We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most enjoyable hospitality experience I have ever had. Period.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I live in Las Vegas, the high-end hotel capital of the world and one of the largest collections of restaurants found anywhere. I have also been all over the USA and Mexico and stayed in a huge variety of hotel properties in my travels.

Not once have I experienced the commitment to excellence I found at Clontarf Castle. After virtually every exchange with a staff member I found myself saying "Wow." From the front desk to restaurant staff to housekeeping, every encounter was an excersize in exemplary customer service.

The rooms were incredibly comfortable, tastefully appointed, well-equipped and quiet. The food was ridiculously good, meticulously prepared and served by the most knowledgeable and friendly staff I have had the pleasure to dine with. The front desk and concierge staff were warm and welcoming, with a complete understanding of the Dublin area, Ireland itself, and precisely what it would take to make an American tourist feel welcome and cared for.

This was my first real vacation in over 10 years and I cannot imagine a finer, more rewarding experience, due largely to the time I spent on the hotel property itself.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VegasArtBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynJohnson, Marketing Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2010

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience here at Clontarf Castle Hotel. Hopefully your next trip over won't be as far away and we can see you again soon. Please do let us know if you are thinking of coming over again and we would be delighted to take care of you.
Karyn Johnson
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,692 - 3,698 of 4,240 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed at Clontarf castle with my partner for one night on the recommendation of my parents. I was plesently surprised by the surroundings and the hotel itself- it really was stunning. The staff were more than friendly and very helpful, the chamber maids were smiling and very polite. The hotel looked well kept and very clean, more than you get in some other 4* hotels!
We had paid for a room upgrade, the room was stunning and we were very happy with it initially until we discovered that there was no bath, no dressing gowns, no personal touches at all. We requested a change of room but were told the only one available was a smoking room and this did not appeal to us (as non smokers!). We were not offered any upgrade to a room that met our needs.
We had booked into the Farenheit Grill for dinner and although the service was fantastic, the food was terrible! If i hadnt prepaid for the dinner, I would not have been prepared to pay for my starter (Goats cheese bruchetta that was so hard, I could not bite into it and was worried that it would strike the dinners beside me if i tried to cut it!)
Breakfast was fab though. I would advise people to skip dinner and eat lots of breakfast!!
All in all, I did really like the hotel and its surroundings and would go back to Clontarf castle but I think that the hotel could be so much better with just a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynJohnson, Marketing Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about the property and our team here at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We are indeed very sorry and disappointed to read about the service you experienced during your stay with us. Please be assured that this is by no means normal practice and we normally pride ourselves with a good quality product as well as a warm, friendly and efficient guest experience. Your comments regarding the food and room upgrades have been shared amongst all of our team. If you are thinking of returning to the castle please do contact me personally and I will do everything possible to look after your booking. We hope you can forgive us and allow us a second chance to offer you the true Clontarf Castle Experience.
Karyn Johnson
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

the place is really peculiar, nice and charmful but the welcoming attitude and the service is even better
perfect for both business and pure enjoying

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynJohnson, Marketing Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2010

Dear Guest,
We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review and we hope we can offer you the Castle experience again soon. If you are thinkining of coming over again Please do contact me personally and I will look after you.
Karyn Johnson
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed three night at Clonarf Castle and loved it. We didn't get to see all we wanted to in Dublin so will definately stay at Clontarf Castle if we return again.

The entrance is lovely and the reception staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was warm, comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. No complaints food-wise - great breakfasts and the meals we had there were very good too.

Only a ten minute bus ride into the centre so it was quick and easy to nip and and out of the city centre.

Recommended.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank annmars2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This is a modern renovation literally built around an historic castle. While it may upset some historians it has quite tastefully preserved the historical building for future generations to enjoy. The rooms are ultra comfortable, staff helpful, facilities excellent. There is free internet in the lobby, but it works spasmodically. Hotel food is great, breakfast excellent, overall value for money.
Particularly like the digital room information that gives the outside temp and feels like temp.
There is free parking outside which is great if you are touring around by car, otherwise it is public transport into Dublin central. Really would recommend where you have your own transport. Booking through hotels own web site.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I traveled to Ireland with my eldest daughter from Feb 17, 2010 to Feb 27, 2010. This was a trip that was a decade in the making and my daughter set up our last night in Ireland at the Clontarf Castle. A wonderful blend of old and new, great service and wonderful food. As my daughter had set this up as a birthday gift for me, I was surprised with a slice of birthday cake once we had unpacked.
The service at the front desk was great and a special thanks to Denise who worked with my daughter to make this a very memorable experience.
The restaurants were filled with locals which tells me the food and service are good all the time. Food was fabulous and the breakfast buffet was great.
Will visit again one day!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Stayed for two nights on a three day city break. Our package included dinner on one night and two days worth of breakfasts and cream teas. As breakfast would have cost an eyewatering 23 euros each, that was well-worth it!
They looked after our bag as we arrived long before our check-in time (early morning flight!) whilst we spent the day in Dublin and our check-in, when we got back, was smooth. The standard room was larger than normal, as was the bed, which was even more comfortable than our bed at home (and that says something). I was expecting a little more character than we got, but basically we found a standard hotel built behind the original castle which houses the public areas.
Room furnishings were a little tired and stained, but the decor in the rest of the hotel was interesting (eclectic!). The 'best' interior design award seems a little exaggerated! Certainly the most unusual! The maids took hygiene seriously-I saw a lot of polishing and vacuuming of the public areas! However room service trays outside bedroom doors remained uncollected all day!
They could have been a bit more generous with pillows, bath towels and toiletries-these were minimal (only one pillow each, one bath towel between us until I found another hidden in the wardrobe, no shower hat). I have been offered much more in quantity and quality (respectively) in many inferior grade hotels. However the hair dryer worked and there were tea/coffee facilities in the room.
The food in the bar and the restaurant was mostly good, and the atmosphere in the bar was lively (loud even!). A pot of Earl Grey tea at breakfast would have been nice rather than a DIY teabag in a cup!
The restaurant claims to stay open until 10.30pm however we caused some consternation when we arrived for our dinner at 9.45pm.
There was free internet access (as we didn't have a laptop with us to use the free broadband).
The staff were very helpful and the waiters remembered our idiosyncrasies, which I was quite impressed with!
The location doesn't matter if you have a car or don't mind using a taxi or bus, as these were convenient and plentiful. We bought a three day bus ticket which we could also use for the airport transfer and this was amazing value.
We would have no hesitation in staying there on a return trip to Dublin, if we weren't tempted to stay in the middle of Dublin (by way of comparison).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valleyg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,727 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,529 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,742 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £101 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing