We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a birthday night out, staff were very friendly, very helpful, the room was nice and clean and the bar had great service, outside we got a taxi from the hotel, who worked for them named dinny, possibly the nicest/most helpful taxi man I've ever met, which was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunaM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that everything went well as you were here for a celebration. I will make sure Dinny sees this review, as he rarely gets a mention, and I am positive that he will be delighted. I hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,272
    1,550
    332
    72
    33
See reviews for
843
1,920
182
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff Manager Rosaleen runs a tight ship and you won't find better service anywhere. My room was large, quiet, and had a nice view of the city. Elevators were prompt with almost no waiting. Hotel is handy to train station for visits to Kilkenney, Waterford, and Galway. Taxi station across the street makes trips to center city easy. Tip: book early; Ashling tends to fill up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. You are correct, Rosaleen runs a very tight ship, which helps things move along very smoothly. I was so pleased to read that your room was suitable and that you found our location good for getting to the city centre. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

There were 16 of us that stayed here for two nights....The hotel is beautiful, the staff are very friendly and accommodating, the food was wonderful....especially the breakfasts...The rooms were very spacious, the beds were soooo comfortable!! There is nothing bad I could possibly say about this hotel, except for the location....I much prefer the Southside of Dublin....other than that, it's a great place to stay....especially for the business passenger...

GreenB7, Boston

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenB7Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read every single one of them, and so pleased to hear that you found our beds very comfortable. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Myself and my boyfriend and another couple booked on lastminute.com to stay at this hotel - it was done as a 'secret hotel' so cost us only £67 for the night per room which as we booked only a week in advance/was halloween night /midterm and it's located in Dublin City centre we were very happy with.

After our stay I can only describe it as a total bargain - beautiful rooms with lovely comfy beds, but mirrors and good lighting - even a movable stand alone face mirror perfect for doing make up! Nice bathroom and free wifi all over the hotel. They have their own car parking only 8euro and we could keep it there until 6pm the next day. Nice bar and restaurant downstairs - pricey but that's expected in Dublin but very nice food and handy to relax in.
The hotel is located right on the Luas (tram) line so only a 5min walk to the stop and you can jump on and be on O'connell Street in
10mins! Perfect location without being stuck in the middle of the bars/noise or anything like that.

The stand alone best thing about the stay was the staff - as two young couples who were planning on having a few drinks and heading out you often fear the hotel won't be impressed - the receptionist who checked us in (perhaps called Susan can't just remember) was so so friendly asked us what we were dressing up as and was beyond lovely can't say enough how nice - when we were heading out the door man recommended us where to go out as we weren't sure and he was spot on we had an amazing night and he was so lovely and full of craic with us that made us feel like we weren't burdens or pains in the bum - lovely staff the next morning also despite the other couple sleeping in and only waking at 12 they were very nice and asked us about our stay and our night out. Top top customer service - I will hopefully be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your truly lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. Every so often we get a review that really makes us proud of what we do and I have to say, this is one of them. I have made sure that all staff have seen this, and they are delighted. I would be over the moon to welcome you back to us in the future, if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Tipperary Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed in this lovely hotel on shopping trip with my friend, excellent service, lovely breakfast. Will stay there again. The hotel is near the Luas which will take you into the centre of the city in about ten minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berryan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review about the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read all of your comments and was especially pleased to hear that you will stay here again, as I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Can't fault this hotel, staff helpful and friendly, room spacious, quiet and spotless, superb range of foods for breakfast even gluten free options, recommend the full Irish though, convenient for getting around town with the Luas outside the door. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review of the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read every single point and was so pleased to see that everything was faultless for you. I hope to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I came here with my husband for a well earned break. The atmosphere was so relaxed,friendly and comfortable form the moment we stepped inside. The staff were so helpfully , friendly and informed about things to do and see within our capital city also transport to and from venues. The rooms were spotless,spacious And bright. Our breakfast was wonderful so many options to choose from loved the fact there's gluten free options also :) . I would highly reccommened visitors to Dublin to stay in this hotel as they are guaranteed a very pleasant holiday and good food and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for this lovely review of the Ashling Hotel. I was over the moon to have read all of your comments, and to hear that everything went so well for you. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us, if you are ever in need of another well earned break.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing