We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone downhill since last year” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire,UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Gone downhill since last year”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Lots of things wrong
1. Smallest double room ive been in my life, you could only just walk around the bed.
2. Room wasnt cleaned on 2nd day, so no clean towels etc. when I mentioned this to reception they said they will look into it.
3.Air con didnt work, room was freezing, called someone up and he said he will report it, well heard nothing (eventually it did work!)
4. breakfast staff, one foreign woman was very rude, stated that i hadnt paid (when I had), she called another member of staff over and he found that everything was in order (no apology from the woman), and finally when I was checking out she pushed me aside as she neede change for something.
I have stayed here before, but I doubt I will again.
Only good point is the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,630
    1,860
    611
    145
    52
See reviews for
737
1,862
280
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Just back from an overnight stay and could not fault this hotel in any way, staff were friendly and helpful, room was fantastic and spotless clean and food in Bistro was excellent, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

stayed here for 2 nights nothing bad at all to say about it..staff were very helpful and friendly rooms clean would definitely stay here again..everything within walking distance :) if you are visiting dublin i would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day/2 night National Holidays break in Dublin and stayed at the Acadamy Plaza on a Bed and Breakfast basis. The location of the hotel cannnot be faulted, it being 20 yards off O'Connell Street in the city centre and very close to all the attractions of Dublin. The hotel is very modern and clean. The room we had [232] was at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor and was serviced daily by very friendly staff. The breakfast was traditional cooked, continental or toast and cereal buffet service all of which was very good. The bar was very reasonably priced with Guinness at 4.50 euros a pint. We had evening meals out both days and there are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. All the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly and we will use this hotel as our base for future trips to this lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normski214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

The location of the Hotel is perfect. Is close to all the tourist attractions in Dublin. In fact we did not buy any bus ticket, due to the location.
The rooms are a bit small, but did not bothered us at all.
We traveled as a group, and everybody was happy with the received room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broscuta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is the second year on the trot that we have stayed here. Although we are native Dubliners, for us its a great way to do all your xmas shopping and celebrate at the same time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to do all there shopping in one go. As the main shopping strip is located minutes away, we made several trips backward and forwards to the Hotel enjoying the ambience of our lovely City. This Hotel is a great place to stay for this and any other occasion such as business, Holidays, short city breaks, etc. We had a bit of bother turning on the heating but a phone call later, in minutes, it was all sorted by the most pleasant young man. On arrival too we were greeted by a very efficient and well trained receptionist.

The xmas decorations adorned the lobby and the bar. Making it all very festive and cheerful.
Our Room was spotless and had everything one could need and most important to me, the bed was really comfortable. Later in the evening we had a meal in the bar and the service and food were first class. Next morning too after a hearty breakfast which catered for all needs, we then headed back out for more shopping. So our stay there was very enjoyable. I will be returning again next year for this wonderful treat. And for all of you who have never tried it. I can honestly say you would not be disappointed. The perfect hotel , location, ambience. This Hotel has it all. Go for it.

Room Tip: If you tell the receptionist what your looking for. They will endeavor to get it for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breda42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Was going to stay only one night here, but got caught up in the Hurricane Sandy delays. We found out that we would have to stay an extra night so we went down to speak to the manger and he offered us the same nice rate as when we booked weeks before. After getting more delays we would go down every morning and see if they had room for yet another night. Each time the manager honored our rate from the first time. This was a welcome relief under all the stress of the delays. I must compliment him on providing customer satisfaction. The buffet was a very nice spread with the freshest rolls and croissant. The help staff work at a high pace there with the large volume of people coming in and out. The location is fantastic, right off the main street easy walking to many sites. The only drawback was our room was on the smaller side with the TV hanging on the side wall. But all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CtFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing