We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #132 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 24 March 2009

i stayed in this hotel in october 2006. i found the staff amazingly helpful and polite.
the rooms were always clean and tidy and the breakfast was good . just a little way out of the cntre , but a bus or 10 min walk gets you there. numerous bars and restaurants around with good food.i would definately book here again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Camden Deluxe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2009

I cant by any means say that this hotel was completely disgusting and to stay away from it at all costs, like some other reviewers have suggested.

I do believe that the hotel I stayed in was of an average standard, it was kept clean and tidy and was a perfect base for a busy city break. I do however believe that we paid a little too much for it, and whilst I understand that Dublin is an expensive place to holiday, I didnt feel we got that great a deal for the hard earnt money we paid.

Good points:
Very close to st stephens green , dublin castle etc
Many restaurants around
Bar and cafe attactched were of a decent standard
Very warm in the room which is exactly how I like it!

Bad points:
The receptionist was a dragon, so moody, i actually ended up being overly nice to her just to annoy her for how she was behaving!
Lift was nearly always out of order which isnt great when on top floor like us, or obviously if you have disabilities.
A bit noisy on weekends, but i think that may be the case anywhere with the drink culture there.

All in all I would say that this is a decent hotel for the money, I wouldnt rave about it but on the other hand if all you want is a bed and a shower in a good location then this is the place for you. But dont forget that breakfast is not included !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KirbyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Stayed three nights at the Camden Deluxe and the hotel was excellent. The room and bathroom was spotless and cleaned every day.

It is a short walk to St Stephens Square and the Georgian Quarter and maybe 15 mins walk to the river Liffey.

If you are flying into Dublin, here a great tip. The local DublinBus the 16A goes direct from outside the hotel to the airport.

When you arrive at the airport, turn left outside the main doors and head past the coaches offering a direct service to Dublin for 6 euro each. Head for the DublinBus bus stops behind these coaches. Buy a 1.90 each ticket from the machine and board the half-hourly 16A. The bus will take you into Dublin, over the Liffey and out the other side. Ask a friendly passenger to let you know when you get to the hotel.

Going back to the airport couldnt be easier. The busstop really is right outside the hotel's front door.

NB. The bus takes 1 hour, whilst the express coaches prob do it in 30 mins. However, with the express coaches you'll still have to trudge through Dublin with your luggage...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnnyHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

i had booked the hotel and then decided to have a look at the other reviews. im very fussy and dont like dirty places and according to some reviews i wasnt going to have a nice stay! but i was wrong. it is only a short walk into the city. the rooms where a decent size and although the double bed was two singles pushed together, it was very comfortable. we were only there for two days but the room was still cleaned during our stay and fresh towels were provided. overall it was an enjoyable stay and i would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leezza09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I booked this hotel by the net and the price was cheap (Dublin is sooo expensive!).
It has a bus stop in front of it and it is reachable without any problem from the airport with city bus company.
It is near the city center that you can reach with a short walk.
The room was clean, the shower confortable, no problem with noise.
The computer with internet service did not work at that time, but there are some internet points not far.
I suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LacrimadiLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Avoid this hotel. It was shabby, dirty, very run down and in desperate need of refurbishment. The rooms smelt of smoke and there was mould all around the bath. The toilet cistern was hanging off the wall and was flushing red hot water. All linen ie towels, sheets, pillow cases, blankets etc were threadbare and the pillow cases were saliva stained (gross!). Very noisy at night until the very early hours. Would not recommend to anyone over 30 or anyone at all really!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank andy5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

The only thing Deluxe about this hotel is the name. In the corners of the bathroom floor the mould was so thick it must have been there for weeks. This probably grew so quickly as the rooms were in the +30c There was no way of controlling the temperature or even turning the radiators off. The bedding was torn. The hotel room was dirty. The divan base of the bed was badly stained. The walls were marked. The lift was broken for 2 out of the 3 days that we were there. On the day it was working I tried to use the lift to get to the 3rd floor. I was stuck in the lift for nearly an hour, it was 40 minutes before any staff responded to either the alarm or my banging on the doors. The hotel also had internet access, which was out of order as well. Which was not a bad thing as it cost 1 Euro for 8 minutes. (200 meters down to the left from the hotel it only cost 1 Euro for 30 minutes).
The doorman was very friendly, the bar staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheHairyHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#83 of 150 in Dublin
698 reviews
Albany House
#65 of 150 in Dublin
812 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#72 of 150 in Dublin
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portobello Hotel
#104 of 150 in Dublin
269 reviews
Camden Court Hotel
#45 of 150 in Dublin
2,080 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Deluxe Hotel

Address: 84 - 87 Lower Camden Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £60 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Deluxe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are en-suite, have TV, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and board on request. Fresh Fruit Basket at reception . Elevators to all floors.The palace nightclub is onsite, it operates on a Wednesday ,Thursday, Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Camden Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Deluxe Dublin
Hotel Camden Deluxe
Camden Deluxe Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing