We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel was clean the room good and very convenient to public transport and attractions.
The Luas (light rail) is right outside and the Guinness and Jamieson factories are close by.
The Hueston station is only 500 metres away,
Easy rise to the centre of Dublin on the LUAS which run very frequently.

Room Tip: Room at front for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Ashling. Thank you for saying that the rooms are clean and that the location is good. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,676 - 2,682 of 4,744 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Ashling was the perfect place for an affordable parent getaway. Parking was available under the hotel which meant we could leave the car there and catch public transport around Dublin. The Luas (light Rail) was right outside the door however there were a number of attractions close to the hotel such as the Guinness factory and the museum.

The room was clean and the shower awesome and powerful. The breakfast staff were friendly and the food plentiful. We also had carvery lunch on the final day, this was well priced and I personally had to stop the server for adding more food to my plate.

All in all a clean and affordable place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergusr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay and that you found our location great for visiting the Guinness Storehouse and the Museum. I hope to welcome you back to us again, if you ever need another getaway, or even better, bring the kids the next time you are in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel itself is nice, rooms and baths are spacious and clean. Ask for a front facing room if you want a view. We were not very impressed with the dining experience billed as "Candlelight Dinner". The meal was so-so and the service was extremely poor. The candlelight was a small votive size candle. Skip meals here. Also we were awakened by a false fire alarm at 2 in the morning and had to get dressed and go down to the front desk to get information. We tried calling the front desk but got no answer. There was no information after the alarm as to whether the place was on fire or not! Lost 2 hours sleep!! All they said at check-out was "sorry about that" and offered no rebate for the inconvenience. Only good thing was a central location for our travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the alarm going off in the middle of the night. It appears that another guest set it off. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we can now look into procedures for informing guests when it is a false alarm. However, with fire alarms we must be very careful, as the whole building needs to be checked before we can declare it false. It is regrettable that you did not enjoy your meal in the restaurant, and I apologise again if the service was slow.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were just great - nothing was too much bother - it seemed as if everyone wanted us to have an enjoyable stay. Some initial confusion with our booking (The agent used the wrong surname) was quickly sorted out and we were up to our room. Well sized and well furnished. Bar and food were all well run and provided good value for money. With the station near by, the tram running right outside, and the Guinness brewery within walking distance, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review of your recent visit to the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found everything great and that we were able to get you checked in when the agent had you booked in under a different name. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again, when you are next in Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My mom, sister, and I stayed here for 5 nights. We stayed here because of the ability to get 1 room with 3 beds. We requested a quiet room in advance and were happy with the result. It was a bit of a walk from the elevator, but that is the price you pay for peace. The room was spacious, but lacking in storage space for three people. The bathroom was also spacious, but the hairdryer provided is small and low powered. If you are picky about hairdryers, then you should bring your own.

The location is away from Temple Bar, but very convenient to the Luas and Hueston Station. A Luas ride from Hueston to O'Connell St was £1.70. If you plan to take it a lot, then you might investigate a pass rather than pay per ride.

The bar an restaurant on-site were convenient, but a bit overpriced with relatively limited menus. Several other options are available within walking distance, and many options are available with a short tram ride. The bar food is OK, but one visit is enough and I recommend finding other options

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that we were chosen because we have rooms with three beds. This is quite a rare thing in the city I must say. Thank you for saying that our location was good for getting about. I hope to welcome you back to us again in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with great Wi-Fi. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The tram system is outside, so you can get a bit of noise from that if you are sensitive to such things, but you can ride straight to the heart of the city in just minutes, or stroll along the Liffey and in less than half an hour you are on O'Connell Street. They have space for conventioners or tour groups, but the casual guest was just as welcome and cared for.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the back side of the hotel if you are sensitive to tram noise on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonmickey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found everything great and that you especially felt the Wi-Fi was great. We have recently had it upgraded so we appreciate your comments. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

stayed here for one night on Saturday night. We had a deluxe double on the 7th floor, a beautiful room, spotless, luxurious and well worth paying extra for it. Card access is required to enter the 7th floor, making it very secure. The 2 different receptionists we had for check in/check out were extremely friendly and lovely to deal with. Only E7 in a taxi from Temple Bar. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again in the next week or two.

Room Tip: A deluxe double is well worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveholsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with your room and that you found our location great for getting about. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,728 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,064 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £86 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing