We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel in a brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Me & my partner stayed here for a couple of nights in December 2013 for a break to see Dublin and its attractions at christmas time. The hotel was perfect! Clean, quiet & up to date.
Its location is in the city centre with lots of bars, restaurants & shops nearby and also there is a tourist centre a couple of hundred yards away which was very handy for help :)
I would definitely stay here again when visiting Dublin. 10/10!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,010 - 2,016 of 4,744 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel very clean and safely.
Located 100 meters from O'Connell Street and 10 minutes walk to Trinity College, Temple Bar, Grafton Street, etc. Near a big Tesco and several small Spar plus various fast food where you spend much less than in pubs and restaurants.
Spacious room with double bed and a sofa bed for our daughter. The double bed was actually two single beds pushed together which made her so big, but with an uncomfortable area at the junction of the two mattresses. This was not a problem but at least it would be better to use two identical mattresses to minimize the effect.
Air conditioning and in-room safe.
Spacious bathroom with tub.
Window soundproof very useful and efficient because there is a pub near the hotel and very busy during the games of the World Cup.
The only thing we really miss was a fridge.
The hotel only not takes 5 stars due to Wifi. It's free and works well in the common area of ​​the hotel, but specifically to our room 613 (the last room down the hall) he stopped working soon after passing the bedroom door. We complained at reception on the first night and one person was sent to reset the router and it worked fine on the first night. But the next morning again did not work. We went back to complain at reception and this time the router has been replaced. We had a little better condition since the signal could now be captured until the bathroom door. As always we left the hotel very early and we came back only at night we stopped complaining about the Wifi signal for reception. But my daughter spent the nights sitting by the door to catch the best signal before going to bed to sleep.
To sum up, we can say that we had a good experience in the 7 nights we spent at the Academy Plaza Hotel and would go back to staying here on a new visit to the wonderful Ireland.

Room Tip: If you are traveling to stay in using internet in the room, avoid rooms at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GibaSPBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location and close to the sites. The double bed was made up of two single ones that kept separating during the night leaving me with a big gap in the bed. On the first floor and it was noisy at night. There was also a constant buzzing from something outside the window. Bareable with the window shut but way to loud with it open. Bathroom was small but had everything in it. Shame about the cracked tile though. Didn't eat breakfast as expensive.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Clairew79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very good location, lots of places to eat with great food. Very close to tourism offices where you can take day tours. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small but very clean and cozy. We needed to catch a international flight in the morning and the staff booked us a cab in the which was very helpful as they checked us out before we got down stairs to get the cab! We were at this hotel for 3 nights and recommend to all who are there to explore Dublin and Ireland.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cormierducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Rooms are small, but cozy and clean. The bathroom floor was really cold. Staff could be more polite and friendly. A good choice for a weekend break. Probably one of the cheapest hotels in this location.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CecilieA503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Based on the reviews I booked 4 nights in this hotel last week. Worst hotel experience in years (out of a few hundred). The noise was beyond anything I ever experienced, jaw-dropping. Not just the loud music and shouting from the bar next door, way past midnight. But mostly other guest in this cardboard hotel and the rollercoaster of noise the roomcleaning team made from early in the morning. I got max 5 hrs of sleep a night.
The room was small, but the bathroom was a matchbox. It was impossible to shower without flooding it, and shaving was quite a task without a light over the sink.
Wifi signal was unavailable most of the time and when it worked it was at the speed of a 56k modem.
I had some clothes turned in for laundry. When I got in my next hotel I noticed they were just folded, still dirty and stained.
When I left I got a "Yea, chick ut?" and that was it. No "Good morning", "Did you have a good stay", "Have a nice day". They left the bill on the counter and continued chatting and texting.
Youth hostels have better facilities. 30 euro motel rooms are better. This was a rip off. Disgusting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 503wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear 503wander

Thank you so much for you feedback. We love hearing about feedback and especially on areas that we can improve on. Negative feedback can more often than not be a gift for us and we do enjoy putting these matters right.

We are disappointed to read your comments. We are thankful that you have taken the time to review us and we would love if you would contact us directly so maybe we can offer you some closure. Due to the nature of TripAdvisor, it is anonymous and we cannot fully see your name or reservation to give you the benefit of a full and clear investigation into this.

Please email the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we can hopefully review your comments and restore some faith into our product and service.

Thank you again for getting back to us.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in July 2013. There is a great bus that takes you from the airport directly to a bus stop outside this hotel for only €6 each!

Room was a good size and very clean. Great location near all the main transport links and really good location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah12052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sarah12052014

Thank you for submitting your review with us. The whole team are delighted with your kind comments and thank you for sharing it.

Our location, staff and being so conveniently looted to many of the sights in Dublin we are a natural choice for those looking for a great base in the city. We would love if you would choose us as your city centre hotel of choice in the near future.

Should you have any queries or questions please mail the team on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Thanks again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
2,691 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £56 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing