We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have excellent earplugs!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camden Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #131 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have excellent earplugs!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When they tell you in the reviews that there is noise at night - BELIEVE THEM!!! Two AFTER HOUR bars conspire to steal your sleep - one beside/under the hotel and one directly across the street.
The hotel is ideally located to downtown, if you don't mind the walk. We had traveled all day and then explored until our energy was gone, then settled down for a refreshing sleep @ midnight. 1:30 AM - a cacaphony of sounds woke us from sound sleep: thunderous music, raucous laughter, screeching, car horns blowing....and it continued to 4:30 AM. AND I HAD EAR PLUGS IN!!! There was no escape. Our friends were staying in another room and he finally found peace by closing the bathroom door and sleeping in the BATH TUB. I do not exaggerate. The lady at the front desk assured us that it was just because it was a long weekend and it would not happen the next night which was a Sunday. We spent a bleary eyed day and evening enjoying Dublin and experienced another chaotic night!!!! Bottom line: you get what you pay for; the price was reasonable and there was a reason for it. But I would suggest that if you are into afterhour bars, you would love this place; you can sleep all day!

Room Tip: We were told that we had the best rooms - we were on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouverfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    121
    122
    76
    82
See reviews for
44
168
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed last weekend and what a great little hotel it was! In a nice lively area, staff were really helpful and friendly. Decor was lovely and cosy! Beds were super comfortable too! Not a bad price to top it all off! Gets a little loud with the nightclub downstairs but didnt bother me too much!! Will definitely be back when I come to Dublin again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ria_swee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We just got back from a 3 night stay here. The location was pretty good. It's within a 5-10 minute walk of the Grafton & if you don't mind walking, it's within walking distance of most of the attractions, restaurants, and shopping in Dublin. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room, it was nicely decorated, and the beds in our room were pretty comfortable. The hotel has free wi-fi, but it's really only able to be used if you sit in the lobby, which was very inconvenient. It is literally next door to a nightclub, so if you are staying on the weekend, be prepared to hear the extremely loud music until 3am on Friday & Saturday nights. It was so loud, especially with our windows open, which they had to be because it was hot in the room. Also, due to it's city center location, you have other loud noises all through the night and early in the morning (loud cars, garbage trucks, dogs barking, etc.). Also, not the fault of the hotel, but we had an extremely loud group of teenagers staying in a room near ours. They were so loud we had to complain three times in one night. I'm assuming this is common since Dublin seems to be a "party town." We have a small child, and I would not recommend this hotel for people traveling with children due to the noise level at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 335, and it was a large room with 2 twin beds. Plenty of room for our baby cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I would not recommend staying in this hotel. Blood on the sheets, cigarette smoke billowing into your room and horrible euro-techno pounding all night. TV didn't work and neither did the phone in the room. If I were a raver on amphetamines, this would be heaven. Lots of horrible drunks going in and out of the lobby and hotel around the clock. Very shady venue.....

Room Tip: The best thing about this hotel is the exit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphyDublin, General Manager at Camden Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hello Eric,
I am assuming that when you made the reservation online you noted that we have a nightclub at the hotel! . The sheet with the blood( miniscule dot that cannot be identified as blood) . was immediately changed upon your check in . The new room that was offer on Saturday morning had a working TV and telephone . I was unaware that the rooms on the 3rd Floor are subjected to smoke rising up to your room. The" drunks" you make reference to are guests staying at the hotel. The hotel is not a shady venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Apologises for the late review, we stayed in July, for 2 nights (Monday-Wednesday) We booked our trip via Groupon, having previously read the reviews and thought we could be the lucky ones. We weren't.
The room was large, neatly presented, however if your looking for a boutique hotel this isn't it. To my partners astonishment they were blood stains on the mirror and carpet, we avoided this area completely. We had the attic bedroom which gave a lovely view of the hills if you did not look down. You could have imagined yourself in the Irish hillsides, if there wasn't the incessant sound of dog barking and the extractor fan. We couldn't sleep with our window open due to the noise.
The bed wasn't the most comfortable either,I think it's time for a new mattress and duvet.
We spoke to the concierge who wasn't much help, he advised us to speak to the morning concierge,who explained to us they were fully booked so we couldn't change rooms. The hotel has Wifi downstairs in the lobby only.
There are some plus sides, if you don't mind walking 15-20minutes you are located in on Dame Street, across the road is the infamous Temple Bar. It is a fantastic location for bars and restaurants if you don't mind the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel is 15 mins walk from centre if you like ... o'connell st ect .
Rooms tidy - bed very very comfy . Tea & coffee facility - hair dryer & iron provided .
Staff very friendly & helpful .
It is very very noisy on this street ! Bars & clubs surround hotel & ppl coming and going all night till 5am - taxis beeping horns constantly .
Wouldnt stay again because of this .

Helpful?
Thank Savepounds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked this through groupon and was our first trip to Dublin and was for my friends birthday so was very disappointed when we had looked on line at the lovely rooms and ended up with the room we got which was like someones spare room. The furniture was tatty we had one curtain which covered a wonky blind overlooking the beer garden of the nightclub next door. The tv had two channels and was an old fashioned portable which had a tiny screen. The bed however was very comfotable and the bathroom was fine. We had booming music till half three in morning and only managed to sleep with ear plugs. We got up in morning to find we had no hot water and when rang reception they said whole city was the same just now which after talking to locals was crap!! we had to ask for our free bottle of wine which was red and neither drank red but got a lovely receptionist who made sure we got a white one she was the only one who gave us time of day others were not firendly at all. The coffee shop next door is lovely for breakfast and staff friendly. I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly wont stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front although not sure what they are like wouldnt be as noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#86 of 151 in Dublin
771 reviews
Camden Court Hotel
#44 of 151 in Dublin
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#110 of 151 in Dublin
1,279 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#98 of 151 in Dublin
245 reviews
Portobello Hotel
#105 of 151 in Dublin
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Deluxe Hotel

Property: Camden Deluxe Hotel
Address: 84 - 87 Lower Camden Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Deluxe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are en-suite, have TV, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and board on request. Fresh Fruit Basket at reception . Elevators to all floors.The palace nightclub is onsite, it operates on a Wednesday ,Thursday, Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camden Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Deluxe Dublin
Hotel Camden Deluxe
Camden Deluxe Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing