We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location friendly staff and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location friendly staff and clean hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location central to all places to visit (mile or so away from some)

Aircoach No 700 from the Airport location 13, stops just around the corner from the hotel, 50 yards only 12 euros open return back to the airport. Only takes 15/20 minutes (non-rush hour).

The Green hop on/off tour bus stops outside the hotel, 18 euros each for 2 days. Well worth it if you plan to visit 3 or 4 places as tram was 3.20 euros each to Jamesons Distillery.

The staff are great very nice and try to make your stay a very enjoyable one.

We upgraded from a standard double to a double room. The rooms are bigger but they vary a lot and you will be very lucky if you get a room like one in the picture with a bath, probably just a small shower only. Need to improve the web pictures and room information a lot.

Our rooms were very clean and comfy so very good for a 3 star but the double beds are twin beds pushed together.

The bar was very pricey, it's a shame, due to the price we did not stay in the hotel much.

We went to Murray's bar around the corner (out of the hotel, turn right and 20 yards on your right). We had full Irish breakfast at approx. 9.90 e included drink coffee and orange with toast. Not the biggest breakfast but very good quality. Evening meals were very good except the Fish & Chips. The chicken wings and chips were more than enough for a main meal. Agreat location for the hotel with live traditional music every night we were there.

We all know Dublin is very expensive but we saved £300.00 + by going Monday to Wednesday. The weekend rates are pathetic but that is the same for all hotels in Dublin.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Kevin James B

Thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled that you chose us when you stay in Dublin City Centre.

Our location is a fantastic asset to us, but begin serviced by the City Tour bus and the Airlink 747 literarily stopping outside our door makes us even more accessible. Your comments about our staff and service really help fasten the customer focus for our team here. Our team try on a daily basis to be as friendly, informative and efficient as possible.

Thank you again and should you wish to discuss anything further our team here are at your disposal on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Kind Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    1,949
    633
    151
    53
See reviews for
766
1,935
296
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If all you need is a basic, clean room with nice staff and in a great location, this is the one for you. Don't expect spectacular views - we had air vents - but our room was comfortable and clean, with tea/coffee facilities, a safe and the usual bathroom bits and hair-dryer. We did find it a little noisy - but around St Patrick's Day that's forgiveable! Bus stops for the 'Hop on - Hop off' touring bus and for the Airport were just outside the front door, which was brilliant. We only had coffee in the main lounge (really good beans) and stopped one morning for Continental Breakfast, which was above average quality and again, the staff were helpful. Check out time was not until noon, which I thought was amazing and the Reception was happy to take our bags if we didn't want to carry them around with us before heading for the airport. I thought it was excellent value for the price we paid and would certainly book again if visiting Dublin.

Room Tip: If you don't want to see hotel vents etc . . . ask for a room pointing out to the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Elaine A

We are delighted to read such fantastic comments about our hotel and we are very thankful that you have shared your review so positively. Our team work very hard in trying to do their utmost, to make all our customers stays in our city and hotel memorable. They offer and informative and efficient check in are at hand to offer any assistance you may have in our city. We are delighted that you availed of our fantastic breakfast buffet also.

We are very thankful for you fantastic five star review. We hope that you will come and stay with us in Dublin City Centre very soon.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean. Room was good for just me, but if I was with a girlfriend or wife it would be way to small. WiFi is adequate. Staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located near the start of the tour bus stops but on the other side of the city from where most of the attractions are.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Nicholas M

Thank you so much for sharing such a great review. We are very encouraged to read that our staff were very friendly and accommodating and thank you for mentioning it. They really love to see great feedback for all the hard work they put in. Thank you.

We are delighted with our city centre accommodation. Being so close to the majority of the major attractions makes us a great choice for anyone wishing to spend time in the city centre. Regarding your room size, all our rooms have all the well appointed amenities and should you wish to have an alternative option we can cater for that too. We have, when available, special upgrade executive rooms at a fantastic price of €19.00 per room where you can enjoy the added comfort and amenities of an superior room.

We hope you would visit us again soon where maybe we could get the chance to thank you for your wonderful comments. Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where me or a member of our team can address your thoughts or comments.

Thanks again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel has nice instalations and comfortable rooms.
Good high speed internet.
However, a very expensive breakfeast for the offer.. Not very fresh food...
The clean was ok.
However I had a unhappy situation.. When I was preparing check out the cleaning women was very stressed and rude because I didn't left the room and she had to clean. This situation was at 12.07. 7 minutes later than the scheduled. Not polite and i didn't like the atitude...

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlvaroAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear AlvaroAndre

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We all love to read guest comments and feedback as it not only helps make us more proactive in our search for great customer service, but gives us an alternative look at how we looked after you during your stay. We review a lot of customer care files in the hotel and thank you for submitting yours. We are very happy that you enjoyed our well appointed rooms and our complimentary high speed internet.

I am sorry that your check out was upsetting for you. We would have loved nothing more than for you to let us know that maybe you were checking out on time or had you requested a later check out we could have of course looked after you with one.

I have handed over the feedback to our accommodation manager who will be more than happy to oversee how your check out was handled.

Overall I am glad to see that you enjoyed our city centre hotel and we do wish you would choose us again in the near future.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do so on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Kind Regard
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If your after location this hotel is a must! The bus stop is right outside the hotel which is perfect to and from the airport. The hop on and off bus also starts from here too, ideal! A 30 second walk around the corner leads you onto the Main Street in Dublin, Oconnel street
The hotel itself is a decent standard and we only paid 142 euros for 2 nights stay which is £117 GNP. We received a free upgrade upon arrival and we're allowed to check in 5 hours early, the reception staff were very friendly throughout the stay advising us on restaurants, buses and trips.
The room itself was standard but had a very comfy bed. The only gripe was the TV was on the wall right at the end of the room and not in the middle, but we were not there to watch TV anyway.
We stayed away from the restaurant as breakfast looked to be very expensive.... A short walk to kylemore on Connell street was a lot cheaper.
Overall a very pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to rebook.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crofty06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Crofty06

Thank your or your review. We are delighted to have looked after your during your time here. You have pointed out so many great things about staying in our hotel and we are very thankful for that. We try our best to make our guest stays very welcoming, informative and as comfortable as possible.

We would love if you pick us in the future should you ever return to Dublin.

If you would like to discuss anything further, you can reach us at wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

As this was my first time visiting Dublin I was looking for a hotel that was in an excellent location, was affordable and immaculately clean. I was not disappointed. Upon arriving the staff were welcoming and checking in was a breeze. Throughout my stay, staff were always on hand to provide excellent tourist tips and answer any questions that I had. The room was a good size and I could not find a speck of dirt! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma-Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Gemma-Alice S

Thank you so much for submitting your review. We love hearing about our guest experience and we are very happy to read your five star comments. Our staff are very friendly and try their utmost to help and assist with all guest queries regarding the hotel and tourist destinations.

We would love if you would choose us again as your city centre hotel of choice.

Should you need anything else please do not hesitate to contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.oe

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

stayed there for one night- small room, overlooking a wall with tubes. no adapter to lend to charge laptop. breakfast not included in the 120 euro a night price. am sure there are better and friendlier deals in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarkar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear sarkar s

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read your comment and that we didn't match your expectations. All our staff here love handling guest queries and do their utmost to help. Had you contacted a member of our team I would not doubt expect them to handle your comments quickly and offer you a solution. Had we known your concerns a member of the team are always at hand to help you and assist you.

I really wish you would give us a second chance should you ever return to Dublin where we will try to impress you with a superior stay. Again thank you for letting us know about your experience. We love to receive and read all feedback here at the hotel.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do so on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,499 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing