We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hospitable hotel”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Hospitable hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed her for two days the first of June. Staff was amazingly attentive. Rooms were squeaky clean, and the hotel itself was extremely attractive. We enjoyed our stay entirely. The only drawback (not really a drawback) was that our window view was of the adjacent building. I would stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you found our rooms clean and the staff great - we think so too. I am delighted to read that you would stay again, and I hope to be able to welcome you back.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,369
    1,606
    345
    72
    39
See reviews for
894
1,986
186
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location. It is away from central Dublin, but convenient to all parts of it. We dropped our car off at Dublin Airport and the bus link dropped us at the train station - less than one block from the hotel. There is a stop very close for the hop-on-hop-off tour bus. A tram runs right past the front of the hotel. We found the rooms spacious, by European standards. Very clean. The front desk staff was most helpful. The hotel appears to host business meetings and conferences. Security is obvious. Very good selection at breakfast in a nice cheery room. This hotel was selected for us by Irishtourism.com - we could not have picked a better hotel.

Room Tip: For dining or pub experience - exit the hotel and turn right. There are at least two neighborhood e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSixpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted that you found the hotel's location great for getting to and from the train station and that you found your room clean and spacious. Thank you for also mentioning the security, as we take our guests safety very seriously. I would be over the moon to welcome you back to us, if you return to Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I have had a wonderful city break in Dublin with my boyfriend to celebrate finishing university. When we arrived at the hotel we had a warm greeting from a very friendly receptionist (brown hair, we didn't catch a name) -excellent customer service.

The hotel was clean and very nicely furnished. When we were in the hotel room there was building work happening for about an hour which was a bit annoying as we were both very tired from traveling.

Aside from that I would recommend this hotel to couples looking for a nice hotel for a city break to Dublin as there is a tram a short walk down the road which takes you straight into the city centre!

The breakfast is very expensive so we found some lovely cafés to have breakfast, I recommend Cinammon Cafe!

Ashlington hotel is very nice and is a good choice of accommodation!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harriett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay and that you will hopefully be back. I apologise for the building work, and hope that it didn't annoy you too much. Congratulations on finishing university.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed in Ashling hotel with my family. We all really liked the hotel and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious and beds very comfy! The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast seemed to change every morning, the first morning it was very good but the next morning it was a bit different and not so tasty. The location of the hotel is excellent! All in all I would recommend Ashling hotel to anyone traveling to Dublin!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted to read your comments about the rooms and about our staff. I would be over the moon to welcome you back to us again in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was so clean. We had a very spacious room with a king size bed on the end of the third floor, the bathroom was huge, has a large shower plus a soaker tub. The only down full of being in the front of this hotel was we could hear so much noise coming from the train etc. had a good view of Guinness and the Floozy in the Jacuzzi! If I had to ever go back to Dublin I would stay here again but really not wanting to go to this city. Also food was nice!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your comments about the Ashling Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your room and felt that it was extremely clean. It is a shame to read your comments about the city itself, as it is usually clean also. I would hope that if you did come back to Dublin, you would come and stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was incredibly impressed with this hotel. They were super accommodating, allowing my husband and I to check in early after our red-eye from NYC. The room was big and very clean, and the breakfast was great. The location is great too. It's a little off the beaten path but within easy walking distance to downtown Dublin. For us, it was perfect because we were able to walk to the train station (with luggage!) to catch our train to Cork. We travel to Ireland once every couple years, and I will definitely book with them again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anana216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted to hear that we were able to get you checked in early. We cannot always guarantee it, but we do try our best as we know those long flights can leave guests very tired. I will be delighted to welcome you back to us in a few years time, when you are next in Ireland.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 1 night at the end of April for business meeting in Guinness Storehouse (also a cool location!). The hotel is modern and very clean, the rooms are well designed, bed comfy and the wi-fi works! There is a multi-storey car park which is attached to the hotel which was a god-send. The luas is just down from the hotel and its 5 mins to O'Connell street the centre of dublin or if you are feeling energetic a 20 minute walk. Although I was there for business I would stay there again as its so easy to get in and out by car without having to battle with the traffic on the Quays.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSTEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you felt we were great for a business stay but that you would also come back to us on a leisure basis. Thank you for mentioning our location, we feel it is great for getting about the city too.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,120 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing