We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camden Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #132 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Cant believe some of the previous reviews! I have stayed in lots of budget hotels in the past and thought the Camden Deluxe was way above average - esp considering what we paid! The room seemed brand new, with a huge comfy bed and a big window so it was very bright and airy. Our room was cleaned every day, despite us not leaving the room until around midday. I would expect this hotel to charge atleast double than they are at the minute.
We stayed sunday-tuesday so cannot comment on nightclub noise. Hotel was pretty quiet every night and had no trouble sleeping.
Location is good and about a 5 minute walk into town. Would recommend this hotel to anybody on a bit of a budget but still want to stay somewhere nice!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor towards the back of the building as it seemed quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alannah1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphyDublin, Manager at Camden Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    120
    121
    74
    77
See reviews for
42
164
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Not to be confused with the camden court hotel 5mins away which we were dropped off at by accident - and it looked very nice, I wish we'd stayed ! We dropped off our bags and my heart sank but were prepared to give it a go.
First impressions of the room was that we'd stepped back in time to an old B & B. Very old fashioned pine furniture which had seen better days, the single wardrobe had no door and the tiny TV was stuck up in a corner as if we were in a chip shop! We only had a couple of towels and although clean, were definitely not bath towels. The bathroom was very dark. Our 'view' was of a back yard which was full of rubbish and on Saturday morning we were wakened by the whine of a chain saw as two men tried to cut through some of the wood below, oh and that was after the deafening music half the night from the nightclub next door. On Saturday afternoon we came into an infestation of flies as there was no air conditioning or fans so we had to keep the window open. No facilities to speak of.
The only redeeming factor was that the bed was very comfortable and the airport bus stop was right outside.
Groupon deal or not, it was still expensive - an extra 40 euros because it was the weekend. Never again!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphyDublin, Manager at Camden Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Hi Lesley,
Im sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel , we advise all guests that we have a nightclub on the premises and that it is noisey. The wardrobe doors are open plan, so they had doors on them, the tv's are on brackets to maximise space , so my apologies if you felt is was like a chip shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I recently stayed here last night... My first impression when I walked in was fawlty towers.. We were on the third floor the room was average. The bathroom was disgusting wood coming out of the side of the bath with a rusty nail... The bath was stained. After a late dinner Myselfand my boyfriend decided to go back to our room on the way back to the hotel we noticd the club beside it was open. When we got to our room the room was vibrating with the music which was three floors down. The clubs smoking area was directly underneath us. We wanted to complain but there was no hotel phone in the room and when I went down to reception area there was no one there. The club didn't finish till 345 in the morning and we didn't get to sleep till about 530 with all the bottles people were throwing outside. I would not recommend this hotel as staff are not friendly and are not helpful an of course left this part out I the groupon deal!! Waste of 90e in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphyDublin, Manager at Camden Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
I would like to address the issues you had during your stay I have emailed you to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I stayed here courtesy of the Groupon deal, and read the reviews about the noise of the nightclub which had me worried. As it turns out, it ended up being a mid week stay, so I can't comment. We turned up at 9.30am desperately in need of sleep and a shower (thanks to Ryanair and a red eye flight!), fully expecting to dump the cases and be shooed off until mid afternoon. What an absolute treat to be allowed to check in early!! The lady on reception could not have been more helpful. The reception area was clean, cosy and welcoming.
Our room was more than adequate, the beds were comfy, lovely feather duvets and a nice spacious room. The bathroom was OK, but in need of a minor re-vamp (shower curtain allowed leaks onto the floor, soap dish etc, in shower needed securing back on the wall), but as long as I have a powerful shower and clean toilet, I'm easy enough. I had both.
Location-wise, this was 10/10. Walking distance to Temple Bar, Guinness Storehouse, Grafton Street and St Stephens Green. There are plenty of places to eat and drink without needing to go to the City centre. Free wifi is always a winner, but it was a bit hit and miss on the third floor, right at the back of the building.
Great stay, no complaints. For budget travel, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed here Sun-Tues on a groupon deal as Fri & Sat nights were fully booked. Good value for money, walking distance of most places. Girl in reception was really helpful.

Only gripe I would have is the noise, the music from the bar/nightclub below (which was empty), the bottle bank/recycling area right beside it. 8:30 in morning crashing of glass is not good. And constant banging of doors from others staying in the hotel.

The parking is a ten minute walk to St Stephens Green & costs €15 for 24 hours which isn't so handy if you have a lot of bags and not budgeted for parking. Make sure you tell customer service at Q Park you are staying at the hotel or it will be a lot more expensive!

All in all we had a good time but would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
647 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed two nights. Excellent location for visiting many recommended 'must-see' sights. The 16 Bus directly outside the hotel brought us to Croke Park (ask driver to let you off at Drumcondra Station). Room clean. Bed really comfortable-fabulous mattress covers. Blackout blind gave us an extra hours sleep in the morning! Tea/Coffee facilities available. Bottle of wine in the room on arrival was a pleasant surprise! Between 6-7pm, you can hear lovely sounds from the church bells nearby. Television quite small and high on the wall. Plenty of restaurants around within walking distance. We walked into the city centre within 20 minutes. We would definitely use this hotel again. Thank you.

Room Tip: BRING EAR-PLUGS! Being in the City, expect noise and music. Although we were lucky we went on a Mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

After booking this via Groupon and reading reviews i began to panic, but we had a very enjoyable stay! Staff were very helpful and didnt charge us for our daughter to stay and provided a travel cot free of charge. Also my husband had left his jacket on the air bus, staff let us use the reception phone and internet free of charge. We didnt experiance any trouble with club underneath as we stayed sun-tue. The hotel is well used, but our room was clean for all the time we were in it, it done the job. Dont let other reviews out you off, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel, all you need for cheap accomidation in an expensive city .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ej22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Camden Court Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Albany House
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#111 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Harrington Hall
#84 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Deluxe Hotel

Property: Camden Deluxe Hotel
Address: 84 - 87 Lower Camden Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Deluxe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are en-suite, have TV, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and board on request. Fresh Fruit Basket at reception . Elevators to all floors.The palace nightclub is onsite, it operates on a Wednesday ,Thursday, Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camden Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Deluxe Dublin
Hotel Camden Deluxe
Camden Deluxe Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing