We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but Tiny Rooms and Bring Your Earplugs” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location but Tiny Rooms and Bring Your Earplugs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is extremely convenient to the city centre, and the airport city link buses drop off literally right in front of the hotel, but the rooms are TINY- no room for luggage or doing my daily sit ups and the coffee is really crap. My second night they had booked a party in the hotel that blasted music til 2am and no one at the front desk gave a crap that I had a room that I could not sleep in. Would definitely not stay here again :-(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear chefcfp

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted that you choose us as your city centre hotel of choice. We are so convenient as you say for so many interesting things to do in Dublin. Being serviced by the Airlink shuttle buses and having them stop outside our door makes peoples journey so much easier to access our doorstep and Dublin also.

We would love the opportunity of addressing the items you have raised with us here. We have many options available to our guests when they make the steps in booking their room types with us. We have also the added availability in booking our superior executive rooms for only €19.00 also. I would love if you would contact our team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we would love the opportunity in offering you a full follow up on the points you have raised with us.

Thank you for sharing you stay and we do wish we get an opportunity on impressing on you a more superior stay in the future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,626
    1,858
    609
    144
    52
See reviews for
734
1,860
279
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed twice before at the Academy. This time we also stayed on two different occasions. It is very central and we know the area. However this stay we found that the standard had dropped slightly. It is a very busy hotel but we were surprised to walk into breakfast one morning - no staff to take us to our table - so eventually accessed the restaurant and seated ourselves- and we were able to enjoy a full breakfast without anyone checking that we were guest at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Teresa N

Thank you for sharing your review and thank you for returning to us. Our location and comfort are some of the many reasons that people choose to stay with us.

However I am surprised to read about our standards. We have many ongoing methods in keeping many things fresh for our team and our customers. I would love to hear from you and invite you to mail the team here on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we would love the opportunity to address the items raised here. I am glad to see that overall you had a wonderful stay in dublin and our property.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for one night on arrival in Ireland and then returned for 3 nights to enjoy the city. It is a large hotel in the heart of the city and close to transportation, tours, restaurants and pubs. The staff was very friendly and the management seemed to ensure that there were enough people working at the front desk to quick care for large groups upon arrival. We found that everyone working here was very friendly, including the housekeepers who all greet you as they pass you in the hallways.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Randy B

Thank you fro sharing your review with us. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and the care and service our team provides.

We are very thankful that you have mentioned our staff and how friendly and how much they care. Our staff sometimes are overlooked when our guests leave us so many good reviews but we are thankful for the reward of praise you have given them. Thank you.

We would love if you did return to us in the near future should you ever plan on returning to Dublin City Centre again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fantastic location, close to the airbus & hop on & off buses, you can walk to most of the attractions if you want as well. Some tours also depart from around the corner.
We found the room quite small though, very clean but there was hardly any room to store your luggage.
It was also disappointing to have to pay for TV, our internet however worked well though as we had our own devices so we didn't have to pay for access.
Front desk staff were great, they gave us some good advice of what to do, they even helped us carry some of our bags to the car.

Room Tip: If you have any bags you do not need ask if you can store them in the baggage storage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Cheryl P

We are delighted to read your wonderful review. Thank you for sharing your stay and your experience with us.

We are delighted you took full advantage of being in the city centre and you have named many of the reasons why so many people choose to stay with us. Out TV system is not a pay per watch system. I do wish you have contacted the team here where we could have walked through what we offer on the TV system. We have a large number of channels our guests can watch and we do have a pay per view option separate to that. These include many new block buster movies to rent or music channels. However as I say we have many many free to air TV Channels.

Thank you for mentioning our Front Office staff. They work very hard day to day here and always with a smile on their face and really are committed in providing a quality guest experience.

Please contact the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie should you have anything else you wish to share with us.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

this is a just OK hotel in Dublin centre, i wouldn't pay more than 150 EUR for night there, the service was ok and gentle receptionist but the walls are paper thin, so yes, I could hear the people in the hall talking, the neighbors having sex., that is annoying... in terms of location is walking distance to the centre, but on the shady side of O'Conells street, I was advised to be very carefull at night, aside from that, bars, stores, everything is in walking distance

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear paulomb

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your review about our hotel.

Our hotel has been reviewed by many guests and we have had the opportunity to address many situations with our guests. I do wish you and made contact with us during your stay where me or another member of the team could have offered some solution and offer a better stay experience.

We are located right off Upper O Connell Street and I am glad to say city centre too and not like any city centre it come with its great advantages and some would say disadvantages. However I do not consider it to be a shady area as you say. Many many guests are very happy in knowing that they have a great hotel in the city centre and use our property as a base to see what Dublin city has to offer.

However I would like to give a full follow up on your review and invite you to contact the team here on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where I hope you can give me and the team here the benefit of following up on your review.

Thank you in advance and looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just stayed two nights in Dublin at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the location was excellent. On the negative side the rooms are the smallest I have ever seen in the industry and the WIFI in the room did not work. The beds are also not comfortable at all. My friend could feel the mattress springs in his mattress. I am very disapointed they are charging so much for these rooms and would not recommend this hotel especially if you intend on spending any time at all in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear John A

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We have many positives as you have listed her. Our great staff, our wonderful location to name a few. However I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your room experience and our well appointed rooms. We have many options for our guests while making booking choice including the room types you wish to avail of. We have the added option of an upgrade to our executive room when available and all for the price of only €19.00.

We are disappointed to read that you would not return to us. I would love if you would email the team here on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where you could share with us your stay details and allow me a full and thorough follow up with the concerns raised.

Again thank you for stay with us here and we are looking forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was everything we were looking for. The location is great, just off o'connel street, and the airbus drop off and pick up points are just a two minute walk away, so was easy to find. You're within walking distance to most tourist attractions and shops.

Staff we dealt with were all very friendly and attentive, and the room we had, although on the smaller side, was clean and comfortable. The only slight negative we found was the free wifi in the hotel didn't work in our room. Not that we sat in long enough for this to be a major problem, but when trying to look things up we had to go down to the foyer.

Would stay here again though and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Lauren B

Thank you for choosing us as your city centre hotel of choice while in Dublin City Centre. We are equally thrilled with the lovely review you have shared about your stay. We have many many advantages of being right in the city centre and we are delighted you took the time to share them also.

Our friendly and efficient staff do their utmost always at being as attentive they can be to our guests needs and I am glad they were able to assist you during your stay.

Should you need to discuss anything further please do on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing