We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd stay in Ashling”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2nd stay in Ashling”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The first time I stayed at the Ashling it was with a tour. We enjoyed the comfort of the hotel and the location. This time I was traveling alone with my daughter and booked the room independently. I really didn't like the room I was given in the old part of the hotel. It smelled old, was rather dismal, a desk fan, no air conditioning and noisy. The desk said it had a "deluxe" room for an extra 30€. It was completely worth it. Roomy, modern, comfortable. Perfect for us. Breakfasts are amazing. Short walk to train station, trams by front door. We took hop on hop off bus to get our bearings and then walked everywhere. Actually walked rather incredible amounts. Also took the hop on hop off Dart train to Bray. We really enjoyed that getting off in a few different villages. Bray was very fun with tents and vendors in the park by the sea. Had lunch outdoors in a nice restaurant but can't remember name. Didn't see many non Irish tourists which was fun for us.
Sometimes we ate dinner in hotel and food and service were very good. Staff busy but helpful and friendly. Very happy with hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay in new area unless you are on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that we had a deluxe room available for you. I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Bray and that you found the breakfast amazing. I hope to welcome you back to us if you are returning to Dublin.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,304
    1,567
    335
    72
    34
See reviews for
852
1,943
183
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I went to Ireland for the first time in June 2014 to go on a 5 day tour of Northern Ireland. It was recommended to me to stay at the Ashling by the tour company and I was quite pleased. It is very clean and the staff is very friendly. Since I had never been in Europe before I wasn`t aware that air conditioning is a luxury and several hotels in Ireland that I stayed in on my tour didn`t have it so I`m not going to knock the Ashling for this. My only complaint is that the internet in the lobby is coin operated and you have to pay to print. That`s not a big deal and certainly not a reason to stay there. The breakfast was very good and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning or at least a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Ashling in June. I was delighted to hear that we were recommended and that we lived up to your expectations. I hope your overall trip to Ireland was a success, and I hope that if you are back you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed three nights at the hotel and found it to be clean and comfortable. It is a 15+ minute walk to the Temple Bar area. The train station is close. There is limited restaurant options near the hotel, so we had the breakfast buffet at the hotel which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling. I was so pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed your breakfast. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provost, AB
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Nice rooms, wonderful staff! The in house restaurant was too pricey for our blood but there are wonderful restaurants nearby. I greatly recommend the Ryans / FX Buckley Steakhouse, their spicy tomato soup is to die for, if I hadn't already ordered the T-Bone (which was also great) I would have ordered a couple more bowls!

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alihauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your comments about the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that you found the rooms nice and the staff wonderful. I hope you had a great overall stay in Dublin, and I will be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

27/28 Aug Two nights, two rooms all good, parking alongside. Rooms exactly as you would want clean and all working, free wifi, efficient check in check out. Claire at reception sent us off to Howth by train for the day - great recommendation thanks, also really enjoyed cycle round the huge park next to the hotel. Night time (foreign) receptionist not helpful with printing boarding cards but happily sorted by morning girls.
The tram stops just along from the front of the Hotel so while not "central" Dublin is great position, Guinness factory 10 mins walk, railway 5 mins, shopping/nightlife straight in on tram.
Thanks to kind chap at Tipperary Hostel next door who recommended Ashling Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jami mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to hear that Claire received a special mention and that you found the hotel itself lovely. I was also delighted that you found the location of the hotel great. I hope to welcome you back to us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and I feel it was quite expensive for what it was, mainly because the hotel is only just within walking distance of the city centre (20-30 mins) and the room we stayed in felt very corporate. My partner had arranged for chocolates to be in our room on arrival as we were visiting Dublin to celebrate my birthday but they weren't put in the room until our second night. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked like a nice place to eat out. I definitely wouldn't stay here again if we went back to Dublin, I would look for somewhere in a better location for a better price!

Room Tip: room 610 is the only room on the 6th floor without a balcony and there are only 7 floors in the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Ashling. It is unfortunate that you did not find the hotel special and that you did not get a chance to experience the restaurant. I hope you had an overall enjoyable visit to Dublin.

Kind Regards
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Ashling Hotel for several nights and really enjoyed it! Its in a great location - walking distance to Jameson, Guinness, and the Kilmainham Gaol. It's also really close to Phoenix Park in case you are a runner and are interested in a nice running path. Their breakfast is amazing! It was 12 euro, but worth every penny. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room away from the road, on a higher floor and in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt4415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was so pleased to read that you found the location great and that you enjoyed being so close to Phoenix Park for the running paths. It is great for lots of different activities such as running, cycling and roller blading. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,797 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing