We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent deal in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
PARRSBORO
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent deal in Dublin”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked for 2 nights before leaving Canada, so we would have somewhere to meet up with our daughter who was coming from London. Hotel was clean, staff was accommodating and price was a good value. Restaurant breakfast was below average but was opened at 7 so was a good way to start out early each day. If you are arriving early in the morning, hotel staff will store your luggage securely for you, so you are free to start exploring without baggage. Walking distance for most landmarks and close to the "hop on hop off" bus stops so, getting around is quite easy. Airport bus drops right across the street from the hotel. Really no need for a car rental in Dublin when staying at the Academy Plaza Best Western.

Room Tip: Triple room was perfect for traveling with one of our adult children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear CRMilligan

Thank you for sharing your review and stay experience with us. Your comments are very important to us and we are glad you took the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay.

Our clean, well appointed and well located hotel is a great place for guests to explore Dublin city from. We are thrilled with the comments you have mentioned and we are glad to read that you found good value with us and we matched your expectations. The hop on hop off city bus tour and Airport shuttle 747 bus leaving outside our door are wonderful bonus' to staying with us. I am disappointed to read you didn't enjoy our breakfast service. We run a very busy breakfast service with a lot of variety on offer. Many of our guests enjoy the Buffet breakfast as they can really fill up and kick start the day. Maybe you would like to contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we could hopefully identify where we could have improved it for you.

Thank you again for the fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Mangager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    1,953
    633
    152
    53
See reviews for
766
1,936
296
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel- which looks like new- is centrally located and easy to reach by the Air Link Coach which stops just outside the front door. City tour buses also conveniently drop off and pick up right in front of the hotel. Wifi is free but breakfast is not so we opted to walk around the corner where we had a nice breakfast for much less than what the hotel charged. There are many shops and places to eat within steps of the hotel.

We found the whole place to be very clean and well appointed. The lobby is fresh and modern. The rooms were a little dark when you first enter but not at all dingy...more like cozy....and there were ample lamps that brightened the room as soon as they were switched on. The bathroom was nice sized, modern and fully stocked.The beds very comfortable. The elevators and hallways spotless.

The staff was friendly and we were allowed to check into our rooms early which was very helpful as we only had one day in Dublin and wanted to get settled quickly in order to start sightseeing. And by the way, many tourist attractions are within walking distance of this hotel.

I will stay here again if ever back in Dublin.
PS
Be sure to bring a wash cloth as this hotel- like most in Ireland- does not provide one, although there were plenty of plush towels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear D J

Thank you for sharing you review with us. We are so thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and Dublin city. We are even more encouraged to read that you would return to us in the near future and we hope you do. We could possibly thank you in person for the wonderful comments you have left for us on your arrival back with us.

Yes many of the reasons pick us as a base to explore dublin city is because of the convenience of our location, Also the Airlink 747 bus stopping outside our door along with being the Number 1 Stop for the Dublin city bus tour is a great plus for us.

Thank you again for you wonderful comments and should you wish to discuss anything further please do so by mailing the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The good points: great central location with plenty of bars and places to eat within walking distance. The airport bus stops right outside the hotel. Clean and staff were really helpful.

Negatives: double room we had was quite small and dark. Small window faced internal roof and you can hear ventilation system through the night as others have said. TV was on a wall to the side of the bed so you couldn't watch tv laying in bed.

We got a good deal and I'd stay again for a short time at the same price. If you were staying longer than just a couple of nights you may want to consider other hotels if you're intending to spend a lot of time in the room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Alf1606

Thank you for you review with us and that you for choosing us as your city centre hotel of choice. we are very please you did enjoy your star with us. Our clean friendly and well located hotel is a great place to explore the city from.

We would love if you would contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we can address the items you have shared about your room experience. I would love the opportunity to explore your stay experience and offer you some closure and restore your faith in our product and service.

Thank you again for sharing your review.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is placed perfectly in the city centre where you can walk 30 steps and grab a ride on the hop on hop off tours. If walking is your thing, it is around many things you would like to see. The staff is friendly and helpful. The reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because the wifi has poor connection and the maid never gave us toilet paper. Towards the end of our stay it was becoming a desperate situation lol.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent position for Central Dublin. The room was spacious & comfortable, the staff were friendly & most helpful. The food was well presented & plentiful. We will always use this hotel when visiting Dublin & would highly recommend it to anyone considering a visit to the city. Liam & Kathleen Quinn, Carlow.

Room Tip: Higher floors, have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is just off the famous O'Connell street in the center of Dublin, really easy to find and very friendly staff and the price was really good as cost us for 2 night weekend stay with buffet breakfast £253 and we ate there one evening and the price was very reasonable. If you fly to Dublin Airport you can catch the Bus (no 747) which is 10 Euro return and drops you about 2 mins from Hotel and the Bus runs every 10 mins..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickcrowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice on my last trip - on the day I landed in Dublin (before moving onto other cities) and two nights before my flight left back to the US.

The location was excellent, the rooms were very nice, spacious and relaxing with very nice bathrooms. The hotel staff was also great - despite minimal interaction the first time I visited, they actually remembered me when I returned two weeks later.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,505 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing