We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this hotel is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #47 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“this hotel is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

this is a great little location ... an earlier contributer wrote there was a bedbug here ... I can't imagine it ... this hotel is clean and well taken care of ... we enjoyed our one night here and management was friendly and helpful. Location is great for getting around the city. Large new bathrooms were a plus.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texastravlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    1,894
    618
    147
    53
See reviews for
744
1,891
285
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

I always read a lot of trip advisor reviews before booking a hotel, as well as check the website thoroughly. For all it's emphasis on being one of only a handful of *premier* Best Western's in the world, I was expecting something more impressive/streamlined.

Pro's
* The rooms were clean and nicely decorated
* The location was excellent
* The price was very reasonable
* The bed was lovely and soft
* Internet in the lobby was useful... but connection was sporadic

Con's
* The toiletries are really poor!.. Just a "hair and body wash" dispenser in the shower. I really wish I had packed my own
* The shower was not power shower... fine, not a deal breaker, but still very average
* The rooms are small
* The view of concrete not too inspiring.. nor the 24/7 generator noise.
* Went for a nosy around and the "games room" is empty apart from some coat hangers.

I would stay here again... but wouldn't get too excited about it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schiocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Booked this hotel wanting comfort and good location. Not dissapointed. Room clean and good breakfast. Great location just off O'Connell Street. Hop on hop off bus just across the road from hotel. Our room over looked a bar whose noise went on into the early hours. But it wouldn't put me off staying again. Didn't book to go to Dublin and expect peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

My husband and I visited Dublin during the first week of June. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL weather during our vacation (aka Holiday as the Irish call it!). Average high temperature was around 62 degrees Fahrenheit, with nighttime temperatures in the 40's. A wonderful break from the high 90 degrees we have in Memphis!

We stayed at this hotel June 2 and June 3. The rooms were small, however this is to be expected with most European hotels. Think of the hotel room size as equivilent to a New York City hotel room. The rooms were clean, fresh smelling and overall a nice remodel job.

The air conditioner worked ok, however simply did not cool the room off enough at night. The lowest setting on the climate control is 19 degrees Celcius (66 degrees Fahrenheit) - not near cool enough considering the outside temperature.

Our room was on the back side of the hotel, that overlooked the courtyard where the bars are, and I can certainly attest to the fact it is very loud. Due to the noise we were unable to leave the window open, so our room got rather stuffy during the night. On our second night, we slept with earplugs in so the window could be left open.

We decided upon check-in to pre-pay for the breakfast buffett for our two mornings at the hotel. I must say, I was highly disappointed with breakfast. We never received good service, it was ok at best, and the food was not very appealing. Overall, in my opinion, the breakfast is incredibly expensive (10 Euros or $15.00) for what you get and I would not recommend it. We saw several local eateries with boards out front advertising a Full Irish breakfast served all day for 7 Euros ($10.50).

The hotel, along with most of Ireland uses white pepper...so be ware if you are not familiar or do not like the taste. On our first morning, I sprinkled a heavy amount of pepper on my eggs...big mistake!!!! My plate smelled like a barnyard and I was unable to eat the eggs. I ended up eating sausage, toast and yogurt. Certainly not worth the price we paid.

The hotel staff were extremely nice, polite and most helpful. We barely made our connecting flight in Philadelphia, so our luggage did not arrive with us. It came one day later...and the hotel staff was absolutely wonderful. We notified them of the luggage delay and upon our return to our room, we found our luggage had been placed in the room for us.

Check in and check out were very smooth and hassle free. Upon check-out, we requested a taxi to drive us to Connolly Station, in order to catch our train to Belfast. We waited MAYBE 5 minutes. I was super impressed and would certainly stay in this hotel again.

The location is absolutely excellent. Literally just around the corner from O'Connoll Street. Plenty of eateries, souvenier shops, and quick stop markets within walking distance.

Overall...I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valkys1, Eric Valkys - Revenue Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2009
Dear CHAdams,
Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Dublin!! We will pass on all the kind words about the reception staff to our team tomorrow in our weekly hotel meeting. Just to let ya know, the weather has gotten EVEN BETTER here in Dublin so it gets too hot down there in TN this summer, hurry back, ya hear!!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Really enjoyed the location of this hotel. You can see the hotel from the airport shuttle stop on O'Connell. Additionally, bus tours for touring outside the city pick up on O'Connell very near the hotel as well as Dublin Hop On - Hop Off Bus Tours. There is also a tourist office on O'Connell. Additionally, a 10 minute walk on O'Connell brings you to the Temple Bar area. Would stay here again for sure. It was odd that a 4-Star property did not have the essential amenities in the standard room. So, it was good we had our own.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valkys1, Eric Valkys - Revenue Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2009
Dear GMP01,
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we agree, our location is ideal to see all Dublin's biggest attractions. We do keep many additional amendities at reception and in our housekeeping office and they are always just a phone call away! Hope your flight home to LA was as smooth as your stay with us here at the hotel!! Enjoy your summer and thanks for leaving alittle bit of that LA sunshine behind here in Dublin, another wonderful weekend here on the Emerald Isle

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

We stayed four nights and had no complaints.
PROS:
Modern, clean room with nice flatscreen TV
Very quiet (our room was second floor, back of hotel facing an alley and another building).
Great city location (not on a busy street, but close to the city center and bus & train station)
Free internet (but not always easy to get on one of the two open computers)
CONS:
Staff was very business-like. Would have been nice if they were a bit more cheery/helpful.
Small room (but adequate for our needs)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel with my sister for one night, it is in a great location for shopping, just off O'Connell street, we used their subsidised parking in the Q carpark accross the road, very convienent and good value at 12.50 for 24 hours. The rooms were small but very clean with two single beds, there was no bath just a shower. We had asked for a quiet room and we got a very quiet room for the center of Dublin and had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was a buffet, pretty standard.
Overall this was a comfortable, clean, convienent hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoggey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valkys1, Eric Valkys - Revenue Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2009
Dear Hoggey,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel!! So glad you had a fantastic night's sleep and we look forward to welcoming you back later this summer as Cork push deep into the GAA playoffs here in Dublin!!

Cheers,

Eric H Valkys
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing