We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in an fantastic city.”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
hull
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in an fantastic city.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First time to Dublin and this hotel could not have been more welcoming. The staff were friendly and the facilities are brilliant. The rooms are wonderfully decorated, and everything is to a really high standard - this was just a standard room.
The staff also checked us into our room early with no extra charge which was a nice surprise. The location is excellent, especially for attractions such as the Guinness storehouse and Dublin Zoo. The centre of Dublin is about a half an hour walk away but if you don't fancy that walk then the tram station is just opposite the hotel and will take you there in under 5 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to read all of your comments and especially pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and the location great for getting to the Guinness Storehouse and the Zoo. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,304
    1,567
    335
    72
    34
See reviews for
852
1,943
183
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor comments and it was the right choice! We booked a superior room with king-size bed and didn’t regret it. The room was in mint condition and very clean. It had all facilities you would expect from this type of room and the quality of the (king-size) beds is superb. My special compliments go to the restaurant food quality. Splendid breakfast buffet to start with but we also tried the dinner restaurant and the bar food and we decided not to go out and eat anywhere else! Delicious food (world kitchen) served in a fancy manner. We overheard several other dining guests complimenting on the food. Very friendly personnel and the price is right. We slept at the front side (5th floor) and the street is quite noisy as there is also a tram passing by. It didn’t keep us from sleeping though and it depends on what you are used to.

Room Tip: If you are used to sleeping in a silent nabourhood make sure you do not book a room at the front (st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for these lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found the hotel great and the food enjoyable. I hope to welcome you back to us again in the near future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We checked in late on a Friday night and were put in a standard room as booked by our travel agent. The room was old and worn. The next morning after a fabulous breakfast at the hotel the staff upgraded us to the new tower/ room 707 - what a difference. Besides a/c which was awesome the biggest reason we moved, the room was very large and modern and had an incredible bathroom. The hotel is centrally located and the staff was very helpful with suggesting places to eat and visit. We were even able to buy the hop on hop off bus tickets at the desk and there were two stops walking distance from the hotel. Was a great stay once we changed rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ggirl954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff helpful. I am also delighted that you enjoyed your upgrade, and I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Ashling Hotel. It is a nice place, we had a nice room and the breakfast was wonderful! Our tour company information and guides had not arrived in time for our check-in, but staff did their best to help us contact them and gave us notification regarding its status as well as assistance in looking for the needed materials. Excellent, friendly staff.

Room Tip: For foreign travelers; it is good to know that one of your room key cards should go in the slot just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musefiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for these kind comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that our staff helped in any way that they could to get the pack to you. I hope you enjoyed your overall trip in Ireland.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel was al in all a nice experience, even if there were some minor flaws.

When checking in the young girl doing suddenly dropped her attention to us, right in the middle of a question that we were asking because there were a family with a baby checking in right next to her and she started to cuddling with the baby instead. This is highly unprofessional.

We booked a room for four persons with one double bed and two single. The first day everything was fine but the second day we only got three big towels, the day before we had had one each. However this was easily remedied and we got a fourth one. Still, this isn't what you expect from a hotel with this otherwise high standard.

Only two of us four had breakfast in the hotel but they reported that it was a normal continental breakfast that would satisfy most people. The continental breakfast is 10 Euros per day. If you want a full Irish instead you pay 2 Euros more and get some hot selection of food as well.

The location is really good. You reach Phoenix Park in less than 10 minutes, the city center in less than 20. And I do really recommend a visit to the national museum (and its café) next door!

The service in the restaurant was really good and I can really recommend a visit to it.

The beds were fine. Cleaning was fine.

All in all we had a pleasant stay in this hotel. We wanted a more comfy hotel and that's what we got. If you are more into or after the nightlife in the city maybe something more in the center would be better since it is about 20-30 min. of walking time to get to the Temple Bar area where most of the night clubs are.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lothloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept my apologies about your check-in. This is not our normal standard and I have passed this on to our Front Office Manager who will discuss with her team. Again, thank you for bringing it to our attention. I was pleased however that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and found our location good for getting around. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend at all!!! We first went in and were greeted with a staff member asking us to pay an extra 30 euro person charge, which was later said was a miscommunication with the website we booked with. So straight away we were on guard, but put it to one side as we went to explore Dublin - which was amazing. When we arrived back at 3pm to check in, the rooms were freezing - the radiators didn't work and a window did not close. We called reception and requested a wine list to be brought up to our room, when it didn't arrive 2 hours later we called again, then an hour later after no list arrived we just ordered a bottle of prosecco which 20 minutes later still did not come. Every time speaking to a member of staff, so why it did not come I don't know! Finally it came up after I had complained about my experience. We decided to make a complaint to the manager, who was not interested in us or what had happened at all - he explained there is no heating in the summer until the night and it would be sorted when we arrived back, at which he then exclaimed if you are actually coming back to the hotel tonight in a sarcastic manor, we found this to be very rude and we are not happy about this at all it was out of order.

We came back to the room about 11.30, the heating was still not on, again I rang down to reception, who informed me there is no heating in the summer at all and they could bring a heater up in a few minuets this never arrived.

I would never return or recommend this place at all and I will be contacting the general manager about this as I am not happy about been treated this way after spending £180 for one nights stay with employees that treat us this way!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Aimie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your thoughts about your stay at the Ashling Hotel. I would be most interested to talk to you about this, as I have been able to talk to a few members of staff who were involved. I believe that the issue with the length of time waiting for the bottle of sparkling water was that the staff did not know which bottle you wanted. They rang and called at your door but there was no answer. This may have been due to the layout of your room with the corridor and two separate rooms coming from it. We are now looking into having two separate telephones in each of these rooms due to your experience. If you would be so kind as to contact me on guestcare@ashlinghotel.ie I would greatly appreciate it, as I do not want for you to have this upsetting memory of your time with us.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here after getting off the red-eye, and they were remarkably friendly to us even though we sort of sat on a lounge couch for most of the day, trying not to fall asleep. I would stay here again in a heartbeat for the clean and easy rooms. The location is okay, a quick trip to anywhere by taxi or light rail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank january1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and the location good. I hope to welcome you back to us again.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,797 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing