We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but a bit cramped for space inside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location but a bit cramped for space inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. It is located in the center of city, with manyshopping/ dining options around. Very close to the bus station. Their basic room is very small and crapped. The executive rooms are of decent size.

Room Tip: if you are of above avg built, definitely go for executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varij s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear varij s

We are delighted to receive you review. Thank you for sharing it. We are also delighted to accommodate you during your stay with us. Yes you are correct our location is great and a excellent way to see the city.

All our comfortable rooms are well appointed but I am glad to see you availed of our room upgrades. They are great value and boast larger rooms with added extras for only €19.00.

If you ever return to Dublin City please let us know where we will offer you our best welcome and allocation. Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    1,857
    609
    144
    52
See reviews for
733
1,860
278
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Academy Plaza is situated in a central city position. It has good connections to trains, buses and airport. The hotel is clean, modern and welcoming. The rooms are well designed and offer wifi and all the necessary communications for modern living. The restaurant offers a good choice of quality cuisine. The bar is well stocked and comfortable for socialising and meetings. Staff prove themselves to be welcoming, attentive and knowledgable of the Dublin scene and further attractions around the country. The Academy Plaza is a 'must' stay opportunity for visiting Dublin or passing through. It was recommended to me a few years ago my friends overseas and I have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cvfgyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Cvfgyd

We are delighted to read such a fantastic review. Thank you. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed all the benefits of staying with us. Our convenient location and comfortable rooms where we are accessible to by all bus, rail, and Airport Airlink bus stop. Also it's so warming to get feedback for something we really enjoy doing. All our team here really try to excel here daily in providing high quality and friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere.

I am delighted to see that you were recommended by a friend and I believe that is one of the greatest compliments. Thank you. Should you ever return to Dublin we would love if you choose us as your city centre hotel of choice.

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and we hope we may get the chance to thank you personally in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is not a bad place to stay, but it's not exactly a great place to stay. The room was laughably small. Although the room was clean, modern, and served me fine. It was also a loud night with noisy neighbors, but obviously that isn't the hotel's fault.
The front desk was helpful and friendly. I can't recommend the breakfast. It costs 10 euros, and it was incredibly disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jholden2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear jholden2301

Thank you for posting and sharing your experience about our hotel. Your comments and feedback are valuable to us. However I do wish I could have met you during your stay where we could have discussed these points you have raised. By being able to meet you we could have sought some closure and offered you an alternative with the hope further impress you on our stay here. It is very difficult for me to measure your comments online although I am glad to see you did think we were not a bad place to stay. As a busy three star hotel located right in the heart of Dublin City we think we are the perfect choice for any discerning guest looking to book a high quality 3 Star hotel. We do excel in our class and I am glad to see our front desk were helpful and friendly. They are always are on hand to deal with any guest query and help or offer assistance and I do hope that you raised your queries with them too. I am disappointed to read our buffet breakfast did not impress you. It has a vast quantity of items on offer from our full Irish breakfast to power breakfast with plenty of cereals fruit and so on. I am disappointed to read you didn't enjoy it and maybe you would afford myself and the team a chance look deeper into your comments.

I would love if you would email me at this address, wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where myself and the management team can further look at your stay details. Again we are very thankful for your feedback. We would love if you would contact us on the above email where I could fully search your reservation and stay details. Due to the anonymity of TripAdvisor I cannot fully search by your name or other wise.

We thank you for your custom and feedback and we really wish you would pick us as your hotel of choice in future should you return to Dublin City Centre.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

One word describes this hotel and that is wonderful. Wonderful location, staff, food, and overall experience. My family have gone there for different events every year and simply because of its location there is something to do for all the family, male and female of all ages. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Eamon H

We are so thankful to you for sharing your review. We are so thrilled to read that our staff, food and overall experience has stayed consistent throughout your stays with us. We thank you for you loyalty. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin city centre hopefully in the not too distant future. Please stop by the desk on your next visit where myself or the team can thank you for your feedback and loyalty.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
738 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel just before the new year with my in laws and wife. The hotel was handy to the hop on and hop off bus which I would recommend for those unfamiliar with Dublin. The restaurant did a good dinner with a live band. Breakfast was tasty and lots of choices. Our rooms were corner ones and very comfortable and clean. There was free wifi. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear KiwiinBrighton

Thank you for you fantastic review. We were delighted to accommodate you during your new year stay. We are very lucky to be located right in the heart of Dublin City Centre. We are conveniently serviced by the Dublin City Airlink 747 bus and the dublin city tour bus. It is great to read that you also enjoyed our Bistro food and the bar atmosphere.

We would love to welcome you back to Dublin City Centre and should you ever return to us please stop by the desk where me or another member of the team can personally thank you for your fantastic feedback.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Centrally located hotel in Dublin city. Easy to get to from airport, bus, Luas or rail station. Have stayed her on a number of occasions & always find the staff friendly & helpful, especially the manager, Shem. Good choice for breakfast & evening meal is of a very good standard & is great value. Rooms are airy & comfortable. I would highly recommend it if you are visiting our capital city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eithne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Eithne M

Thank you for leaving us your 5 Star Review. Myself and the whole team here are thrilled to read your comments. We are very glad you got to enjoy the comfort and service here. We always try to provide our customers with the best possible experience we can.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed. At this. Hotel. On. The. 27th &. 28th. Dec. 2013
I. Have. Stayed. At. This. Hotel. Quite. A. Few. Times. Over the. Past. Few. Years. With. Friends, We We're Actually. There. On. The. 27th. &. 28th. Dec. 2013. Location. Is. Great. For. The. Shops. All. Walking. Distance. Breakfast. Buffet. Bar. &. The. Evening. Meals. Have. Great. Variety, great. Place. To. Stay.

Room Tip: We'll. when. There. Actually. Booking. There. Room, just. Tell. Them. At. The. Desk. To. Give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Betty B

On behalf of the whole team we are so thankful for your very positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our excellent location along with our comfortable rooms and food and beverage outlets. We would love if you choose us as your hotel of choice when returning to Dublin City Centre. Should you do return to us please stop by the desk where we can personally thank you for your great feedback.

Thanks again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing