We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel just renovated, friendly staff. Close to the hop on hop off tour busses. Not to close to most of the a”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean. Room was good for just me, but if I was with a girlfriend or wife it would be way to small. WiFi is adequate. Staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located near the start of the tour bus stops but on the other side of the city from where most of the attractions are.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Nicholas M

Thank you so much for sharing such a great review. We are very encouraged to read that our staff were very friendly and accommodating and thank you for mentioning it. They really love to see great feedback for all the hard work they put in. Thank you.

We are delighted with our city centre accommodation. Being so close to the majority of the major attractions makes us a great choice for anyone wishing to spend time in the city centre. Regarding your room size, all our rooms have all the well appointed amenities and should you wish to have an alternative option we can cater for that too. We have, when available, special upgrade executive rooms at a fantastic price of €19.00 per room where you can enjoy the added comfort and amenities of an superior room.

We hope you would visit us again soon where maybe we could get the chance to thank you for your wonderful comments. Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where me or a member of our team can address your thoughts or comments.

Thanks again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,107 - 2,113 of 4,689 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel has nice instalations and comfortable rooms.
Good high speed internet.
However, a very expensive breakfeast for the offer.. Not very fresh food...
The clean was ok.
However I had a unhappy situation.. When I was preparing check out the cleaning women was very stressed and rude because I didn't left the room and she had to clean. This situation was at 12.07. 7 minutes later than the scheduled. Not polite and i didn't like the atitude...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank AlvaroAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear AlvaroAndre

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We all love to read guest comments and feedback as it not only helps make us more proactive in our search for great customer service, but gives us an alternative look at how we looked after you during your stay. We review a lot of customer care files in the hotel and thank you for submitting yours. We are very happy that you enjoyed our well appointed rooms and our complimentary high speed internet.

I am sorry that your check out was upsetting for you. We would have loved nothing more than for you to let us know that maybe you were checking out on time or had you requested a later check out we could have of course looked after you with one.

I have handed over the feedback to our accommodation manager who will be more than happy to oversee how your check out was handled.

Overall I am glad to see that you enjoyed our city centre hotel and we do wish you would choose us again in the near future.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do so on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Kind Regard
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If your after location this hotel is a must! The bus stop is right outside the hotel which is perfect to and from the airport. The hop on and off bus also starts from here too, ideal! A 30 second walk around the corner leads you onto the Main Street in Dublin, Oconnel street
The hotel itself is a decent standard and we only paid 142 euros for 2 nights stay which is £117 GNP. We received a free upgrade upon arrival and we're allowed to check in 5 hours early, the reception staff were very friendly throughout the stay advising us on restaurants, buses and trips.
The room itself was standard but had a very comfy bed. The only gripe was the TV was on the wall right at the end of the room and not in the middle, but we were not there to watch TV anyway.
We stayed away from the restaurant as breakfast looked to be very expensive.... A short walk to kylemore on Connell street was a lot cheaper.
Overall a very pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to rebook.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crofty06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Crofty06

Thank your or your review. We are delighted to have looked after your during your time here. You have pointed out so many great things about staying in our hotel and we are very thankful for that. We try our best to make our guest stays very welcoming, informative and as comfortable as possible.

We would love if you pick us in the future should you ever return to Dublin.

If you would like to discuss anything further, you can reach us at wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

As this was my first time visiting Dublin I was looking for a hotel that was in an excellent location, was affordable and immaculately clean. I was not disappointed. Upon arriving the staff were welcoming and checking in was a breeze. Throughout my stay, staff were always on hand to provide excellent tourist tips and answer any questions that I had. The room was a good size and I could not find a speck of dirt! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma-Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Gemma-Alice S

Thank you so much for submitting your review. We love hearing about our guest experience and we are very happy to read your five star comments. Our staff are very friendly and try their utmost to help and assist with all guest queries regarding the hotel and tourist destinations.

We would love if you would choose us again as your city centre hotel of choice.

Should you need anything else please do not hesitate to contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.oe

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

stayed there for one night- small room, overlooking a wall with tubes. no adapter to lend to charge laptop. breakfast not included in the 120 euro a night price. am sure there are better and friendlier deals in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarkar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear sarkar s

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read your comment and that we didn't match your expectations. All our staff here love handling guest queries and do their utmost to help. Had you contacted a member of our team I would not doubt expect them to handle your comments quickly and offer you a solution. Had we known your concerns a member of the team are always at hand to help you and assist you.

I really wish you would give us a second chance should you ever return to Dublin where we will try to impress you with a superior stay. Again thank you for letting us know about your experience. We love to receive and read all feedback here at the hotel.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do so on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful,giving us tips about locations we were interested in and offering to help with transportation options. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The location was so convenient to the city center, buses, trains and taxis. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed recently for one night.Check in was swift and reception very pleasant.Nice big reception area and a lovely big bar too.Our room was dead on,really comfy beds!!
The one thing that stands out a mile with this hotel is how clean it is.Everything was gleaming and the carpets in the hallways were spotless too.I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolo7822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#44 of 150 in Dublin
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £58 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing