We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,100)
Filter reviews
5,100 results
Traveller rating
1,926
2,189
737
190
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,926
2,189
737
190
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewso'connell streetgreat locationtemple barairport busbar next doorhop on hopwithin walking distancetour busesrooms are smallwould stay here againstayed here for nightscentral locationbuffet breakfastdouble roomtrinity collegewould highly recommend this hotelvisiting dublin
Filter
Updating list...
2,266 - 2,271 of 5,100 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel- which looks like new- is centrally located and easy to reach by the Air Link Coach which stops just outside the front door. City tour buses also conveniently drop off and pick up right in front of the hotel. Wifi is free but breakfast is not so we opted to walk around the corner where we had a nice breakfast for much less than what the hotel charged. There are many shops and places to eat within steps of the hotel.

We found the whole place to be very clean and well appointed. The lobby is fresh and modern. The rooms were a little dark when you first enter but not at all dingy...more like cozy....and there were ample lamps that brightened the room as soon as they were switched on. The bathroom was nice sized, modern and fully stocked.The beds very comfortable. The elevators and hallways spotless.

The staff was friendly and we were allowed to check into our rooms early which was very helpful as we only had one day in Dublin and wanted to get settled quickly in order to start sightseeing. And by the way, many tourist attractions are within walking distance of this hotel.

I will stay here again if ever back in Dublin.
PS
Be sure to bring a wash cloth as this hotel- like most in Ireland- does not provide one, although there were plenty of plush towels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear D J

Thank you for sharing you review with us. We are so thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and Dublin city. We are even more encouraged to read that you would return to us in the near future and we hope you do. We could possibly thank you in person for the wonderful comments you have left for us on your arrival back with us.

Yes many of the reasons pick us as a base to explore dublin city is because of the convenience of our location, Also the Airlink 747 bus stopping outside our door along with being the Number 1 Stop for the Dublin city bus tour is a great plus for us.

Thank you again for you wonderful comments and should you wish to discuss anything further please do so by mailing the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The good points: great central location with plenty of bars and places to eat within walking distance. The airport bus stops right outside the hotel. Clean and staff were really helpful.

Negatives: double room we had was quite small and dark. Small window faced internal roof and you can hear ventilation system through the night as others have said. TV was on a wall to the side of the bed so you couldn't watch tv laying in bed.

We got a good deal and I'd stay again for a short time at the same price. If you were staying longer than just a couple of nights you may want to consider other hotels if you're intending to spend a lot of time in the room

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alf1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Alf1606

Thank you for you review with us and that you for choosing us as your city centre hotel of choice. we are very please you did enjoy your star with us. Our clean friendly and well located hotel is a great place to explore the city from.

We would love if you would contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we can address the items you have shared about your room experience. I would love the opportunity to explore your stay experience and offer you some closure and restore your faith in our product and service.

Thank you again for sharing your review.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is placed perfectly in the city centre where you can walk 30 steps and grab a ride on the hop on hop off tours. If walking is your thing, it is around many things you would like to see. The staff is friendly and helpful. The reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because the wifi has poor connection and the maid never gave us toilet paper. Towards the end of our stay it was becoming a desperate situation lol.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent position for Central Dublin. The room was spacious & comfortable, the staff were friendly & most helpful. The food was well presented & plentiful. We will always use this hotel when visiting Dublin & would highly recommend it to anyone considering a visit to the city. Liam & Kathleen Quinn, Carlow.

Room Tip: Higher floors, have less traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathleen q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is just off the famous O'Connell street in the center of Dublin, really easy to find and very friendly staff and the price was really good as cost us for 2 night weekend stay with buffet breakfast £253 and we ate there one evening and the price was very reasonable. If you fly to Dublin Airport you can catch the Bus (no 747) which is 10 Euro return and drops you about 2 mins from Hotel and the Bus runs every 10 mins..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mickcrowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews