We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Academy Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cassidys Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,928)
Filter reviews
4,928 results
Traveller rating
1,862
2,129
703
180
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,862
2,129
703
180
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewso'connell streetgreat locationtemple barbar next doorairport bushop on hoptour buseswould stay here againrooms are smallcentral locationstayed here for nightsbuffet breakfastdouble bedtrinity collegecity breakwould highly recommend this hotelvisiting dublin
Filter
Updating list...
2,205 - 2,210 of 4,928 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is extremely convenient to the city centre, and the airport city link buses drop off literally right in front of the hotel, but the rooms are TINY- no room for luggage or doing my daily sit ups and the coffee is really crap. My second night they had booked a party in the hotel that blasted music til 2am and no one at the front desk gave a crap that I had a room that I could not sleep in. Would definitely not stay here again :-(

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear chefcfp

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted that you choose us as your city centre hotel of choice. We are so convenient as you say for so many interesting things to do in Dublin. Being serviced by the Airlink shuttle buses and having them stop outside our door makes peoples journey so much easier to access our doorstep and Dublin also.

We would love the opportunity of addressing the items you have raised with us here. We have many options available to our guests when they make the steps in booking their room types with us. We have also the added availability in booking our superior executive rooms for only €19.00 also. I would love if you would contact our team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we would love the opportunity in offering you a full follow up on the points you have raised with us.

Thank you for sharing you stay and we do wish we get an opportunity on impressing on you a more superior stay in the future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed twice before at the Academy. This time we also stayed on two different occasions. It is very central and we know the area. However this stay we found that the standard had dropped slightly. It is a very busy hotel but we were surprised to walk into breakfast one morning - no staff to take us to our table - so eventually accessed the restaurant and seated ourselves- and we were able to enjoy a full breakfast without anyone checking that we were guest at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Teresa N

Thank you for sharing your review and thank you for returning to us. Our location and comfort are some of the many reasons that people choose to stay with us.

However I am surprised to read about our standards. We have many ongoing methods in keeping many things fresh for our team and our customers. I would love to hear from you and invite you to mail the team here on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we would love the opportunity to address the items raised here. I am glad to see that overall you had a wonderful stay in dublin and our property.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for one night on arrival in Ireland and then returned for 3 nights to enjoy the city. It is a large hotel in the heart of the city and close to transportation, tours, restaurants and pubs. The staff was very friendly and the management seemed to ensure that there were enough people working at the front desk to quick care for large groups upon arrival. We found that everyone working here was very friendly, including the housekeepers who all greet you as they pass you in the hallways.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Randy B

Thank you fro sharing your review with us. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and the care and service our team provides.

We are very thankful that you have mentioned our staff and how friendly and how much they care. Our staff sometimes are overlooked when our guests leave us so many good reviews but we are thankful for the reward of praise you have given them. Thank you.

We would love if you did return to us in the near future should you ever plan on returning to Dublin City Centre again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fantastic location, close to the airbus & hop on & off buses, you can walk to most of the attractions if you want as well. Some tours also depart from around the corner.
We found the room quite small though, very clean but there was hardly any room to store your luggage.
It was also disappointing to have to pay for TV, our internet however worked well though as we had our own devices so we didn't have to pay for access.
Front desk staff were great, they gave us some good advice of what to do, they even helped us carry some of our bags to the car.

Room Tip: If you have any bags you do not need ask if you can store them in the baggage storage room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Cheryl P

We are delighted to read your wonderful review. Thank you for sharing your stay and your experience with us.

We are delighted you took full advantage of being in the city centre and you have named many of the reasons why so many people choose to stay with us. Out TV system is not a pay per watch system. I do wish you have contacted the team here where we could have walked through what we offer on the TV system. We have a large number of channels our guests can watch and we do have a pay per view option separate to that. These include many new block buster movies to rent or music channels. However as I say we have many many free to air TV Channels.

Thank you for mentioning our Front Office staff. They work very hard day to day here and always with a smile on their face and really are committed in providing a quality guest experience.

Please contact the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie should you have anything else you wish to share with us.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

this is a just OK hotel in Dublin centre, i wouldn't pay more than 150 EUR for night there, the service was ok and gentle receptionist but the walls are paper thin, so yes, I could hear the people in the hall talking, the neighbors having sex., that is annoying... in terms of location is walking distance to the centre, but on the shady side of O'Conells street, I was advised to be very carefull at night, aside from that, bars, stores, everything is in walking distance

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear paulomb

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your review about our hotel.

Our hotel has been reviewed by many guests and we have had the opportunity to address many situations with our guests. I do wish you and made contact with us during your stay where me or another member of the team could have offered some solution and offer a better stay experience.

We are located right off Upper O Connell Street and I am glad to say city centre too and not like any city centre it come with its great advantages and some would say disadvantages. However I do not consider it to be a shady area as you say. Many many guests are very happy in knowing that they have a great hotel in the city centre and use our property as a base to see what Dublin city has to offer.

However I would like to give a full follow up on your review and invite you to contact the team here on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where I hope you can give me and the team here the benefit of following up on your review.

Thank you in advance and looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews