We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This hotel is clean and modern and situated just around the corner from were AirCoach drop you in Upper O'Connell Street. In addition, the green hop on/hop off buses actually start and stop from across the road. Apart from that Busaras and Connolly Station are within 15/20 mins walk.

I had asked for a quiet room (but I think the hotel is generally in a quiet road), and was given one overlooking a small courtyard which was perfect. I liked everything about the hotel except - and it's a very small exception - the hairdryer in the bathroom which is one of those hotel-type mounted ones that makes hair styling difficult. I'm average female height and if you were any smaller than me, you would find it difficult to manage with this.

Excellent hotel and I would definitely stay there again. I was woken up once in my 2-night stay, but it was (cough) just someone enjoying herself rather too much. Not the fault of the hotel. In general noise levels were fine with little corridor noise.

I particularly liked the decor in the room as well - an African theme with 'leopard' fabric on one chair and the bed headboard in 'ostrich' type fabric and good thick interlined curtains and a fair-size TV. The room and bathroom were a good size and I was very pleased with the whole thing.

Going back towards the Spire/Liffey there is a vast shopping centre off O'Connell and a Tesco Express in Parnell St. Also a Lidl fairly close, so you can get some food for a cheaper breakfast or supper from there (as Dublin is hugely expensive).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agapanthus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,576)
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,213 - 3,219 of 4,577 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

A friend and I spent two nights at this Best Western. We chose the hotel based on an excellent internet rate and the location in the city center.

The hotel is a rather large hotel that caters to tourists. We had a room with two beds and the room was a good size by European standards. The room was clean and stocked with the necessities. Free wi-fi is provided and the beds were quite comfortable.

The location is good, right in the center of Dublin. The buses to and from the airport stop just outside, and the hotel is easily walkable to all Dublin attractions such as Temple Bar, Trinity College, and Grafton Street (each were around a 10 minute walk). O'Connell street itself doesn't have a lot other than fast food restaurants, but it's a quick walk to shopping and good restaurants.

My only complaint with the hotel relates to the service. There were always lines at the reception to ask questions, and service was not very attentive. For instance, the electrical sockets in our room did not have power, and we had to make multiple calls in order for our requests to be taken seriously. Part of the issue may be that the hotel was very busy, and as a big tourist hotel there was just always a lot going on.

I would stay here again if I needed to travel to Dublin, based on the good location and excellent rates. This was a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cougrz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Best Western does not conjure up a 5 star in the US but this was a hotel that clearly exceeded expectations, was a very clean, very modern hotel in a great location in Dublin. We liked the easy (yet somewhat unfriendly checki-n) a room w/ two single comfortable beds , ultra clean bathroom, very cool key card turn-on for AC and lights, a modern TV, FREE wireless, at a bvery good sub-100 euro price... need I say more.

Located right off O'Connell street by the 'Spire" cabs were everywhere, plenty of good restaurants, 10 minute walk to Temple Bar but also several good bars w/ music within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. QUIET as it was on a side street away from O'Connell, bikes for rent right out front, did not go for the all you can eat breakfast in the hotel and heard from other guests it was just OK, mediocre restaurant references from the front desk which we did not end up using, great checkout, tour buses 1st stop literally across the street, asked for a room NOT over the beer garden and it turned out to be a very good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Chose this hotel for our four nights in Dublin after reading Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Bus from airport drops you off a block away and Hop On, Hop Off tour bus is across the street. We arrived early (10 a.m.) after overnight flight and room was avallable which was wonderful. We walked everywhere and this makes the location even better. We too skipped their breakfast and grabbed stuff around the corner at a bakery. Rooms were small but clean and bathroom was well lit and clean as well. Need room key to activate electricity in room. We asked for face clothes (wash cloths) and two were delivered - next day we asked for two more but they were all out. I suggest you pack a few extra wash cloths as several places we stayed during our two week trip didn't have them. Pub next door is very popular with the young crowd, but only one night (world cup soccer finals) did they make enough noise to bother us. Free use of computers in lobby was nice touch. We'd stay here again if visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trackandcccoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We chose the hotel because Trip Advisor reviews indicated it was a hotel that was in a quiet street but in the city centre. It totally fitted the bill and we were delighted with the hotel.

We did note that many reviews said the breakfast was not good, so we did not book breakfast at the time of booking. However, because when we checked in and were told that there was a special offer on breakfast if we booked in advance – it was nearly €5.0 cheaper per person, at €9.90 – so I booked it. This was a mistake as the breakfast really was poor. There was very limited choice and obviously the bread and croissants had been taken out of the freezer and they tasted like cardboard. We only ate breakfast in the hotel on one occasion. Just around the corner there are a number of restaurants where you can get a really nice breakfast for around €8.0 and we recommend a nice small restaurant called La Pizza – which is also good for dinner and recently priced.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I spent two nights at this hotel which is very conveniently located in the center of the town, right next to main shopping streeets and the bus stop to the airport.The room was very well furnished, a bit small however with a window that couldn't be opened fully. What really bothered me was the smell from the chinese restaurant right below my room.This smell was also on the whole first floor-even in the lifts.
Staff was very nice and helpful and thus I enjoyed my stay. The price was a very good offer indeed.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
Thank mesba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I was very happy with our stay at the Best Western Premier Academy. We picked this property because of its close proximity to the Temple Bar District and hoped to have a clean, quiet, comfortable room since we were just coming in from the States and would need to recover from jet lag. The hotel met or exceeded all of our expectations with a VERY quiet room, that was very clean with very comfortable beds. It was a short, easy walk to the Temple Bar district and located just off one of the main streets, O'Connell St. The hotel accomodated us with a very early check-in, even upgrading us to a little larger room. The room wasn't all that big, after all, it is Europe, but it was big enough to be comfortable.

One word of caution. Apparently, Best Western only recently acquired the property and the taxi drivers are not familiar with the Best Western name, so be sure to refer to it as the "Academy Plaza" and tell them it is very near the spire on O'Connell Street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,589 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £64 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is a family run business located in the heart of Dublin. Just off O'Connell street it is well connected to all means of transportation and a walking distance from Temple Bar, Croke park, business district as well as Dublin business convention centre. Our hotel has 304 newly refurbished bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms as well as a number of accessible rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, a fitness room and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. Our friendly staff provides excellent guest service with genuine friendliness and integrity so weather you re visiting for leisure or business it is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing