We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is not a bad place to stay, but it's not exactly a great place to stay. The room was laughably small. Although the room was clean, modern, and served me fine. It was also a loud night with noisy neighbors, but obviously that isn't the hotel's fault.
The front desk was helpful and friendly. I can't recommend the breakfast. It costs 10 euros, and it was incredibly disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jholden2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear jholden2301

Thank you for posting and sharing your experience about our hotel. Your comments and feedback are valuable to us. However I do wish I could have met you during your stay where we could have discussed these points you have raised. By being able to meet you we could have sought some closure and offered you an alternative with the hope further impress you on our stay here. It is very difficult for me to measure your comments online although I am glad to see you did think we were not a bad place to stay. As a busy three star hotel located right in the heart of Dublin City we think we are the perfect choice for any discerning guest looking to book a high quality 3 Star hotel. We do excel in our class and I am glad to see our front desk were helpful and friendly. They are always are on hand to deal with any guest query and help or offer assistance and I do hope that you raised your queries with them too. I am disappointed to read our buffet breakfast did not impress you. It has a vast quantity of items on offer from our full Irish breakfast to power breakfast with plenty of cereals fruit and so on. I am disappointed to read you didn't enjoy it and maybe you would afford myself and the team a chance look deeper into your comments.

I would love if you would email me at this address, wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where myself and the management team can further look at your stay details. Again we are very thankful for your feedback. We would love if you would contact us on the above email where I could fully search your reservation and stay details. Due to the anonymity of TripAdvisor I cannot fully search by your name or other wise.

We thank you for your custom and feedback and we really wish you would pick us as your hotel of choice in future should you return to Dublin City Centre.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,148 - 2,154 of 4,652 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

One word describes this hotel and that is wonderful. Wonderful location, staff, food, and overall experience. My family have gone there for different events every year and simply because of its location there is something to do for all the family, male and female of all ages. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Eamon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Eamon H

We are so thankful to you for sharing your review. We are so thrilled to read that our staff, food and overall experience has stayed consistent throughout your stays with us. We thank you for you loyalty. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin city centre hopefully in the not too distant future. Please stop by the desk on your next visit where myself or the team can thank you for your feedback and loyalty.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel just before the new year with my in laws and wife. The hotel was handy to the hop on and hop off bus which I would recommend for those unfamiliar with Dublin. The restaurant did a good dinner with a live band. Breakfast was tasty and lots of choices. Our rooms were corner ones and very comfortable and clean. There was free wifi. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear KiwiinBrighton

Thank you for you fantastic review. We were delighted to accommodate you during your new year stay. We are very lucky to be located right in the heart of Dublin City Centre. We are conveniently serviced by the Dublin City Airlink 747 bus and the dublin city tour bus. It is great to read that you also enjoyed our Bistro food and the bar atmosphere.

We would love to welcome you back to Dublin City Centre and should you ever return to us please stop by the desk where me or another member of the team can personally thank you for your fantastic feedback.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Centrally located hotel in Dublin city. Easy to get to from airport, bus, Luas or rail station. Have stayed her on a number of occasions & always find the staff friendly & helpful, especially the manager, Shem. Good choice for breakfast & evening meal is of a very good standard & is great value. Rooms are airy & comfortable. I would highly recommend it if you are visiting our capital city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eithne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Eithne M

Thank you for leaving us your 5 Star Review. Myself and the whole team here are thrilled to read your comments. We are very glad you got to enjoy the comfort and service here. We always try to provide our customers with the best possible experience we can.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed. At this. Hotel. On. The. 27th &. 28th. Dec. 2013
I. Have. Stayed. At. This. Hotel. Quite. A. Few. Times. Over the. Past. Few. Years. With. Friends, We We're Actually. There. On. The. 27th. &. 28th. Dec. 2013. Location. Is. Great. For. The. Shops. All. Walking. Distance. Breakfast. Buffet. Bar. &. The. Evening. Meals. Have. Great. Variety, great. Place. To. Stay.

Room Tip: We'll. when. There. Actually. Booking. There. Room, just. Tell. Them. At. The. Desk. To. Give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Betty B

On behalf of the whole team we are so thankful for your very positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our excellent location along with our comfortable rooms and food and beverage outlets. We would love if you choose us as your hotel of choice when returning to Dublin City Centre. Should you do return to us please stop by the desk where we can personally thank you for your great feedback.

Thanks again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

what better way to spend the new year than a break away here just situated off o connell streetso central for sightseeing and shopping the hotel it self was so comfortable we nearly didnt want to move but after a very tasty breakfast the kids and ourselves were set up for the day we definetly will be returning cant wait for next newyear

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 263Marym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear 263Marym

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. Its great to see such a positive review. We are so happy that you along with many other of our happy customers go to enjoy and experience our excellent location and service.

Again thank you for sharing your experience and we do hope to see you again soon where we would love the opportunity to offer you the same welcome service and experience.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights over the new year. Hotel is nice and clean, and in a very good location, about a 15 minute walking distance from Temple Bar. There is also a sports bar next door to the hotel, which had about 10 different screens showing all football matches. Breakfast was really nice and they had a special offer of 2 for 15 euro which isn't bad. The bar in the hotel was quiet and bar staff were friendly. Only improvement with the hotel room would be to lower the television as when lying down and watching TV, the picture becomes very dark and it is difficult to watch. Overall lovely stay and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_Jess_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#64 of 151 in Dublin
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 151 in Dublin
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £58 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing