We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the ashling”
Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
north yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved the ashling”
Reviewed 1 May 2007

we had 2 nights bed and breakfast at the ashling ,in april ,
20 ladies,2 triple rooms(1 double bed and 2 single beds )
and 7 twin rooms.everyone was more than satisfied,with the breakfast, all staff, food at lunchtime and also food in the evening
the hotel was very clean and nothing was too much trouble ,we all said we would stay there again
we paid 132 english pounds including flight from ryan air
would recommend this hotel to any age group,

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,373
    1,606
    346
    72
    39
See reviews for
895
1,987
187
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April. When we got back I had to pull up trip advisor and re-read reviews to make sure we had stayed at the same hotel. We trusted all of the reviews we read prior to booking and felt this would be a good find and meet our expectations and needs. We chose it because we had an early rail tour one morning. We decided to trade staying downtown for the convenience of being near the train station and it was a little cheaper. We were in a similar situation in Munich last year and had a good experience with a hotel with the same qualities there.

Well, we were completely fooled by the reviews. I don’t know that I’ve ever posted a negative review on trip advisor, but this will be my first. This hotel did not even come close to our expectations. I look for 2 things in a hotel – a clean bathroom and a clean bed. I will give them that the bathroom was clean (with other problems I’ll mention later), but the beds were horrible. The sheets didn’t even look like they had been changed from the last stay. There were hairs everywhere. It was a bit repulsive. The beds were old and uncomfortable which I can usually overlook, but the lack of cleanliness made this even worse.

As I said, the bathrooms were clean, thank goodness, but they definitely had some operational flaws. The water completely stopped for a while in the middle of my husband’s shower. On several occasions the toilet simply wouldn’t flush. It appeared to be due to lack of water.

The hotel was near the train station, but I would highly recommend getting a ticket on the Luis to get back from downtown at night. It just didn’t feel safe in the area. The Luis light rail runs right in front of the hotel with a stop about a block away.

I will say that I have stayed in worse hotels, but I just can’t believe from the other reviews that we are even speaking of the same place. This hotel was definitely not worth the 20-30 euros we saved or the convenience of the rail station. Spend the money to stay closer to city center at a clean hotel.

  • Liked — Close to the rail station
  • Disliked — Old, worn out, dirty beds
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

Went over to Dublin to see a concert in the Olympia Theatre, Dame Street. Stayed 2 nights 12/04 and 13/04. Had requested a smoking room but was given a non-smoking room then beloved went downstairs and had it changed. What a lovely room. spacious, L shaped so you felt the sleeping area was almost separate, huge bed and windows that opened- left them open as it was very warm. Breakfast was great with very attentive but not obtrusive staff- full English or/and continental. Walked most of the time to centre but tram was easy to use- Heuston Station is just across the road. Went to the Millennium bar on first night, wonderful live Irish group. Second night went to see our concert and had a lovely Chinese meal at Fans(60 Dames Street)-early bird 13.50Euros for 2 courses and very tasty and good sized portions-left over half of it. Realised what a good choice we had made staying slightly outside centre when we left theatre about 10.30p.m. with all the youngsters starting their night out , knowing that they will probably unwittingly disturb other guests in their chosen hotels. Go there again Yes!

  • Liked — Spacious room and facilitate smokers
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lelanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights here in September. We did alot of research to find a good place for our money (students..) and we both thought we got a pretty good deal with this hotel!

The location was good, the walk was abit much after a full day shopping but quite nice first thing in the morning and the tram stop is literally just across the road and goes all the time so really useful!

The hotel itself was really nice, hallways could maybe do with a bit of redecoration but it's not as if you spend that much time there anyway!

My only "problem" was how small our room was - TINY - absolutly nothing like any of the photos. However, saying that in my opinion the decoration was actually much nicer than the photos (looked very modern) and the bathroom was absolutly lovely (again very modern) it was just very, very small.

Also, the cleaners were quite noisey early in the morning and once didn't knock to come in - fortunately we were just about to leave anyway but a knock doesn't take much effort!!

All in all though an excellent choice if you are literally after somewhere to sleep!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshgirlhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2007

I checked this hotel out throughly online before booking 3 nights there, I had a good idea of what to expect from other reviews but I have to say I was still surprised at how pleasant my stay was. The room was clean and comfortable, there was plenty of space for clothes etc and room service came daily. The bathroom was lovely and clean and there was plenty of hot water for a bath or a shower. The hotel is on the outskirts of Dublin but the city centre is only 5 minutes away by Luas (its worth getting a day ticket if you plan to make a few trips or plan to see various different places in one day and beware the ticket inspectors are not lenient if you are caught without a ticket!) they run til 12.30am so you can stay out pretty late. I would recommend a drink in the guinness lounge but it is a bit pricey, generally a round of 2 drinks came to around €9 which is about the average price we paid all over Dublin but 2 vodka and oranges cost a whopping €14! Breakfast was expensive so we didn't bother with it. The staff were friendly and polite and we felt very welcome. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a hotel in a quiet location (there was no noise from our room) but with easy links into the city. The view wasn't much to look at but we made friends with a neighbours cat who would sit on the roof below our window and sunbathe. All in all, good value and i'd definately come back again.

  • Liked — Clean & Comfortable
  • Disliked — Price of the drinks in the bar!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

This hotel more than lived up to our expectations. Fantastic location, excellent staff and great bar!
Our party consisted of two couples celebrating a birthday for a guiness fan, so we couldn't have been better placed.
The bar was lovley and prices slightly cheaper then temple bar area, good lunch menu at reasonable prices as well.
Would definatly recommend this hotel for a quieter place to stay away from the hustle of the centre but only five minutes by bus or tram to all the action. Also this hotel is great for visiting the guiness brewery, gaol, park, zoo, dublin musem and modern art musem on foot.
Easy to get to from the airport and the tram and bus stops are only two minutes away.
Overall we loved Dublin, we thought the tour bus was excellent, as were the brewery and the gaol, unfortunatly we were not too impressed with the Zoo.
If you have young children the Dubliner Exhibition at Christchurch Catherdral was excellent with lots of interactive things for them to do. Great for a wet day. Good place to eat was Gallaghers Boxty House in temple bar, best to book , good atmosphere and great food!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank HVAsst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2007

Stayed at this hotel for a one night break (9th Feb). Good location far enough outside of the centre for a quiet nights sleep but within an easy walk (20 mins) or tram ride (5 mins) The room was clean & spacious, the hotel staff friendly. We ate in the hotel bar and the food was good and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank w00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,503 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing