We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel of our trip”
Review of Maple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Hotel
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst hotel of our trip”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I had reserved a pricier hotel not far from the Maple and then cancled at the last minute to save money because some of our relatives told us about this place (they also stayed on the same trip, and we all disliked it very much). Boy, did I regret this decision. This hotel was simply put, depressing and drab, and way more appropriate for 20-something backpackers who only care about a place to crash than for our family of 3 visiting Ireland for the first time. We had a basement room that was dark, dank, and in sore need of updating (I heard from family that the upstairs rooms were a bit nicer). There weren't even reading lights so when one person was ready to sleep, all the lights had to go out (only overhead fluorescent lighting--not cozy at all). The shower floor filled up immediately with filthy water and was pretty nasty. We smelled cigarette smoke all night and heard some shady-sounding goings on in the hallway next to our room for a couple of hours one night--my husband even called the front desk to complain. The hotel is run by an entirely Eastern European staff, and I must say the women who worked there were nice enough and hard-working, but the breakfast was not appetizing (my 6-year-old daughter liked it though), and we went elsewhere to eat the second day. The only good things about the Maple were its convenient location to the airport bus drop-off (and it was a pretty short walk to O'Connell Street), and the price. It did force us to stay out and explore Dublin, so we saw more of the city than we would have at a nicer hotel. Other than that, we hated every minute of our stay. The website makes it look homey but it is really just a very basic budget hotel. The pub looked OK but I never heard any traditional music there (I popped my head in, and the bartender was friendly). I have never written a negative review on this site, and I'm sure I'll get a response as it seems someone at the hotel is taking the time to respond personally to each complaint. Please put some of that energy into making your hotel a little nicer--get bedside lamps (even the kind that screw into the wall) so your guests can read at night. Real coffee would help, too. We stayed in a variety of hotels, inns, and even a hostel while in Ireland--we stayed in a family-run inn where we had to even share a bathroom, and we didn't mind. So, we're not snobby or overly concerned about luxury. This place just really needs to be spruced up and cared for.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFgal40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    139
    138
    86
    86
See reviews for
67
197
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I chose to stay at The Maple Hotel because it looked really nice on the internet. Oh what a disappointment! The room I was given was nothing like the one I thought I was going to get. My room was on the ground floor and at the front of the hotel. I did not sleep well at all for the two nights as the traffic kept me awake. On the first morning there was no hot water and, although I called reception numerous times, nothing was done about it. Thankfully, on the second morning there was hot water. The TV was not working very well nor was the remote, but the receptionist did deal with this after I informed her. The only good thing about this hotel is the location but otherwise I cannot think of anything else nice to say!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EYE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We checked in an hour before time which was great because we were knackered, we were given the basement room which needed to be honest a proper renovation. During the early evening the fire escape was very noisy as staff used it for reasons undetermined but we thought it was while they put out the rubbish or went for a smoke but it was noisy anyways. On a positive note the beds were very comfy and the breakfasts was very tasty. If your looking for a overnight stay then this would be okay but for anything longer i suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhB0llix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

To be fair, the location isn't too bad, especially if you're going to the O2 which is only about a 15 minute walk away. But the reception staff are cold and unwelcoming. The rooms are up several flights of stairs - no lift. Our room on the top floor was old, cramped and you can see straight across the street into other people's bedrooms. The décor was...basic bordering on decrepit. It was hostel standard but not hostel prices. Hot water was temperamental. The night porter was a decent sort though.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We arrived early (1000) and check-in is 1400 but it wasn't a problem to leave luggage, we used this hotel as a base to explore the city centre, good location 10 minute walk to Temple Bar. Friendly staff,very helpful. A budget hotel but very clean, towels changed daily,linen clean and new, hot water not always available, being an old building the floorboards creek and you can tell where the people above you are in their room, we were in room 22 ground floor at the front and the traffic noise was a problem, windows rattled (double or secondary glazing needed).although I wouldn't recommend this hotel (traffic noise) I wouldn't tell anyone not to use it just ask for a room away from the front. A pleasant introduction to the City of Dublin, a city I will return to next year.
slainte.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is away from the front of the building (traffic noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nice central location, but did feel a bit unsafe walking back later at night, friendly staff. Particularly the guy in the bar. Most of the staff spoke good English. The reception area was very nice

But I have to say.....

Our room ( number 38) was awful..... It was in the back building in the garden past the conservatory. The room smelt of drains and tha bathroom was old, mouldy, dated and filthy! Needed ripping out and re doing. The windows have bars on them, which in my opinion is scarey in itself and why do you need bars? And also from a fire point of view against health and safety surely? On the plus side we had nice comfy beds and clean towels everyday..... The breakfast was ok, But they didn't really cater for the vegetarian. The cooked vegetarian option was the Irish breakfast without the sausage and bacon. The continental was toast or cereal.

Next time I would pay a bit more and stay in different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmitemini23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Malo, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Staff is friendly. Room are basic but in line with what you pay.
Breakfast is good.
Really close to the station and city center, it is a quite good hotel if you are not looking for a lot of confort. Being the hotel close to the main road, it can be noisy due to the traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaetanoR936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#91 of 151 in Dublin
630 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,135 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#100 of 151 in Dublin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#110 of 151 in Dublin
668 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,099 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hotel

Property: Maple Hotel
Address: 74 / 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Hotel & Guesthouse in Dublin City is centrally located in the heart of the City on Gardiner Street, within an easy 5 minute walk from either Connolly train Station in Dublin or Bus Aras (central bus station) and only 10 minutes drive from Dublin Airport on the 'Airlink' bus service. Dublin's famous Temple Bar area and Trinity College are also within walking distance from this beautiful Dublin city centre hotel. O'Connell Street and Grafton Street all within a 5/10 minute walk. The Maple Hotel Dublin is a Bord-Failte approved Guesthouse located in the Dublin City centre with 39 well appointed en-suite bedrooms.•5 minute walk from Connolly Station•5 Minutes from Bus Aras (central bus station)•30 Minutes from Dublin Airport•5 /10 Minutes from Grafton Street & O'Connell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing