We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient hotel in Dublin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Leon, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel a few days leading up to St. Patrick's day and were very pleased. It's conveniently located opposite the Heuston train station, which makes it easily accessible via the 747 airport bus and easy to get the tram into the city. The Guinness storehouse is also just a short 15 minutes walk away. Although there is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel's entrance. We were celebrating a very important occasion and were really delighted when we were upgraded to a better room. Another pleasant surprise was that in the restaurant they had gluten free options, including gluten free bread and pasta. The room was comfortable, the staff friendly and the location although not in the center of Dublin was convenient. Definitely consider this hotel if you're visiting Dublin!

Room Tip: Great views from room 708!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sralenteja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read all of your comments and especially pleased to read that we were able to upgrade your room type. We have a good selection of gluten free food in both our lunch and dinner menus, and for breakfast, as we are aware that this is a growing need. Thank you for saying to other readers to definitely consider us if they are visiting Dublin, and I hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    1,524
    328
    72
    32
See reviews for
827
1,885
179
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

As a business traveller who likes to experience a bit of central Dublin but who likes to get a really good break for the border in the morning (the border being the M50), then the Ashling is the perfect place. Parking is on site and the hotel is right at the border of central Dublin (great for a walk into town at night and a swift exit by car in the morning). However, the Ashling court the tourist clientele hard and it's not often you can get a room last minute as a business guest. That's great for the Irish tourist trade and as a businessman great to see. I stay in Dublin perhaps twice to three times per month and very frequently check to see if a room is available as it is a friendly and efficient hotel but if they are fully booked as often they are, it gives a warm feeling to know that oversees visitors are enjoying good Dublin hospitality and I just go to the next establishment on my list. Keep it up Ashling Hotel, I will keep booking with you every now and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about the Ashling Hotel. I was very pleased to read your thoughts about how we cater for both tourists and business guests. We do value both and hope that we have enough to offer both types of guest as we would not want to lose either. I am delighted to hear that you will continue to book with us from time to time. On that note, as a business guest I do hope you have a corporate rate with us. If not, just give us a call on 016772324 and ask for our Sales and Marketing Manager who will be delighted to help you set one up.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in March for a city break to Dublin. Great wow factor reception pink and black with fabulous lighting. Spacious rooms, great breakfasts, very close to the Luas stop Museum. We got a pass for the luas so that you can hop on/off and get into the city centre very easily.

While there was no one feature of the hotel that really stood out, what was so refreshing was that everything worked very well. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom well equipped. The breakfast was excellent and definitely saved us buying lunches!

All in all, excellent value. Clean. Well equipped and very friendly atmosphere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizzyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found everything great, and could not really fault anything. Thank you for saying that our breakfast was excellent. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I took my daughter to Dublin for 8 days. After a long overseas flight we arrived tired but eager to enjoy the city. The check in was a breeze.

The room we were assigned was located in the back of the hotel. It was very dated. I called down to the front desk thinking there was a mistake as it was nothing like what the British Airways site had indicated. I was told that there was nothing they would do and that the room we received was what was the package I had ordered. DO NOT even think that the photos on the BA site are what you will get!!

Not wanting to ruin the trip with complaining we carried on.

After two days I left a card on the door citing that the shower drain was slow and that we didn't have a bathroom fan (no one called to resolve).

This is not a 4 star hotel. The level of room cleanliness and offerings are not to that standard.

I sent a note to the Manager about our room experience and to date have not had a response.... we checked out on March 15th.

The location is really great for heading to the tourist areas but the area is a little rough at night.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 343.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beetle225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I have checked on the BA website and you did stay in one of the rooms advertised. We have two tiers of rooms in the hotel, our standard (classic) rooms and our superior rooms. We only sell these standard (classic) rooms with BA. It is regrettable that you did not like the room that you had paid for.
I must say that I am sorry nobody got back to you with the shower drain and the bathroom fan. I have now made our maintenance team aware of both so thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms. Located close to the bus stops and tram stations. Reception was very helpful. Check in was easy. They have a luggage scale that is useful when packing bags for return flights. The business center has two computers but you have to pay to use them. Wifi was great. Walk down to Juno's for brunch on Saturday and go to Nancy Hands for dinner! Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Casebola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments and especially pleased to hear your thoughts on the rooms. I would be honoured to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Arriving at the Ashling Hotel at 6am after an overnight flight from Boston, hoping to store our bags and explore Dublin (it's still dark!) until we are able to check in, the gentleman at the front desk told us our room was ready and we could check in!! THANK YOU!!!!! We were able to sleep for a few hours, shower and begin our two weeks in Ireland and England well refreshed. I cannot say enough about the hospitality of this hotel! The room was clean and well-appointed and the beds quite comfy. Lunch in the lobby was delicious and the staff courteous and attentive. The location of the hotel is convenient. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to Temple Bar and about 3-4 minutes to the Irish Museum (well worth checking out!). Heuston Station is a 2 minute walk across the bridge. We taxied from the airport (40 euro) but took the bus back (6 euro each). But beware if taking the bus~ Heuston is the first stop (so you'll get a seat!) but it then winds through Dublin at many stops. Plan at least an hour to get to the airport.
When returning to Dublin, i will not think twice about staying at the Ashing ~it is First class in every department!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DFitzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was over the moon when I read your comments and especially pleased to hear that you were able to get checked in early. We can't always guarantee it, but we try our best. Thank you for also mentioning your room and saying how nice it was. I hope to welcome you back to us if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We are three couples who stayed here for the weekend 7th march. What a lovely hotel! The rooms were very comfortable,and modern. Breakfast was amazing, with everything you could wish for. We also ate here on the Saturday evening which was lovely. The staff here are very friendly and happy to chat with the guests. I would certainly recommend this hotel,and we hope to return later in the year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank norma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your stay last September. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, and that you found the location convenient for getting to local tourist attractions. I would be over the moon to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,268 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing