We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, far from the city center”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Average hotel, far from the city center”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2006

Room (standard double): The room was spacious and spotless clean, one double and one single bed. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was nice and clean, although the hairdryer was very unconvenient located in one of the drawers of the desk in the room. The view was very poor as you can see on the picture and the corridor was sometimes very noisy.

Area: The hotel isn’t a 10 minute walk from the center as some reviews tell here. It’s definitely a 20 minute walk. You can take the tram close to the hotel but that isn’t a very nice experience, as all the trams are constantly packed.

Breakfast: The first morning we had breakfast in the room that was very poor. Some burned toast (see picture), coffee and jam. The breakfast buffet was average.

Staff: The staff was very friendly and professional.

Bar/lounge: The bar is small and cosy, but the interiour don’t live up to the prices (2,60€ for a cola).

Restaurant: The food in the restaurant is average to good, but again expensive for what you get.

When checking my bill back at home I noticed that the drinks of a night in the bar that were all payed in cash were on my bill and payed again. I mailed the hotel to check this out and they responded the same day by phoning me to tell I was right and they would refund the 30 euro to my creditcard. The explanation although was a little bit funny. They told me they charged the bar-bill of the room next to mine on my bill. What a coincidence that the people in that room had drinks for the exact same amount on that same evening and hour (specified on the bill). Ofcourse no blame for the reception staff here, on the contrary, as they responded very quickly and correct. But one cannot say that from the serving staff in the bar, so check your bill.

The Ashling is an average hotel, but the location for tourists is certainly not interesting.
I found Dublin a suffocating and non-attractive city. The city is packed with people, I've never seen a city with so much heavy traffic in the center, it's full of buses and trucks. Manhattan is cosy and relaxing compared to the center of Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,269
    1,548
    332
    72
    33
See reviews for
842
1,917
182
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2006

We stayed at the Best Western Ashling for 3 nights in April and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff very friendly. We did not have the breakfast although the bar was nice and welcoming after a hard day shopping! The location is good with good public transport, the buses are very frequent although we prefered to walk to the centre during the day as the city is very picturesque. Ryans bar is just up the road from the hotel and does lovely food.
We went on the 'Hop on Hop off' bus on the second day but found that everything we were shown we had seen the day before so it was a bit pointless and a waste of 15 euros. plus you couldn't really take pictures of anything as the bus was going too fast. The trip I did enjoy was the visit to Kilmainham Gaol Historical museum, which is the old jail about 20 mins walk from the hotel (good idea to get directions as we were told it was 'just over the road' by reception...its not). Very informative and the tour of the jail was excellent. Unfortunately we got there for the last tour which didn't give us any time to see the museum.
Overall I really enjoyed Dublin, the people are very friendly and the city is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Slitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2006

Just returned from 3 nights at Best Western Ashling. Great hotel, really friendly staff. We arrived early morning (9.30am) and were able to store our luggage before heading off to explore Dublin. Hotel is about 2km from City Centre but is an easy walk along the banks of River Liffey. The tram also runs right past the hotel is you don't fancy the walk. Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dlogan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2006

Hi
Four of us [girls] visited the Ashling for 3 nights in March,found the hotel really good value, clean and helpful friendly staff on reception especially.
The tram stop was 2 mins away ,3 stops later , over the bridge and you are in Temple bar area , which was great, especially as it was the 6 nations Ireland vs Scotland, never seen so many men in skirts!!
Reccommend Dublin and the Ashling to anyone, have fun!!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank 721caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2006

Stayed here for 4 nights, ideal for visiting some of Dublins many attractions, easy walk into centre (about 15 minutes at most) trams available cheap and until midnight,food at this hotel , excellent and reasonable.City a great place for shoppers with many of the large stores as back in UK.WOULD RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2006

We stayed at the Ashling at the beginning and end of our trip to Ireland in December 2004. The first night we were exhausted from being awake 30 hours , so we ate in our room. It was dreadful. We were awakened at 11pm by loud music from a jukebox and revelers just below our room. To compound matters- we could not adjust the room temperature and so we sweat in our room. The front desk staff, although courteous, could not help us with the heater. I will say that the hotel and rooms are appointed nicely enough though and don't recall the beds being uncomfortable. Also, the breakfast is nice enough.
The last night we spent in Ireland was at the Ashling. This time the noise level was fine, but we were so cold in our room and, again, the front desk could not assist us adequately in our need to warm our room. The lunch this time was also not very good. Overall the hotel is OK, but have an understanding of the AC/heater system first and I caution against eating anything at the hotel except breakfast.

Tim

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MiteMsispe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2006

4 of us stayed here and we found the staff excellent and the rooms good. For the price we paid it was excellent and would go back again. The tram stops right outside the door every 10 mins. The hotel is away from the centre but We were there for new year (and it was excellent,) when it was time to come back to the hotel about 2 in the morning on New years day, the trams were 20 mins apart so we decided to walk to the next stop but before we knew it we were at the hotel.I would recommend it and I am picky!!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,345 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing