We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashling Hotel, Dublin”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ashling Hotel, Dublin”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location - tram line stops outside hotel to centre of city. Also main station nearby. Within walking distance of Guinness factory too. Hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable - great staff on reception. Fantastic breakfast - freshly cooked, lots of choice. Only regret did not have enough time to sample the very good value evening menu 3 courses for 29 Euros, if breakfast anything to go by would be very good value and great food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to have read all of your comments about your stay and I was especially pleased to hear your thoughts about our breakfast. I am delighted you found the location of the hotel great, and I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,304
    1,566
    335
    72
    34
See reviews for
851
1,943
183
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I expected this to be a high-quality hotel because of the ranking on trip advisor and I must say I was a little disappointed - not the quality of a 4 star hotel that I am used to. I found the rooms to be stuffy and dated, although they did provide all of the necessities.

I think this would be a great hotel for large groups of people traveling together as there is a large restaurant, bar and comfortable seating areas on the first floor. Very convenient location to Heuston Station and you can walk to the Guinness storehouse. Do not plan to check in even one minute before your scheduled check-in time of 3. Its a busy hotel and it seemed as if maids were still cleaning rooms late into the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley_Kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was pleased to hear that you found our location good for getting about. It is unfortunate that you did not like the style of our rooms and felt that they were not 4* quality. We do be full on most nights, which is why we state that on a lot of occasions we cannot guarantee an earlier check in than our normal 3pm. However, where possible we do try our best. I hope your stay in Dublin was a successful one.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel, nicely furnished, located overlooking the river across from the Guinness brewery as well as just down the street from the Nat'l Museum and very convenient to Heuston Station - my only wish is that is that it was just a tad closer to the central areas of Trinity College/St. Stephens Green. Otherwise our stay was extremely pleasant with upgraded public areas including an OUTSTANDING breakfast buffet as well as the availability of secured luggage storage for early arrival or checkout. I'd easily recommend this hotel to friends as long as the location suited their requirements.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front side of the hotel overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bavarianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit to the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that you found our breakfast outstanding and, I am also delighted to hear that you would recommend us to others. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We loved staying at the Ashling!! After a 21 hour flight we were so glad to arrive at the Ashling, and were welcomed warmly by all the staff. The room was really nice, and is really good value for money. Shout out to Silvana in reception who was really helpful, as well as the rest of the hotel staff. Will definitely be going back!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travellingjess1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that you were able to relax after your 21 hour flight. Thank you for saying that your room was really nice, and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I just completed a tour of Ireland with CIE tours where we traveled the country and stayed at various hotels. The Ashling hotel was by far the best of the bunch. On the outside the Ashling looks like your average hotel but when you step inside you are transported to an elegant hotel. From the lobby to the lounge, to the dinning room everything is first class. Our room was fantastic!!! We had a suite and it knocked our socks off. It had a king sized bed, a safe, the room was well decorated and a bathroom that made it hard to leave. The bathroom had two sinks, a soaking tub, and a large shower with two shower heads. This was also the only room we had were you could control the temperature of your room because their rooms have air conditioning. They also give you a washcloth in your bathroom which for some reason is a big deal in most Irish hotels. The only draw back of the room was a buzzing noise coming from the other side of the bedroom wall. When we asked about it they said that it was a pump from the kitchen making the noise and that it would stop after the kitchen closed. It did stop after a while but it was pretty late when it did and it started again very early when breakfast started. Otherwise the room was great. Breakfast was one of the best that we had while in Ireland and the lounge serves really good food. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Dublin.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the other side of the hotel from room 270 to avoid the buzzing noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTOWN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review of your stay at the Ashling Hotel, during your tour of Ireland. I was so pleased to read all of your comments and especially delighted to hear your thoughts about the room. Thank you for also mentioning our breakfast. I hope if you ever return too Ireland, you know where to stay.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night over Easter. Good location for heuston station, luas and the hop on hop off tour. Room and bathroom were clean. Tea and coffee in the room was good. Staff was all very nice. Had dinner in the restaurant, service, pints and food was lovely.

They allowed us to leave the car until 6 so we could use the day to tour about Dublin for the day. Quite handy!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Newfie_Bullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read all of your comments and so pleased to hear that your found our staff very nice. Thank you for also saying that your dinner was lovely. I hope to welcome you back to us, if you are back in Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Ashling hotel is located Close to Heuston station and Phoenix park. The location makes it a bit of a walk to get to O`Connol Street/Grafton Street. It is not well isolated when it comes to noise from corridor, and other rooms, but it is a quiet area, and it is a good choice if you like a good stroll along Liffey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeirStokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found our location great for getting about. I hope to welcome you back to us soon, if you are returning to Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing