We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Reasonable hotel clean and quiet in a convenient place for Dublins sights. Shame about positioning of tv in room which is completely unwatchable from bed, although good view could be had whilst sitting on toilet and leaning forward!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,574)
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,066 - 2,072 of 4,574 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

stayed there for 2 nights staff very polite and friendly rooms very comftorable food great hotel spotless excelent location would recomend to a friend very enjoyable stay will be going back soon one of best hotels in city centre

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel on the 19th of December for a concert, wasn't sure of location so rang the hotel and receptionist was more than glad to direct me, check in was very fast and they gave us the option of a smoking/non-smoking room, we got the smoking room. Room was a bit small (it didn't bother us as we weren't going to be there much anyway) and extremely clean. We went to the concert (got the Luas to the O2 which was a few minutes walk away) and were back at around half 11 to which we were welcomed by smiling staff, we got changed and headed out on the town , this hotel is so close to everything , we came back to hotel at 5 in the morning and had no problem getting in. The next day we checked out but wanted to wander the city for a while and the receptionist had no problem in keeping our bags in the luggage room for as long as we wanted! All in all great service, brilliant location and friendly staff, I would definitely recommend this place.

I would also like to mention a bar next door called the living room, a really really REALLY nice bar that you shouldn't pass if staying at this hotel ;)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rioghnagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Spent another night in this lovely hotel. Great staff, great rates. Wonderful value for money. And free internet. Breakfast had a variety of hot cooked food,cold meats and fruit. Tea coffee making in the rooms as well. The 12.00pm checkout allowed us a leisurely departure. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gordonlovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for one night to catch RBS 6 Nations match. Hotel is well located within easy walking distance to Temple Bar as well as Connolly and Tara railway stations. Room was clean and comfortable although a bit small but average size for city hotel. Bed linen was spotless as was the en-suite bathroom. There is a car park just across from the hotel which is very reasonable for city center parking, about 15 euro a day with the hotel discount. Breakfast was plentiful was lots of choice. Great start to the day. All in all a very pleasing stay and I,m sure that I stay gain when next in Dublin

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Academy Plaza Hotel
I have been to the street Academy Plaza Hotel on Parnell Square Dublin city centre just off o Connells. It’s a short walk to Dublin Temple Bar. It’s also a good place to stay if you are going to a concert in the Academy because they are very close to each other.
The outside of the building is boring and just looks like a block of apartments and I think that the entrance is too plain. But don’t judge a book by its cover I found the inside of the hotel to be very nice and the staff wear friendly.
The bed room were not very big but that’s okay because they looked good. The beds wear decorated with red pillows and I found them to be comfortable. The bathrooms wear nice I liked the marble that the counters wear made out of the baths wear nice and big. The showers wear also big. . They also had tiger print chairs witch I found to be interesting as it added more life to the room.
The bar was good and the food was also nice. I had the breakfast, I got the full English breakfast which was nice but very graze but all fries are.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile


Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel
I am an well traveled American and have stayed in other European hotels but our 100 (10x10) sq foot hotel room was a bit much! I would rate the hotel room 2/5 because my spouse and I were unable to unpack our small carry-on luggage and we were falling on top of each other! I have never been so uncomfortable EVER! I will say that the hotel was quite clean and the staff manager Owen and Phil agreed to refund our money for subsequent days which was considerate of them and I appreciate it. I just found the pictures to be a bit distorted and because of the angel taken in the photos and the slight differences in the rooms, I was completely taken by surprise. If I am on vacation I have a basic expectation for water in room (n/a at this hotel), ability to unpack (n/a in this room), sleep soundly (club next door too loud into 1:30 am and doors closing from hallway), prompt recognition from staff when customer comes inside to hotel (this was 50/50 and is not reassuring that they appreciate me or they don't care who walks in the door? security concerns), safety of area (a young club next door and drug addict on O'Connell St). It was just too much and I could not relax so if you don't plan to be in a room and you truly are on a budget then staying here is ok but for a savvy traveler who would like a rest from the hustle and bustle of USA choose another area completely. The breakfast was good; staff 50/50.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shonta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,587 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £64 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing