We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous - but a nice night porter”
Review of Maple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maple Hotel
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrendous - but a nice night porter”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

To be fair, the location isn't too bad, especially if you're going to the O2 which is only about a 15 minute walk away. But the reception staff are cold and unwelcoming. The rooms are up several flights of stairs - no lift. Our room on the top floor was old, cramped and you can see straight across the street into other people's bedrooms. The décor was...basic bordering on decrepit. It was hostel standard but not hostel prices. Hot water was temperamental. The night porter was a decent sort though.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    139
    137
    86
    86
See reviews for
67
196
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We arrived early (1000) and check-in is 1400 but it wasn't a problem to leave luggage, we used this hotel as a base to explore the city centre, good location 10 minute walk to Temple Bar. Friendly staff,very helpful. A budget hotel but very clean, towels changed daily,linen clean and new, hot water not always available, being an old building the floorboards creek and you can tell where the people above you are in their room, we were in room 22 ground floor at the front and the traffic noise was a problem, windows rattled (double or secondary glazing needed).although I wouldn't recommend this hotel (traffic noise) I wouldn't tell anyone not to use it just ask for a room away from the front. A pleasant introduction to the City of Dublin, a city I will return to next year.
slainte.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is away from the front of the building (traffic noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nice central location, but did feel a bit unsafe walking back later at night, friendly staff. Particularly the guy in the bar. Most of the staff spoke good English. The reception area was very nice

But I have to say.....

Our room ( number 38) was awful..... It was in the back building in the garden past the conservatory. The room smelt of drains and tha bathroom was old, mouldy, dated and filthy! Needed ripping out and re doing. The windows have bars on them, which in my opinion is scarey in itself and why do you need bars? And also from a fire point of view against health and safety surely? On the plus side we had nice comfy beds and clean towels everyday..... The breakfast was ok, But they didn't really cater for the vegetarian. The cooked vegetarian option was the Irish breakfast without the sausage and bacon. The continental was toast or cereal.

Next time I would pay a bit more and stay in different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmitemini23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Saint-Malo, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Staff is friendly. Room are basic but in line with what you pay.
Breakfast is good.
Really close to the station and city center, it is a quite good hotel if you are not looking for a lot of confort. Being the hotel close to the main road, it can be noisy due to the traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaetanoR936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel was very reasonably priced and was clean. It is close enough to walk to the main attractions and it feels safe. The front desk folks, especially Tanvir, were very helpful and nice. I would stay here again when I come back to Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankel1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were based of the top floor which was very tiring dragging your suitcase up 6 flights of stairs. My room was very outdated from the TV to the bathroom suite. It was in a good location and I wouldsay this is a B&B rather than a hotel. Hopefully when you book you will get the refurbished room which is what my friends had.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzing19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Close to the centre of the city, it was a great place, perfect for our three-night trip. The bus from the airport stops just in front of the hotel, that is very easy to find.

The rate was 39 EUR w/breakfast per night the hotel staff were so kind to give us a room even before the usual check-in time. Our room was on the second floor without lift, but it was not a problem at all. The room was absolutely clean and even if it faced the street, it wasn't very noisy. The only uncomfortable thing was the lack of a baggage rack and no other place where to put your baggage, except the floor.

The breakfast was good: there was the choice between Continental and Irish ones. Despite the juice was very watery, the overall was more than acceptable.

The neighbourhood is totally safe, even at late night, full of tourists and lots of other hotels.

I'd stay there again if back in Dublin.

Room Tip: Double rooms always face the street. Single and triple rooms always face the backyard that is very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lele_ballack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#91 of 151 in Dublin
630 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,133 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#100 of 151 in Dublin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 151 in Dublin
666 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,366 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 151 in Dublin
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hotel

Property: Maple Hotel
Address: 74 / 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Hotel & Guesthouse in Dublin City is centrally located in the heart of the City on Gardiner Street, within an easy 5 minute walk from either Connolly train Station in Dublin or Bus Aras (central bus station) and only 10 minutes drive from Dublin Airport on the 'Airlink' bus service. Dublin's famous Temple Bar area and Trinity College are also within walking distance from this beautiful Dublin city centre hotel. O'Connell Street and Grafton Street all within a 5/10 minute walk. The Maple Hotel Dublin is a Bord-Failte approved Guesthouse located in the Dublin City centre with 39 well appointed en-suite bedrooms.•5 minute walk from Connolly Station•5 Minutes from Bus Aras (central bus station)•30 Minutes from Dublin Airport•5 /10 Minutes from Grafton Street & O'Connell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing