We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the Price”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel for the price for my family vacation. Well rated hotels closer to down town were much more expensive and I would rather spend my money on tours or food than luxurious surroundings while bouncing through Europe. If I can get some luxury at a good rate I will, but I just couldn't find it this time. That being said, this was a very good above basic hotel. The front staff was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed in a modern feel. My kids had a huge room with twin beds and I get you could fit two more cots if needed. My husband and I had a king sized bed and the room was a bit tight but ok. The baths had shampoos, etc but the hair dryers were worthless. Skip the breakfast unless it is in the room price. We have been to several hotels on this trip that included breakfast and the one at the Ashling just didn't measure up. It's fine if you are in a hurry but the price/quality just didn't work. My husband and I went to the bar for a drink one night and a waiter pounced on us and directed us to a sofa for drinks. 15 minutes later he had not returned so we went to the bar and were served promptly. It's almost as if the food service and the hotel service are managed by two different people and the hotel person is very much better at their job. The hotel is by the National Museum and Guinness Brewery. You can take the LUAS light rail to down town for about €3 round trip. Ryan's FX Pub (or something like that) is a good nearby restaurant for dinner. This was a good functional, hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found the location of the hotel great for getting about and that you felt our front office staff were friendly and welcoming. I am sorry to hear that your experience in the bar was not a successful one. I will be sure to look into this, so thank you for bringing it to my attention. I would hope to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,372
    1,606
    345
    72
    39
See reviews for
895
1,986
187
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend lovely hotel staff all very helpful, try and look for the bus from Dublin airport 10 euro return our taxi from the airport was 35euros caught the bus back to the airport from Huston station just opposite the hotel for 6 euros each. Food at the hotel in the bar and the restaurant was excellent Would recommend any one to stay here xx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. Thank you for mentioning the food and for saying that you would recommend us to others. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Ashling Hotel for 2 nights in May 2014. We really enjoyed our stay, staff are very helpful. Beautiful meals and the breakfast were the best we had during 4 weeks in the UK. Closeby to transport and tourist spots. Would definately recommend and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a view looking out to the front and the Guiness Factory
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmick71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments about the food and about our location. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the Ashling in June, 2014. The hotel is a good, solid 3, maybe 4 star type of place. very clean and in good repair. While not in the greatest part of town, We had no worries about walking around during the day. The greatest attraction is it's proximity to public transportation. As a previous reviewer mentioned, you can get the 'Airlink 747' bus service from Dublin International to the main rail/ bus hub in Dublin, called Heuston Station, about 200 yards away from the hotel. Heuston station serves local Dublin bus transit, the Luas electric trolley line, some of the Dublin tour bus services, and is the station for Irish Rail service throughout the countryside. A 30 euro pass, good for 3 days, will get you access to the Airlink bus, the local town busses, and the official 'hop on, hop off' tour busses in Dublin, a great deal. The hotel restaurants are very niice, priced about the same as any other like them in the country, and a great value breakfast buffet. The Ashling is a very tour group friendly place, probably their bread and butter, and are very helpful to the tourist trade.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found our location great for getting about and that felt our breakfast buffet was great value. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the near future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I were here for a 2 night stay in Dublin. We wanted to be close to the train station and this about a 5 min walk. We were able to pick up the Airlink bus at the airport. The last stop is the train station and where you get off for the hotel. It costs 10 pounds per person, roundtrip. The hotel was very nice. We arrived at 1:30 PM and was able to get into our room, although check in wasn't until 3. They will hold your bags for you if you aren't able to get in right away. The room was very clean and comfortable. We booked a Superior King. We didn't really have a view, but that did not bother us. The rooms are air conditioned, which is great for us Texans. We didn't have time to use it, but the hop on/hop off bus stops right in front of the hotel. The Guinness Storehouse is about a 10-15 walk. Our stay included tickets to Guinness. The buffet style breakfast was also included in the package we picked. It was very good and had a little bit of everything. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a rate that includes breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Txgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found everything about your stay great and that you especially liked the location of the hotel. Thank you for giving our breakfast a special mention. I hope to welcome you back to us if you ever return to Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Ashling Hotel for one night on 8 June 2014. It was our stopping off point after 2 weeks in Ireland before moving on to Denmark. We arrived by train at Heuston Station from Galway and had just a 5 min walk to the hotel. This hotel proved to be right on the money - a lot of more expensive hotels could learn from it. The service was uniformly friendly and efficient. The rooms very well laid out, with good lighting and touches that many forget, such as multiple power points next to the bed (great for charging phones/tablets etc overnight). We ate at the hotel, more out of convenience than desire, but it proved a great choice. The food was excellent, some of the best we had in Ireland, and the waitress was lovely. Check out was efficient and it was just another 5 min walk back to the train station to catch the airport bus. Very convenient. Although the hotel is a fair way out of the city centre, the location near the Heuston Train station, with trains, the airport bus and a LUAS (or tram) stop, with direct link to the city, easily overcome any concerns over the location. I have stayed at a fairly large number of hotels around the world and the Ashling was one of the most satisfactory I've stayed at. I would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly if travelling on throughout Ireland (there is parking available) but even for a stay in Dublin itself. Our only regret was the shortness of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel's location great for getting about the city, and also for getting to and from the airport. Thank you for saying about the staff and the food, I truly appreciate it. I hope to welcome you back to us again, if you are ever back in Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky, United States
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We found The Ashling Hotel to be a modern hotel with all the amenities, in a great location! The staff was warm and helpful! We enjoyed an excellent dinner in the bar area and a delicious breakfast in the dining room, on more than one occasion. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you found everything great and that you even took some photos. I hope to welcome you back to us again, if you are returning to Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing