We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Tullamore, Ireland
1 review
“Basic hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at hotel for two nights ,bedroom was clean done the job, went for breakfast wasn't too impressed with service , staff not very helpful ,no trays to put your plate on very busy there ,food cold ,they should have it managed better get guest to que one side and have trays to put your breakfast on to carry to your table ,never mind ppl walking into you with their food falling off on floors,

Room Tip: Our room was to at back to where car park is, very noisy and handle was broke off window so wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 944Pauline63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your room. I am sorry to read that you were not pleased with breakfast. We had previously introduced trays but they proved to be more unsafe during the busy times, so we took them away again, however, they are available on request for times when a guest needs one. I do hope you will give us another chance, and stay with us again.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,328
    1,590
    341
    72
    37
See reviews for
865
1,971
183
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Horrible service from some of the people at the front desk, no service "the Irish style" from them. Great Irish breakfast with good service. Bar good, service and atmosphare. Restaurant ok food and good service. Old bath with nothing between the tiles, but clean and good and polite service of the cleaning staff. The breakfast staff at the top, even the manager jump inn to help when it was crowdy by the heatfood desk. Near the Guinness and Phoenix park, walkable distance from Temple. Not the best area, but no problem to walk home from the Temple Street.
But will not use the hotel again, because of Something of the front desk staff.
They did not know what credit card they accepted.
Raymond

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I can only apologise about the service you received at reception. I will be looking into this as we very rarely receive such comments about our front desk team. I am pleased however, that you found everything else about your stay pleasant, and would be delighted if you gave us a second chance.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel was good for our needs; we wanted an affordable place close to public transportation options even though a bit far from the hot spots. Having the AirLink bus one block away, the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus stop half a block away, and the ability to easily identify how to get back to the hotel using the Dublin buses (i.e., "Heuston Station") were all pluses. This hotel, however, would not work for the average tourist who wants to be in the center of it all. After arriving early from a trans-Atlantic flight, we were able to check in to a room before noon (much appreciated). The room was not what I would consider four-star accommodations. The mattresses were of moderate quality, the furnishings were utilitarian, the walls were bare except for one framed picture, and the porcelain in the tub was chipped in two areas. All in all, the room was a bit dodgy, but at least it was clean (#1 priority). We needed to visit the front desk three times during our four night stay to get our room key reprogrammed (very annoying). We did not have breakfast in the hotel (12 euros), but walked to the SPAR store down the block to get Insomnia lattes and a muffin each morning (4 euros). If I were to return to Dublin, I would select a hotel near St. Stephens Green. FYI: the Temple Bar area is seedy - we saw a pickpocketer being arrested on a cold day in November. The Brazen Head Pub (oldest pub in Ireland) is very touristy as the only Irish in the place were the staff. If you are into gourmet food, Fallon & Byrne is a superb stop to roam the aisles and grab a light lunch. Our trip was great - the hotel was OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadAboutBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found our location good for accessing the public transport systems of Dublin. I was also pleased to read that you were able to check in early as this is not always possible. I am sorry that you had to keep returning to the reception desk to reprogramme your keys. If they are close to anything electronic they can tend to knock off. Temple Bar is a very lively area, but as you pointed out, it is a bit of a distance from us which is good, and we would advise that everyone be careful when walking about. I would be delighted if you gave us another chance if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenderry, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I visited to stay overnight for an event in the O2. Received polite service at reception, and the room was decent. However, the wake-up call was slightly late and frankly, breakfast. sucked. I would've been better off eating in Flanagan's or Kylemore it was so bad. Pink, fatty bacon, overdone sausages, and cold beans and hash browns. NOT the way to tempt me back, y'all!!

Room Tip: Not sure about any room tips, I had an internal room. Although it seemed well-soundproofed, I had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Ashling hotel. I was sorry to hear that breakfast was not satisfactory. I will look into your comments as we want to make sure our food standards are of the highest. I was pleased however to read that you received polite service and that you were pleased with your room. I would be delighted if you would give us a second chance, if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I spent 2 nights at this hotel with 2 girlfriends in a triple room. Fantastic experience. Big, comfortable room, nice toiletries, best ever breakfast menu and great bar. Highly recommend. Close to the centre ... The Luas and Train station. Very convenient for airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolannchichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for this lovely review about your stay at the Ashling. I was delighted to have read all of your comments, especially those about the room. I am also pleased to hear that you had the best breakfast ever. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was a great place to stay. It was located near the Heuston Station in Dublin (five minute walk), thereby accessing the bus system and the Irish rail system. The hotel staff were very friendly, and the rooms were very nice. We stayed in a deluxe queen, and we had a deluxe double/twin for our son and his friend. Both rooms were very nice. I would recommend getting a scone and Cappuccino in the bar area - nice seating with couches/chairs and coffee tables - awesome scones with cream, and jelly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for this lovely review about your recent stay with us here at the Ashling. I was delighted to read your comments and must say I agree with your comments about the Scone and Cappuccino. They are especially lovely as a morning treat. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Ashling at the end of our trip to Ireland. The location was great, we walked everywhere - a good brisk walk to Trinity College and Temple Bar. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the only drawback was the lighting in the bathroom; very dim and not sufficient for applying makeup! Breakfast was outstanding, service was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gugi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for this lovely review about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found our location suitable for getting around the local attractions. I will look into the lighting in the bathrooms, so thank you for bringing that to my attention. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing