception and we were kindly taken to another room which we loved! The staff were very apologetic and helpful. We had an executive room with a huge 4 poster bed which was lovely, very spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. We had the valentines set menu in the Fahrenheit Grill Restaurant which i can honestly say was the nicest food i have ever tasted! It was amazing! The Castle looks gorgeous at night when its all lit up, it made a very romantic setting for which was a perfect Valentines day. Its only a short bus ride into Dublin City Centre which cost 1.80 euros and it stops right outside the hotel, so its an ideal location if you also want to do a bit of sightseeing. We will definitely be coming back here when we return to Dublin. I cannot praise the staff enough, nothing was too much trouble and they were always very professional and helpful. You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HFK1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

The Clontarf Castle Hotel is a very friendly place with castle like features, boasting of a lovely restraunt. Great value for money too. Would definately stay again..

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hijichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Booked a night in Clontarf Castle Hotel for feb 3rd, it was a treat for my brother and his wife(who were home visiting - he lives in america) and my parents(as belated birthday present). My brothers wife is american, she loved the exterior of the hotel, she'd never seen a building like this before. We had a hassle free check in, which was at about midday, but we were given our key cards for our rooms straight away which i thought was excellent considering we were checking in early! Staff were very polite and helpful. The rooms were modern and comfortable and very very clean! The bed was enormous which i loved! I ordered room service, which was very reasonably priced and was brought to my room promptly! Excellent service! (The bbq baby back ribs were unreal! i'll be back just for them!! :) )
The hotel is situated in a very quiet area away from the noisey city which i also really liked! Taxi only cost around €15 from the city, which is good for dublin. Had a wonderful nights sleep! Breakfast was very very reasonably priced, it was only €10 per person...and it was lovely!! Staff were great here also. Hassle free check out also!

Overall had a great night in clontarf castle hotel, food was amazing, staff were amazing and i look forward to visitng here again in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieboi2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Stayed here on a busy Saturday night and had a fantastic stay. Rooms looked like they were newly decorated with all the amenities. Restaurant food was really wonderful and the bar was full with people and had a great atmosphere. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing