We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So close to everything!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Airlink bus from the airport drops you off right in front. The room size was standard for a US room let alone European. The staff was really friendly and helpful with recommendations and tours. Only steps from O'Connell Street and minutes to the shopping areas, Temple Bar Area and Trinity College. The bar/restaurant was nice. Rooms really clean and bathroom good size too. Water pressure was high, yeah! Blow dryer a little weird. Figured it out but to do it again I might bring my own, Mattress comfortable and pillows too. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You can open your window for cool air at night for sleeping. Solid sleep even with club next door. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kworkman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear kworkman63

We are delighted to receive such a fantastic review. Thank you. We are thrilled you stayed with us and chose us as your city centre hotel. The Airlink 747 bus is so convenient for our guests who stay with us to get to our hotel it literally stops outside our door. We are also delighted you enjoyed your clean comfortable room. All our rooms are service to the highest standard and are well equipped. Its great to see you got to visit the city and Temple Bar being one of the many places on the city centre map so close to us is fantastic.

We are thrilled to read you would stay again and we really hope you do. We would love the opportunity to thank you personally for the fantastic review.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    1,909
    625
    150
    53
See reviews for
749
1,911
289
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here recently and liked it quite a bit. Best Western is not a brand I often think of as it is something different in the States. Here it is a more up scale and a Hotel not a motel.

First know what makes this hotel work is it's staff. They are very good indeed and make the stay that much better. We had the breakfast option and they do a great job there. The food is quite good with great coffee options and broad food options. Note to Americans: bring your travel tabasco sauce if you like a little kick with your eggs. Great breads, eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes and even those beans the Brits like. This is a much better version than you will see at mid level US motels for breakfast but watch out as those Euros are hungry in morning and will knock you down to get to those those baked mushrooms.

One thing you need to be aware of is that some rooms face a disco/sports bar that must be the most happening place in Dublin. If you are not a disco, out late person you might make sure you ask for a room that does not face it as the Irish get a little vocal with their spirits. We had to request to be moved as it was too much for us. Rooms and lobby are clean and updated and the bathrooms are nice. Room service does a smashing job.

Had a drunk couple next door go crazy and start screaming at about midnight, slamming stuff at our wall and freaking going nuts. We called down to the desk and they sent someone up immediately and told them they would have to move out of hotel. They did a good job on that as that is rare to happen but when it does you want it fixed fast.

All in all I was really happy with this spot. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srdbigd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We visited for a stag do for two nights, had a great time, and found this hotel was ideally located for the bus from the airport (tho sharing a taxi between 8 of us was cheaper). the rooms & hotel were clean and tidy, and wifi connection was also good. Martha behind the bar was very professional, and helpful, as were the rest of the staff here. Just try to avoid the nightclub next door - tho you hardly notice it from outside, the atmosphere inside is not great - you're much better heading into the centre bars for a better experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Well there is nothing only positive reviews to give here! Fantastic hotel, great location especially for that busy shopper who needs to return to their room for a quick cuppa or to leave off some bags! Very modern and very clean, The most helpful and friendly staff I have ever came across in any hotel. Breakfast was to die for with everything you could want and if not available they made it so! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay right in the heart of Dublin's busy city centre! I will be back! Thank you for making my stay so easy!

Room Tip: There is a sports bar situated right outside our window and to look out each night it was packed wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were a party if three and spent three nights in the hotel from 27th November 2013.
The hotel itself is modern and clean, as was our room, although it was on the small side for three people.
The location is ideal, straight off O'Connell street close to shops bars and restaurants.
We only ate breakfast one day in the hotel and got a good deal of €24 for the three of us. Breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular.
We had cocktails in the hotel which at €6.90 each seemed fairly reasonable compared to goer hotels.
The hotel was completely silent at night, fairly comfortable and in an excellent location, I wouldn't hesitate to return should I visit Dublin again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and I've fallen in love with it. It's so close to everything! O'Connell Street is just up the road and the Airlink and the Hop On Hop Off buses stop right outside the hotel. You're also within walking distance to many of Dublin's attractions. Staying at this hotel makes it so easy to get around the city and see everything. The hotel is clean, and the staff is very helpful. Rooms are kinda small, but the beds are very comfy.
My only complaint would have to be the free wifi. Love that the hotel offers free wifi, but for some reason it didn't work. Would've much rather payed for wifi that actually worked.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MV309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Rooms were modern - for some reason we were assigned a handicap access room, so the shower was a bit awkward, but otherwise the accomodations were great. had full breakfast each morning here as well. staff was friendly, responsive and efficient, food was very good. The location was amazing - 1 block off O'Connell St, so everything we wanted was right at our door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel1dfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing