We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, comfortable, clean, excellent value for money”
Review of Maple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maple Hotel
Ranked #135 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic, comfortable, clean, excellent value for money”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was travelling alone from the UK and needed one night's stay in central Dublin ahead of the Marathon on 28th October.

The Maple was within easy walking distance from the city centre and, considering how close it was, was located on a relatively quiet main street (albeit it was a Sunday evening when I arrived).

I had a twin room with en-suite toilet and shower. Yes, it was basic, but what did I expect for Eur42? What I didn't expect was how clean the room was, as was the en-suite. There were towels, soap and shower gel. The main room had a small and basic tv but it was fine. There was also a kettle and tea/coffee ready for the morning. The room was more than adequate for my needs. The room overlooked the main raod and with single glazing there was the inevitable traffic noise, but nothing worse than I'd experienced before. Ear plugs are always the answer to that little problem and I was prepared!

Next door and also further but only a couple of minutes' walk away are some great restaurants. There's also a Tesco express round the corner.

All in all I had everything I needed at a very affordable price to give me the comfortable night I needed. The next day I checked out at 7am and made my way to the start of the Marathon. the third time I've run Dublin and I got a new personal best time!

I would definitely revisit the Maple and would recommend this to anyone in search of clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi David

We are central, value for money and we offer clean comfortable accommodation, we look forward to your next stay and please always BOOK DIRECT to enjoy the best offers, as you know we are right in the heart of Dublin, we offer budget accommodation and are only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, Croke Park, O2 and so much more.

Please Like us on Facebook where our Free Draw offers you an opportunity to shop till you drop €500 spending money, Free Family Room and Free Full Irish Breakfast.

Regards, Management and Staff, the Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    139
    134
    86
    85
See reviews for
66
195
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the Maple with friends, We had a family room which slept five and was spacious and spotless clean, it is an old building which is not unusual in Dublin city Centre and the location is perfect for shopping etc. We got the Hotel at a great price for a two night stay and found all Staff very pleasant. The only fault I would find with the Hotel was the amount of stairs as we were on the top floor and there was no lift but for the price we paid cannot complain, would stay again.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi Deirdre B

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Maple, we look forward to your next stay and please always BOOK DIRECT to enjoy the best offers, as you know we are right in the heart of Dublin, we offer budget accommodation and are only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, Croke Park, O2 and so much more.

Please Like us on Facebook where our Free Draw offers you an opportunity to shop till you drop €500 spending money, Free Family Room and Free Full Irish Breakfast.

Regards, Management and Staff, the Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell Town, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nothing fancy but The Maple Hotel is in a great location, only a short walk to O'Connell steet - perfect for if you are doing some sightseeing.
Breakfast is fine, I had toast and yoghurt but you could have a full Irish breakfast.
Overall the hotel is a little tired and needs a re vamp but it is value for money as other places in Dublin are more on the exy side.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi EC4

Thank you for your kind words, as you know we are right in the heart of Dublin, we offer budget accommodation and are only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, Croke Park, O2 and so much more.

Please Like us on Facebook where our Free Draw offers you an opportunity to shop till you drop €500 spending money, Free Family Room and Free Full Irish Breakfast. Christmas Part Packages at BA Temple Bar.

Regards, Management and Staff, the Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We booked at Maple hotel two nights in September 2013.
We chose this hotel because of the position near the city centre (O'Connell street is just behind there) and because the price was a good deal for two nights in Dublin, at least because I saw nice photos on the internet about this hotel.

The building is a very old one, with wooden floors, moquette and no lift. It's situated in a very well-travelled street so get ready to hear noises at night and ambulances going up and down. Same as people talking out laud in the street, because the hotel is situated on a pub.

We had "luck" because the room wasn't in the ground floor but in the first floor (I read on internet that the rooms in the groudfloor were worser but I can't confirm that) but the room itself was TOO small even for two people.
We had three luggages and we couldn't open them all three at a time because there wasn't enough space.
There was no space between the window and one side of the bed and on the other side there was a very narrow space between the bed and the bathroom's door. The bathroom wasn't new either but it had no problems and the towels were clean. There's just one wall socket in the room which made a bit difficult charching the phones at the same time, but it wasn't a big problem.
The room wasn't dirty but it wasn't perfectly cleaned either.
We didn't book the breakfast so I can't say how it was.

Besides these things, the staff was nice, even in giving informations about the town and the buses. I've asked for an hairdrier and they give it to me with no problems.
Also, they were very nice to keep our luggages for some hours at the reception the last day after our check-out.

To conclude, I probably wouldn't re-book there because I am sure I'd find something better in Dublin, but after all, if you only use the hotel to shower and to sleep it could be ok for just one or at least two nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiobhanOrlagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi Mevola

Thank you for offering an opinion piece on the Maple Hotel Dublin City Centre. We offer budget city centre accommodation, we have a traditional Irish Bar, this is all set out clearly on our website. Dublin is one of Europe’s Capital Cities with 2 Million inhabitants, like all major cities it is busy and sometimes an ambulance or police car can be heard as they go about their business. Our location means that we are central, we are 5 minutes from O’Connell Street and 10 Minutes from Temple Bar, yet our room prices are at least 25% less than similar rooms offered in those locations. We offer a FREE Full Irish Breakfast when you BOOK DIRECT on Our website, and we have discount vouchers for most major attractions at reception.

At the Maple Hotel we do our very best to offer good value budget accommodation to all our guests, we hope that you will stay with us again and until then we wish you safe travelling.
Please like us on Facebook where we have great FREE Draws and Special Offers.

Regards, The Management and Staff, The Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We are also one of those people who were fooled by the website. This place is nothing like it appears. We "took advantage" of the so-called "deal" by booking our room directly through their website. Some deal...138 Euros per night! WHAT THE??? We feel silly and cheated by this hotel. The toilet wouldn't flush so we used the lobby toilet most of the time (3 floors down). The shower drain was so plugged, a 3 minute shower was the max before it filled up and flowed over onto the bathroom floor. The bar had a so called "non smoking" section but the entire bar, lobby and first floor smelled of cigarette smoke. Disgusting. Small rooms. Noisy at all hours. Way over priced for a 2-Star hotel. Highly NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hi Lorie1221

We are sorry that your visit to the Maple Hotel did not meet with your expectations, we endeavour at all times to ensure that our guests enjoy their experience in the Maple Hotel and Dublin also. We have a rolling programme of refurbishment in place and as you will appreciate this takes a good deal of time. We do hope that any of the issues you encountered on this visit will be well and truly expelled by the time you return to Dublin, and we do hope that you will give us another chance to enjoy your stay in Dublin. Until we meet again, happy and safe travelling.

Regards
Management and Staff, The Maple Hotel Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel was fantastic very clean and lovely breakfast,staff on reception was nice very helpful,we stayed on the top floor room 32 it was a long way up but well worth it wen we got to r lovely room,we have only been back two days and already planning are next visit..thanks maple hotel for making r girly break away the best so far..Lyndsey.x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linds1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Maple Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Linds1981

Thank you for your kind review of The Maple Hotel, we loved having you stay with us and we look forward to your next stay. Please LIKE us on Facebook to stay up to date with special offers and free draws and always BOOK DIRECT on our website for your stay in Dublin.

Regards
Management and Staff, Maple Hotel, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place was horrible- Dirty rooms and an overall grimey vibe to the whole place. The rooms are small and cramped, and the hotel staff did not respond to our comments on dirty rooms or moldy windows (pic attached). We only stayed one night, and it was more than we would have liked to have stayed. We visited the pub in the back of the hotel (which had a very nice bartender working), but there seemed to be some suspicious activities going on in the hotel. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 151 in Dublin
1,121 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#99 of 151 in Dublin
249 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#130 of 151 in Dublin
292 reviews
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 151 in Dublin
656 reviews
South City Centre
Trinity College Campus
Trinity College Campus
#70 of 151 in Dublin
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hotel

Property: Maple Hotel
Address: 74 / 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Hotel & Guesthouse in Dublin City is centrally located in the heart of the City on Gardiner Street, within an easy 5 minute walk from either Connolly train Station in Dublin or Bus Aras (central bus station) and only 10 minutes drive from Dublin Airport on the 'Airlink' bus service. Dublin's famous Temple Bar area and Trinity College are also within walking distance from this beautiful Dublin city centre hotel. O'Connell Street and Grafton Street all within a 5/10 minute walk. The Maple Hotel Dublin is a Bord-Failte approved Guesthouse located in the Dublin City centre with 39 well appointed en-suite bedrooms.•5 minute walk from Connolly Station•5 Minutes from Bus Aras (central bus station)•30 Minutes from Dublin Airport•5 /10 Minutes from Grafton Street & O'Connell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Maple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing