We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place located in Center of Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The lobby is very nice. The staff are excellent, friendly, and very helpful. The service in the restaurant/bar is quick and friendly. Our room was not big enough to comfortable accommodate 2 adults and luggage for 3 weeks in Europe, but it was a very nice room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank corkyg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear corkyg02

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our newly refurbished lobby and bar.

Our rooms are well appointed and convenient for each guest, however should you wish to avail of a larger alternative, we have on request the ability to upgrade you to our superior executive rooms for only €19.00.

Thank you again for you wonderful comments and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,018 - 2,024 of 4,744 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Good hotel in centre of Dublin, Nice people and good full breakfast. Just a half hour from the AirPort. You can walk through dublin from this hotel. Free WiFi included, room was Nice and clean. I Will come back

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marjolein P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Marjolein P

We are delighted to read such a wonderful review. We all take great pride in providing a comfortable stay with a friendly and helpful service.

Our Wifi, well appointed rooms and great service along with our superb location makes us an ideal choice to base yourself in Dublin City Centre and to explore what Dublin has to offer.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we're in Dublin. The location is great and you're close to everything. The staff is helpful and friendly. They also offer gluten free bread for breakfast. My only complaint this time was the noise at night time. Because of the heat we needed to have the windows open, and there were so much noise that we had problems going to sleep. Never had this problem before though at this hotel, so probably just had to do with the location of the room. But I would highly recommend staying at this hotel, and we will most definitely stay here next time we're in Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MV309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear MV309

Thank you for you wonderful review. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff very helpful and friendly. It is wonderful to read that you have stayed here before and more encouragingly you would return to us again. It is a wonderful commendation to read that guests love returning to us. Thank you for sharing it.

Due to TripAdvisors anonymous nature I cannot fully see you name or research your stay details but I would love if you would contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we could hopefully investigate the problem with the noise and offer you some insight as to what happened. Also we could thank you personally on your return for you kind comments.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked for 2 nights before leaving Canada, so we would have somewhere to meet up with our daughter who was coming from London. Hotel was clean, staff was accommodating and price was a good value. Restaurant breakfast was below average but was opened at 7 so was a good way to start out early each day. If you are arriving early in the morning, hotel staff will store your luggage securely for you, so you are free to start exploring without baggage. Walking distance for most landmarks and close to the "hop on hop off" bus stops so, getting around is quite easy. Airport bus drops right across the street from the hotel. Really no need for a car rental in Dublin when staying at the Academy Plaza Best Western.

Room Tip: Triple room was perfect for traveling with one of our adult children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CRMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear CRMilligan

Thank you for sharing your review and stay experience with us. Your comments are very important to us and we are glad you took the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay.

Our clean, well appointed and well located hotel is a great place for guests to explore Dublin city from. We are thrilled with the comments you have mentioned and we are glad to read that you found good value with us and we matched your expectations. The hop on hop off city bus tour and Airport shuttle 747 bus leaving outside our door are wonderful bonus' to staying with us. I am disappointed to read you didn't enjoy our breakfast service. We run a very busy breakfast service with a lot of variety on offer. Many of our guests enjoy the Buffet breakfast as they can really fill up and kick start the day. Maybe you would like to contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we could hopefully identify where we could have improved it for you.

Thank you again for the fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Mangager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel- which looks like new- is centrally located and easy to reach by the Air Link Coach which stops just outside the front door. City tour buses also conveniently drop off and pick up right in front of the hotel. Wifi is free but breakfast is not so we opted to walk around the corner where we had a nice breakfast for much less than what the hotel charged. There are many shops and places to eat within steps of the hotel.

We found the whole place to be very clean and well appointed. The lobby is fresh and modern. The rooms were a little dark when you first enter but not at all dingy...more like cozy....and there were ample lamps that brightened the room as soon as they were switched on. The bathroom was nice sized, modern and fully stocked.The beds very comfortable. The elevators and hallways spotless.

The staff was friendly and we were allowed to check into our rooms early which was very helpful as we only had one day in Dublin and wanted to get settled quickly in order to start sightseeing. And by the way, many tourist attractions are within walking distance of this hotel.

I will stay here again if ever back in Dublin.
PS
Be sure to bring a wash cloth as this hotel- like most in Ireland- does not provide one, although there were plenty of plush towels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear D J

Thank you for sharing you review with us. We are so thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and Dublin city. We are even more encouraged to read that you would return to us in the near future and we hope you do. We could possibly thank you in person for the wonderful comments you have left for us on your arrival back with us.

Yes many of the reasons pick us as a base to explore dublin city is because of the convenience of our location, Also the Airlink 747 bus stopping outside our door along with being the Number 1 Stop for the Dublin city bus tour is a great plus for us.

Thank you again for you wonderful comments and should you wish to discuss anything further please do so by mailing the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The good points: great central location with plenty of bars and places to eat within walking distance. The airport bus stops right outside the hotel. Clean and staff were really helpful.

Negatives: double room we had was quite small and dark. Small window faced internal roof and you can hear ventilation system through the night as others have said. TV was on a wall to the side of the bed so you couldn't watch tv laying in bed.

We got a good deal and I'd stay again for a short time at the same price. If you were staying longer than just a couple of nights you may want to consider other hotels if you're intending to spend a lot of time in the room

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alf1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Alf1606

Thank you for you review with us and that you for choosing us as your city centre hotel of choice. we are very please you did enjoy your star with us. Our clean friendly and well located hotel is a great place to explore the city from.

We would love if you would contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we can address the items you have shared about your room experience. I would love the opportunity to explore your stay experience and offer you some closure and restore your faith in our product and service.

Thank you again for sharing your review.

Best Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is placed perfectly in the city centre where you can walk 30 steps and grab a ride on the hop on hop off tours. If walking is your thing, it is around many things you would like to see. The staff is friendly and helpful. The reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because the wifi has poor connection and the maid never gave us toilet paper. Towards the end of our stay it was becoming a desperate situation lol.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
2,693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £57 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing