We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maple Hotel”
Review of Maple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maple Hotel
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great central location with a great bar! Mossy the barman was good craic. Rooms were fine - clean and had all that we needed! We didn't hear any noise. No lifts in the hotel but we managed fine.Great price!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sinead240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great location great value for money. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Rooms and toilets very clean. Ned Keenans bar small cosy and great atmosphere. Mossy d barman gas had a great night. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Maple is one hotel in a long line of hotels on Lower Gardener Street popular with all ages of tourists.No lift so you have to tackle the stairs with a heavy suitcase.Rooms are adequate bathrooms are minute!..If you are in a room which faces the street you are in for an in please by night.If you have to open the window the noise level is acute.Breakfast is the full English breakfast and no variations possible.The hotel is full of eastern European staff some of whom could be attentive at breakfast time.

Room Tip: Dont overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Myself, my husband and my child had booked to stay in this hotel. Unfortunately due to a family death we couldn't stay. They continued to take the money from my bank account and when I tried to ask them to change the dates for us they refused. They also refused to give me my money back. Absolutely disgusted that due to my circumstances this has happened, terrlible customer service and they never once contacted me back. I had to make numerous phone calls and send emails but they refused to reply. One very unhappy customer who travels to Dublin on a regular basis but would never deal with this hotel again!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank 417Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location is great. I have to emphasize that two ladies at the reception were very polite and kind, thanks to them we have felt a relief the last day of our staying at the hotel as we could leave our luggage till the time of our train departure and have got some valuable information of how to get to some city locations. Thank you for that.

This place is called hotel, but I can not say that it looks like and functions like hotel...the room the we have got was not a part of the hotel building but some auxiliary built rooms in a separate small outdoor location. We had to put the curtains all the time as everybody passing by could look into the room, but bigger problem was the use of showers. Actually, the bathrooms had showers but to take a shower one had to get out the shower and turn on the water on the switch that is located in the dormitory, then to put the shower gel on one has to go again from the bathroom to the dormitory, to switch off the water, and of course to wash off the shower gel you should repeat the procedure. So you have to go from the bathroom to the dormitory several times which is annoying and depressing :( Simply put, if you travel alone you have a big problem, and this seems like a solution for showering from some earlier centuries... If you want to wash your face or teeth, you have to chose between extremely hot water or cold water, as there are two faucets, and to get the water on each of them you have to hold it with one hand while washing the face and teeth with other....:( Another problem is that if you need an adapter you will not get it on the reception, you have to buy it, they do not give a damn if it is midnight and you need to charge your batteries urgently or need to dry your hair...and of course, there is no dryer in the room, if you have not taken it with you from your home....well that is also your problem. And, if you need Wi Fi at that precise location where we had a room (let's call that a room) you will not get it (there is no possible way to connect to it!), although it is free and u can use it at the reception only....in total, it was very, very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room at the auxiliary yard part of the hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valentina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my mom for 5 nights in June. Apparently we were lucky with the location of our room, as it was really quiet during the night time.

The location is good as you can easily walk to the city centre. There was also a Tesco store really near if you want to buy some snack food. If you are really sensitive to smoke smell this place might not be for you as there is a pub inside the hotel where people can smoke. However, the smell didn't reach our room at all and to be honest it didn't bother us that much when we were passing through the halls and the reception area.

The staff was really helpful and we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel reception when we checked out as we had an evening flight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Maple hotel is a budget hotel just a few minutes walk from Busaras. Rooms are small and clean. Try and get a room facing aay from Lower Gardiner st, as it can be fairly noisy at night. Breakfast is provided if you book direct with the hotel or €7.50 (you get cereal, a small 'Irish fry', toast, OJ and tea/coffee) for your money.

Staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel has plenty of information about attractions. They also let you leave luggage during the day. Would stay there again

Room Tip: Away from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
646 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#100 of 150 in Dublin
271 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#130 of 150 in Dublin
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 150 in Dublin
1,171 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#94 of 150 in Dublin
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hotel

Address: 74 / 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £48 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Hotel & Guesthouse in Dublin City is centrally located in the heart of the City on Gardiner Street, within an easy 5 minute walk from either Connolly train Station in Dublin or Bus Aras (central bus station) and only 10 minutes drive from Dublin Airport on the 'Airlink' bus service. Dublin's famous Temple Bar area and Trinity College are also within walking distance from this beautiful Dublin city centre hotel. O'Connell Street and Grafton Street all within a 5/10 minute walk. The Maple Hotel Dublin is a Bord-Failte approved Guesthouse located in the Dublin City centre with 39 well appointed en-suite bedrooms.•5 minute walk from Connolly Station•5 Minutes from Bus Aras (central bus station)•30 Minutes from Dublin Airport•5 /10 Minutes from Grafton Street & O'Connell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing