We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel and customer service”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

the staff here are excellent and friendly. the hotel was clean, quiet and safe and in a great locaton right across the street from the Airlink and Hop-on Hop-off bus tours. had noisy neighbors and the front desk handled it immediately.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxypocahontas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear foxypocahontas1

Thank you for sharing your fantastic review. We are delighted that we met all your expectations during your stay here. Our friendly and modern hotel is a fantastic place to explore Dublin. Being so accessible and served by the airlink buses to Dublin airport makes it so convenient.

We really hope you choose us when you return to Dublin city centre where we will look forward to providing you with another great stay.

Thank you again or sharing your review.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    1,953
    633
    152
    53
See reviews for
766
1,936
296
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Myself and a large group of family had a great couple of nights at the Academy Plaza over the Xmas break. It is perfectly located to explore this great city. The staff were professional and courteous at all times and couldn't do enough to help. The rooms are furnished to a high spec with great complimentary wifi access and large wide screen tv's. Loved the breakfast especially the Irish sausages. If you want to take things easy after a busy day out in the city there is a great bar and lounge area to while away the evening with live music at times as well.

I didn't use the gym but it is available should you want to shift some of the Christmas excess or recover from the night before. We will be booking again next time we are in town, thanks to all the staff for a wonderful experience.

Maria & John from Manchester

Room Tip: Discount parking available for hotel guests in the car park across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPaddyOGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear JohnPaddyOGorman

Thank you for sharing your review. We are so happy to have looked after you during your Christmas break. We always try to be as friendly and professional as possible while helping our guests have the best possible stay they can in Dublin.

We are delighted you enjoyed your guest experience here and we are thrilled to read you will be a return guest. You should stop by the desk and let us know where we can thank you personally for the wonderful review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Have stayed in this hotel twice for pre Christmas breaks and we are looking to book again. For a city break it can't be faulted. Luckily we were upgraded to a triple room this time, as on our previous stay our room was on the small side but that said the rooms are functional and clean and it's not like you need to live in them! Beds are comfy and the bathroom was clean with shower gel/liquid soap provided.
Location is good, just off O'Connell street and within walking distance to all the major attractions. The hop on/off bus also stops opposite the hotel and the airport bus drops you there too.
All in all would recommend and like I said, am looking to book again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0iner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear L0iner

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted you, like so many other people, thank us for our great value location and helpful staff. It really makes the difference for us and our staff really love hearing about great feedback.

We are delighted you are looking to book again and should you want to make a booking please do. You can contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we will be delighted to handle your guest queries.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This modern hotel is tucked away off O'Connell Street, and is a great location for all Dublin tourist attractions. We booked through Ryanair Hotels and received a good price. We didn't add Breakfast originally but upon arrival there was an offer of 2 for 1 on breakfast so we took this offer on. The breakfast was very good, plenty of cereals, bread and hot food available. We were given a room which overlooked the internal courtyard which had the kitchen fan vents blowing loudly, so we asked to change to a quieter room, this was not a problem and the alternative room was lovely and quiet. The staff were pleasant and able to help in all matters. A great hotel for a long weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahpedder88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear sarahpedder88

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We love hearing guest feedback here at the hotel. Our location is such a fantastic factor for us and really makes a great base for our guests to explore Dublin City Centre. We are delighted you took advantage of our breakfast offer. We have a large offering for our guests and our buffet is becoming a popular choice for our customers to kick start the day.

We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future where we can offer you the same comfort, experience and welcome.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel is a fantastic place to stay. Even with some renovation of their bar going on, they had it covered. The staff is truly awesome and they always answered our questions or helped with our needs. The location of the hotel is perfect for seeing the sites, going to the temple bar area (10 min walk), or doing some shopping. The room was nicely done, bed was comfortable and the cleaning staff was super. We ate breakfast as they were offering a 2 for 1 deal. It was very good but I would not have paid 15 euros or the normal price. There are lots of other places to go for breakfast. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RATMANDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Daer Robert T

Thank you of your fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and for sharing your great comments about our staff. They love reading positive feedback. We are thrilled for read that you were not affected during our renovations. We are very excited about the hotel improvements we are carrying out and they should be finished quite soon and we cannot wait to see the finished product.

We are very happy to read you will stay with us again and we really hope you do.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do. You can mail us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had a brilliant over night stay here recently. Staff were very friendly and was easy to locate from O'Connolly station, Brilliant location for shopping and nightlife as you are practically in the heart of Dublin. Only a 20 minute walk to the O2 arena. Rooms were spacious, most comfortable bed i've ever slept in, and there was good Wifi access. Would stay here again! Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Vikki212

We are thrilled to read your comments and thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. We are truly delighted to read how friendly our staff were. They genuinely try at all times to be as informative and helpful to all our guests.

We are thrilled to read that you would return to us and we would love if you stopped by the desk and let us know where we could thank you personally for your wonderful review.

Best Regards

Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

First time to Dublin and stayed here after it had been reccomended to me from customers back home. We were not disapointed! Right in the thick of things and had everything we needed! Would have been good if our package had of included breakfast but we had that offered to us for a low price of ?15 for the two of us. Only negative was that referbishments that were taking place were sometimes a bit noisy if you were trying to sleep in! Would stay here again in a heart beat!

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Danielle A

Thank you for sharing your review. We are so happy that you did choose us and after getting recommended by your friends back home. I am happy you mentioned our refurbishments. We have been carrying out some necessary improvements in our lobby which is now complete along with our bar and restaurant area which is just at our completion stage too. We are very happy with the results so far too.

We look forward to welcoming you back where you can see the finished product and enjoy a relaxing drink in our bar on your return.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do so on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,505 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing