We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor management”
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

5th time staying here alway found it ok.

Was disgusted when my partner @ I booked a double room no 729.

To find it was to singles pushed together

I complained twice and no1 got back to me .

3 nite we had booked very very unhappy this time.

We will not be returning here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liamfitz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    1,931
    628
    151
    53
See reviews for
757
1,924
291
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This is the second time I have visited this hotel and I was not disappointed. Every member of staff is a delight to meet. The rooms are comfortable, Breakfast croissants I loved. The meals in the Bistro restaurant were top class. Lovely food with plenty of fresh vegetables for dinner. Soup and sandwiches for lunch. a spacious bar also.The bus tour leaves from across the road and shops are nearby,The Dublin Writer's Museum a 5 minute walk. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was in Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene-Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Ideal hotel for city centre shopping and sightseeing. The staff are helpful and the food is good. Rooms are a bit on the small side but are clean and comfortable. Will continue to use it . It is also convenient to bus routes and Trams.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms over the smoking lounge nextdoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipperary123999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I stayed at the Academy Plaza for my annual pre-Christmas treat (i.e. weekend in Dublin), and although it was my first time at this hotel, it won't be my last - as long as I'll be able to secure a good deal again online.
Unfortunately, the single room I had been allocated was entirely unacceptable, but reception staff very decently upgraded me to a double room which was very nice. I believe the Academy Plaza is a 3 star hotel, but is en par with many 4 star hotels I have stayed at. Yes, the double room was on the small side but, let's face it, how much time are you going to spend in your room when in a city like Dublin? Despite the surprisingly clashing mix of fabric patterns used in the room, it had a contemporary decor and all mod cons, including free (slowish) WiFi, individually controllable hot/cold aircon, notebook-sized safe, ironing board etc. I can't imagine anyone wanting more from a hotel room.
Reception staff was helpful; the room attendant (room spotlessly clean) cheerfully obliging.
The hotel's location is excellent, just off O'Connell Street; the city centre can easily be explored on foot from here, and the main shopping streets are also within easy walking distance. For me, this was a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Just back from a most enjoyable three night stay in the Academy everything about this hotel the staff food rooms was top class and its right in the centre of Dublin city only minutes walk away from the main shopping areas and the many historic attractions in the city looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire,UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Lots of things wrong
1. Smallest double room ive been in my life, you could only just walk around the bed.
2. Room wasnt cleaned on 2nd day, so no clean towels etc. when I mentioned this to reception they said they will look into it.
3.Air con didnt work, room was freezing, called someone up and he said he will report it, well heard nothing (eventually it did work!)
4. breakfast staff, one foreign woman was very rude, stated that i hadnt paid (when I had), she called another member of staff over and he found that everything was in order (no apology from the woman), and finally when I was checking out she pushed me aside as she neede change for something.
I have stayed here before, but I doubt I will again.
Only good point is the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Just back from an overnight stay and could not fault this hotel in any way, staff were friendly and helpful, room was fantastic and spotless clean and food in Bistro was excellent, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,861 reviews
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing