We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option if you are on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great option if you are on a budget”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

These comments are based on my own experience; I travelled solo and had an individual room.
Strong points: location is simply wonderful. The Airlink bus (10 Euros return) has its stop just in front of the hotel and this is very convenient. You are half a block away from O’Connell Street and some 8-10 minutes from Trinity College with maybe 10-15 to Temple area (where pubs are located). There are many bus stops right in front including the Hop on-off (I would recommend buying the tourist tickets as would amount to both hop-on and off for two days, free walking tour and return to airport plus giving you extra transportation). There are a lot of restaurants around as well as cheaper options, e.g. Subway. There's a disco just besides but not a problem in any sense and could actually be an extra bonus for some. Wi-Fi worked very well and is for free.
The room –on the fifth floor- was quiet and clean, mattress comfortable, nice Duvet and there was a decent selection of pillows. The complimentary coffee and tea had a limited offer, but decent and regularly replaced.
Bathroom clean and towels changed every day even when not left on the floor.
The iron and board very helpful.
I tried the restaurant once and both food and wine acceptable even if not dazzling.
The area is safe and I felt very comfortable walking on my own even late in the night.
Staff gets an extra star as they really go out of their way to provide best support. Both check-in and out went very smoothly and fast.
Weak points: the room and bathroom were tiny and view rather unpleasant (internal and simply showing the external conducts). The telly was placed rather high on a lateral wall which made it really uncomfortable to watch from the bed and since there’s just a chair and the TV so high up, not too comfy to watch from the chair. Selection of channels good though. Heating system worked nicely. The shower towel was on the thin side and rather small. Toiletries very weak with fixed dispensers for soap which unfortunately is the usual for this type of hotel. No minibar either. The hair dryer was the built-in type with the hose which doesn’t work very well for long hair.
Room evidenced a recent decoration but maybe they should hire the services of another designer in the future as it was rather tacky. The common areas and the restaurant while clean and in good conditions –save for corridor carpets -need to be refurbished. The decoration is old and the environment lacks light, altogether not inviting at all.
All in all this is a very good 3 star hotel that will work great if you are spending most of the day out with a staff pampering you in a similar way as they do in a 5 star. I would definitely return as value for money is excellent.

Room Tip: When checking in make sure you are not given a room close to garbage collection side and that the TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorriedmumArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,707
    1,970
    641
    155
    53
See reviews for
779
1,953
298
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fantastic location, just off O'Connell street. we arrrived in the city at 8.30am off an early flight and thought we would go and ask if we could leave our luggage. To our surprise we were told our room was ready for us.
The room itself was spotless, modern and although it was located above reception and facing the road it was quiet and we had a very good nights sleep. The facilities were very good, free wi-fi, flat screen tv, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Ensuite bathroom had a large bath with shower,practical toiletries and a magnifying mirror which was useful, I could put on makeup without my glasses.
On check out we were asked by the very helpful,friendly and courteous staff if we wanted to leave our luggage in a locked area, which was great as we were on an evening flight.
we will definately be staying in this hotel on our next trip to Dublin

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBSH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

What a brilliant hotel, we stayed here last week for 1 night having a short break in dublin. Right next to the bus stop for the airport bus, round the corner from the bus stop for the sightseeing bus and the main shopping street, and 5/10 mins walk to temple bar! Staff were very friendly had a swift check in, room was beautiful, immaculately clean and bathroom was great, nice and modern. Bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, and what a bargain!! Was worried it wouldn't live up to my expectations being one of the cheaper options but it definitely exceeded!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmalou192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Location, professionalism, quality and customer service are all superb! Seamus, Ellie and the hotel manager were most helpful. We travel a lot and this may be one of our best experiences. Central location, quality of the room/bar/ and food service were outstanding. You can not go wrong staying here.......

Room Tip: They were most helpful with accommodation as my wife and I both have some minor mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear James B

We are so thrilled that you shared your wonderful comments and experience about our hotel. We were thrilled to accommodate you during your stay and time here in the city centre. Myself and the rest of the team couldn't be happier to see that the whole team looked after you during your stay.

Please send us an email to wecare@academyplazahotel.ie should you wish to discuss anything further where we would love to hear from you.

Warmest Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is the perfect location for shopping, sightseeing, visiting friends or family or just chilling out . I have stayed here on a few occasions and hopefully will do so again because I view it as a home from home.The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff attentive and courteous.Breakfast is a self service buffet offering a substantial choice of hot and cold food. While I have stayed in other hotels with a greater variety of food for breakfast,there is very little to complain about here.
My bedroom was small and I am very glad that, on this occasion,I was alone.I cannot imagine a couple surviving in harmony in such a cramped space..Having said that,however,the room was marvellously equipped with everything a guest would need - a double comfortable bed, iron and board, tea/coffee making facilities,a hairdryer, flat screen television and free wifi connection..the ensuite bathroom was sparkling . If a bigger room is required, it would b wise to mention it when making the reservation.
The corridor carpets are a little tired in places as is the decor but what is lacking in modernity is more than compensated. for in the cleanliness,friendliness and efficiency of the staff.The hotel is always busy but no member of staff is impatient or impolite. The Academy Plaza Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Dublin and it is an hotel with a heart

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRISHMAGGIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Our family of 3 (with 4 year old) stayed here for 3 nights while on vacation from Germany. The hotel room was a good size and I love the triple rooms so that my daughter had her own bed. It's the little things.

The check in was super easy and the staff were always so helpful with printing out directions (to Cork), selling us bus tickets, helping to navigate Dublin and any other requests we had.

The location couldn't be better. The hop on hop off bus as well as city buses and Airlink bus from the airport stop literally at the door of the hotel. Makes it really easy to travel around.

We didn't eat the breakfast as there were other options just around the corner...but the deal of 9€ at check in wasn't bad. We just opted for elsewhere.

The room was clean.

My only complaint was the wifi. My iPad wouldn't connect for some reason but our phones had no issue. So just a minor frustration when wanting to upload pictures from our day to the web...i just had to wait until we got home.

We will definitely be recommending this hotel to all our friends heading to Dublin!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanNomad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in February. The hotel is clean and the room we had was a good size. We stayed at the 5th floor and had a slightly bigger room than the standard double room. We did not try the restaurant on the hotel, we ate breakfast out and about. The hotel is located near O´connel street where you find all the shopping you need. You can walk to temple bar and Grafton street (across the river) I guess it takes about 10 minutes. The hotel is all over good, but it is not "something extra". The pillows and the bed were a bit hard and no minibar. On the plus side: very quiet and the room had an iron. Totally OK!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellinoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,919 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing