We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great hotel with well-appointed, modern design. Bed and bathroom were especially good. Friendly front desk staff and convenient access to Heuston Station and downtown Dublin. We had a great stay and would return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Many thanks for your great review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to be so conveniently located. I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to the Ashling.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,073 - 3,079 of 4,615 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotels website describes it as been an award winning 4* hotel and we had high hopes. The location was excellent it was only a small walk away from heuston station and the luas ran right by the hotel.
I was amazed with how good the reception area looked but the service we received once we got to the desk was awful, We were over 20 mins trying to check in the receptionists didnt seem to have a clue what they were doing and by the time we left the desk there was a big queue behind us.

The room we received was average for a 4* hotel but it was clean tidy and comfortable.

The bar area is lovely but the bar staff would not let us stand or order a drink by the bar which I found extremely strange. We were told to sit down and have our order taken, This was a bit awkward and felt very formal.

The hotel is nice but the staff need more training. I possibly would stay here again but only for its location and not for the customer service

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melikemyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your review from your stay at the Ashling Hotel last March. I was delighted to read that you found the location of the hotel to be excellent. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to convey your impressions of the hotel and I very much appreciate your feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the Ashling again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here for The Killers concert in the Phoenix Park and we're so glad we did!!! What a fantastic hotel! Have to tell you, you have the best staff in the world. We where greeted by the most nice man you will ever meet named Eugene. What a Gent, can't say enough about him! The room was only beautiful, very clean and even had a fan! 4 beds to accommidate us all and had a great night sleep. Thank you all for a wonderful night ;-D x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Many thanks for your fantastic review review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and I really appreciate your kind words about our staff members, especially Eugene. I hope to welcome you all back to the Ashling again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as we were going to see Mumford and Sons in concert at nearby Phoenix park. The hotel check in is at 3pm and when they are very busy as they were this weekend, there really is no chance of early check in, but this was not a problem as we used the hotel car park (€8 per night which is so cheap for Dublin city centre). We went to Temple Bar while we waited for 3pm, Its a 15-20 min stroll to temple Bar. Check in was quick and staff were very pleasant. We had a triple room which actually had 4 beds in it! Lovely room, which had floor standing fan already in the room (it was a very hot weekend)....this was great for during the night! The lunch buffet in the dining room was good without being brilliant, but the breakfast was amazing!! The bar is lovely and the cocktails were gorgeous........1 point though - if you are planning to stay here because you are going to a concert in Phoenix Park be aware that it took us abt 45 minutes to walk to the actual pitch where the concerts are held.......it was scorching hot day and we thought we were never going to get there.....so while you are 2 min walk from the gates of Phoenix Park it is a good walk to concert venue!!!! I would however stay here any time....

Room Tip: Take comfortable shoes if walking to a concert in Phoenix Park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Many thanks for your brilliant review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel was so close to Phoenix Park for you and your friends. I was also glad to read that you thought our breakfast was amazing. I hope to welcome you all back to the Ashling again soon.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel when in Dublin for the Mumford & sons concert, very busy weekend for staff but have to comment on how lovely and friendly they all, particularly the girls in reception. Hotel was very nice, food was good and the price was not inflated for the concert night. Really like that they only let residents into the hotel bar after the concert, it showed that they valued their residents and not just the money they could make on the concert night. Definitely would recommend this hotel and will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chichester12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I really appreciate your comments on how lovely and friendly all the staff are. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ashling again soon.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Started our Tour of Ireland with CIE Tours on the 6 July 2013. Day1 and evening stayed at the Ashling Hotel. Room ready on arrival and what a room. King sized bed and the on-suite bathroom was nearly the same size as the bedroom. Walk in shower and his and hers basins on black granite top and bath at far end of bathroom. Complimentary soaps and shower gels.
Coffee and tea making supplies in bedroom. We was on the sixth in corner room with a good view.
Room was spotless and very clean. Although we did not have dinner in hotel, the following morning we had breakfast in main dining room. Plenty of choice of hot and cold buffet and the breakfast chef was very friendly and helpful in serving you. Overall the staff in the hotel from receptionist to the waiters and waitresses were all friendly and helpful. Overall worth a 5 star. Highly recommended place to stay when visiting Dublin. In easy reach of bus services and pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Well worth a stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for a fantastic review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved your room. I'm also glad you thought all the staff were friendly and helpful. I hope to welcome you and your partner back to the Ashling on your next trip to Ireland.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just back from a weekend break And was looking at some of the reviews And could not believe what I was reading My wife and myself stayed in a superior Room on the first floor and the room was perfect for 4* so unless they have a different standard thought the hotel these other travellers just must like complaining as for being polite and friendly could not ask for nicer Staff Dinned in the restaurant on three nights meals were excellent and very reasonable priced on one night they apologised for having to wait which we were not aware of just one issue the luas gets you up early because it runs just outside the front door (noisy) would definitely return again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Many thanks for your kind review from your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel Dublin. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I really appreciate your comments about our staff being polite and friendly. I hope to welcome you and your partner back to the Ashling again soon.

Best Wishes,
Alan Moody
General Manager

ASHLING HOTEL DUBLIN


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,414 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £88 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing