We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, clean and convenient.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, clean and convenient.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I only spent a night here, arriving in the nearby Heuston Station at 11pm and checking out at 9am the following day. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the station, hence the convenience. It iis very well served by public transport. Check in was efficient and friendly and the reception staff were helpful with a few enquiries I had. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I usually turn off the heat in the room and open the window. I did this in the Ashling and overheard a very loud and drunken argiment between a man and a woman, both with broad dublin accents, so I didn't need to watch TV for entertainment!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiceloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,269
    1,548
    332
    72
    33
See reviews for
842
1,917
182
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I paid for an upgrade to a suite and wasnt disappointed. huge room and fab bathroom, both very large. Reception staff were efficient and friendly. A pity about the grumpy doorman who is your first impression of the place. Maybe he was just having a bad night. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliz-ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed in the Ashling hotel recently for a midweek break.It was a very positive experience. We found the staff extremely pleasant, the room was very comfortable, the food was excellent and the location is superb with easy access to train, bus and luas. There are several interesting places to visit and explore in the vicinity of the hotel. Great hotel, would highly recommend it. Will be back. Well done, keep up the good work and the high standards.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86James86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We are a couple aged between 22 and 25 and stayed here for 2 nights during the week. On arrival were greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff.

We stayed in the deluxe superior king room which we were blown away by as the room was very spacious and comfortable, had a balcony with a great view of the Guinness factory and a huge bathroom with two sinks, bath and separate walk in rain shower.

The location of the hotel is great because you are less than a 5 minute Luas trip away from the city centre, the Luas costs €1.50 one way or €2.90 return for an adult to the city centre. You are also within a very short walking distance of the Guinness factory, Heuston station and Pheonix Park.

The Ashling also has two great restaurants incase you feel like eating in or room service.

Room Tip: Spend that little bit extra and stay in a deluxe superior king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ry1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Return to the Ashling for a few days break before Christmas ! This is no longer a Best Western but the standards have been maintained with a couple of minor hiccups. After a 45 minute bus ride from the airport to Heuston Station you have a short walk across the bridge to the hotel. You also can catch a LUAS tram into the city centre (about a 10 minute ride) from outside the station. We arrived at 9am from an early (very early !) flight and were checked into our room straight away. Great ! However the previous guests towels were still in the bathroom, but a call to reception had the bathroom cleaned straight away. The staff are just fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them , they are out to make your stay enjoyable. I thought the Irish breakfast was smaller than on our previous stays - sure, you can go back for more - but who wants to appear greedy !
I must mention the Millenium Bar two doors down the street - nothing to do with the hotel but it has great Guinness and a great landlord - the drinks have to be the cheapest around !

Room Tip: Go for a 'superior' room - well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The best thing to me about this hotel is the convenient location to the train station, which is just a block or less away. The Luas line (monorail tram line) runs right in front of hotel to bring people downtown into the heart of Dublin city! The decor inside the hotel lobby, restaurant and bar and bedrooms is modern and nice however that doesn't make up for the lack of heat in the bedroom, which was quite chilly, even after having someone look at it and reset everything! Also, one must watch extremely carefully the rate being charged at check-out. Be careful and double check your rate and bill!

Room Tip: Ask for a warm room facing the front and the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELTA-Girl-1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CENTRAL NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed there for 4 nights during thanksgiving 2011. Not stylish on the exterior, but nice and modern on the inside. The rooms were comfortable, not small like a lot of European hotels. We took a rail excursion that left 6:45 AM, and it was a 5 minute walk. It is also convenient to the Museum of Modern Art and the Guiness Brewery and Storehouse. Dublin is a great walking city, and it was about a 20-30 minute walk from the great museums near the center of Dublin. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOMOTORBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing