We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2012

stayed here for 2 nights nothing bad at all to say about it..staff were very helpful and friendly rooms clean would definitely stay here again..everything within walking distance :) if you are visiting dublin i would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,574)
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,550 - 2,556 of 4,574 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day/2 night National Holidays break in Dublin and stayed at the Acadamy Plaza on a Bed and Breakfast basis. The location of the hotel cannnot be faulted, it being 20 yards off O'Connell Street in the city centre and very close to all the attractions of Dublin. The hotel is very modern and clean. The room we had [232] was at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor and was serviced daily by very friendly staff. The breakfast was traditional cooked, continental or toast and cereal buffet service all of which was very good. The bar was very reasonably priced with Guinness at 4.50 euros a pint. We had evening meals out both days and there are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. All the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly and we will use this hotel as our base for future trips to this lovely city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normski214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The location of the Hotel is perfect. Is close to all the tourist attractions in Dublin. In fact we did not buy any bus ticket, due to the location.
The rooms are a bit small, but did not bothered us at all.
We traveled as a group, and everybody was happy with the received room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broscuta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is the second year on the trot that we have stayed here. Although we are native Dubliners, for us its a great way to do all your xmas shopping and celebrate at the same time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to do all there shopping in one go. As the main shopping strip is located minutes away, we made several trips backward and forwards to the Hotel enjoying the ambience of our lovely City. This Hotel is a great place to stay for this and any other occasion such as business, Holidays, short city breaks, etc. We had a bit of bother turning on the heating but a phone call later, in minutes, it was all sorted by the most pleasant young man. On arrival too we were greeted by a very efficient and well trained receptionist.

The xmas decorations adorned the lobby and the bar. Making it all very festive and cheerful.
Our Room was spotless and had everything one could need and most important to me, the bed was really comfortable. Later in the evening we had a meal in the bar and the service and food were first class. Next morning too after a hearty breakfast which catered for all needs, we then headed back out for more shopping. So our stay there was very enjoyable. I will be returning again next year for this wonderful treat. And for all of you who have never tried it. I can honestly say you would not be disappointed. The perfect hotel , location, ambience. This Hotel has it all. Go for it.

Room Tip: If you tell the receptionist what your looking for. They will endeavor to get it for you.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breda42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Was going to stay only one night here, but got caught up in the Hurricane Sandy delays. We found out that we would have to stay an extra night so we went down to speak to the manger and he offered us the same nice rate as when we booked weeks before. After getting more delays we would go down every morning and see if they had room for yet another night. Each time the manager honored our rate from the first time. This was a welcome relief under all the stress of the delays. I must compliment him on providing customer satisfaction. The buffet was a very nice spread with the freshest rolls and croissant. The help staff work at a high pace there with the large volume of people coming in and out. The location is fantastic, right off the main street easy walking to many sites. The only drawback was our room was on the smaller side with the TV hanging on the side wall. But all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CtFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

rooms clean and comfortable, clean towels every day. staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for exploring the city.
there was a free safe in the room and we had to use the swipe card to get into the lift which was good because it meant only people staying at the hotel could go past reception.
there were plenty of taxi available outsiide if required but the hotel is just off O'Connell street so was in walking distance of temple bar, grafton street and the river Liffey.
There were 3 of us sharing a room and we didnt have an issues about the size of the room.
we didnt have pay to have breakfast because it was half the price in the cafes in O'Connell street.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 424 and it was nice and warm and nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tictoc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Clean and friendly - but was a bit difficult to find. Stayed for 2 nites. The reception was great - as we found throughout Ireland. Just outside the city center of Dublin but walking distance to everything. Our room was spacious enough - upgraded to a bit larger room than was booked through the tour with breakfast added for e10. Buffet style and busy, crowded breakfast line - but really not a complaint - food selection was more than satisfactory to get you started on your day. Lounge has a good atmosphere - drinks were reasonable. We did not go to Ireland to critique the hotels but enjoy the country - so we would stay here again (now that we know where it is - get good directions - it is tucked away on a dead-end street). parking was extra - so check the cost for that - should have been less than we were told it would be for overnite. We caught the hop on hop off bus right outside the door which was great! Walking distance to everything - we enjoyed the nitelife on Temple Street and along O'Connell. I travel a lot for business and this would be a good stay for business as well in my opinion. free wi-fi - but we found that all over Ireland at our hotels.

Room Tip: Get good directions to hotel before going if you are new to Dublin!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilgrimBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,589 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £63 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing