We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stauntons on the Green
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from my trip to Dublin where I stayed at Stauntons On The Green for a full week. The staff was very pleasant, welcoming, courteous and helpful with any questions I had. They made sure to have a continental breakfast set-up early on the days I had an early tour, and assisted me with airport taxi on day of departure. The hotel and my room were kept quite clean. You cannot beat the location of this hotel either. The only downside is that because it is an old Georgian house, the floors tend to creek - so you may hear people walking above you. But I didn't mind too much, that's part of the historic "charm". I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great price, location, charm and welcoming staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiling_sherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    318
    150
    69
    44
See reviews for
155
258
94
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Staunton's for one night. The hotel is centrally located in Dublin, within walking distance of most of downtown. Valet car parking for a very reasonable €10. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. No lift so travel light. Breakfast was included in the price of our room and was good, juice, fruit cereal and the choice of a full Irish or vegetarian option. Free wifi. Would stay there again

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My friends and I stayed at the hotel from 6th June until the 8th. Warm welcome, very helpful staff. The bedroom was very nice and clean, bathroom very clean, the bed was very comfortable. The cooked breakfast was ok,, the tomatoes were supposed to be grilled but was just raw and I asked for sausage but did not receive, but the buffet breakfast was nice. The receptionist was very helpful is with needed advice, eg, directions and taxi booking. I enjoyed my stay, the only thing that spoiled my stay was the cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummiebabs1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
950sotg, Manager at Stauntons on the Green, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank You Brummiebabs

Delighted that you had a great stay overall, just and sorry that some aspects of breakfast let us down a little this time. We will work to improve!

Sincerely

The Team at Stauntons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have stayed at Stautons each time I have been to Dublin and have always had a pleasurable stay. This time, however, I was dismayed to find a rather large scale renovation project in progress and, more distressingly, the room next to mine was essentially a construction zone which made my room distractingly noisy during the day when I returned to rest in the afternoon.

Upon asking at the desk about the work, I was told that it was going to continue and I should let them know if it was bothering me and they would have the work stopped. I found this to be ridiculous as I could not imagine an entire work crew being pulled off the job each afternoon. More disturbing was the day I returned to my room to find the door wide open. Upon complaining about the breach in security, I was informed that they had given some random worker access to my room to facilitate the construction and that he had decided to leave the door open. "Sorry about that," was about all I got in response to my complaint.

The bottom line is that knowing a major construction job was taking place they went ahead and placed paying guests right next door. Perhaps it is time to find another place to stay in Dublin.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Panoptical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
950sotg, Manager at Stauntons on the Green, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Panoptical

Very sorry that the refurbishment work was allowed interupt your stay. We will learn from that and ensure we manage any future refurbishment work better.

Sincerely

The Team at Stauntons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location. It is across from St. Stephen's Park and within walking distance to Trinity College, shopping and restaurants in central Dublin. The rooms were adequate but not luxurious. We changed rooms twice on check in before we got one were the TV worked. Also, no elevator is available to access the second floor which is a problem to transport luggage. The help was pleasant and helpful with directions. I would say 3 stars overall but 5 stars for location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAP1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at Staunton's last month. It was perfect, as it was on my first stay there 2 years ago. The hotel has a lovely old-world charm and the location is ideal. You can easily walk to just about anywhere: museums, shops, malls, libraries, and historic sites. St. Stephen's Green is delightful to walk thru or just sit and relax.The "Hop-on-Hop-Off" bus is around the corner and a great way for first timers to get a feel for the city. The Luas Line, a tram for venturing into the suburbs, is a block the other way, And the charming Iveagh Gardens are around another corner.
But the brightest gem of this hotel is the staff. Right from the day I called from NY to make a reservation, Anca, the receptionist, advised me of the best room to meet my needs, which turned out to be ideal for me. She has a quick,perceptive grasp of people.She was always available and cheerful for my requests and questions during my stay. She definitely "went the extra mile." She was even a great weather forecaster, calming my worries about a jaunt beyond the city centre. She guaranteed me a taxi, but advised me to wait 15 min and the heavy rain might be gone. She was right and I ventured out on another adventure, in sunshine! I will return to Staunton's.

Room Tip: I personally prefer a room on an upper floor overlooking St. Stephen's Green, which I did get. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a positive note Arthur in Reception was very helpful.
The location is ideal. Shopping, restaurants, pubs and theatres within walking distance.
But the negatives I feel outweigh the positives
- the room in the basement was dark and rather dreary
- the breakfast was very poor...no fresh fruit salad, lukewarm food
- some of the crockery was dirty especially the milk jug
- one of the teacups was chipped

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruadhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
950sotg, Manager at Stauntons on the Green, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear ruadhan

Sorry to hear that your experience wasent the best this time, we are currently working on improving our breakfast offering further and we will certainly take your feedback on board.
Also thank you for the nice comments about the reception team!

Kind regards

The Team at Stauntons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,459 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#68 of 151 in Dublin
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#105 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stauntons on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stauntons on the Green

Property: Stauntons on the Green
Address: 83 St. Stephen's Green South, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stauntons on the Green 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to Grafton Street in the fashionable heart of Dublin City, Stauntons on the Green is the perfect place to stay, whether for business or pleasure in Ireland's Capital City. Housed in a Georgian building steeped in history, overlooking two of Dublin's most beautiful parks -St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens - this hotel has everything you could possibly need on its doorstep. It remains a building of unique character (original build 1750) with spacious relaxing rooms and wonderful views of the parks. Well appointed rooms, all with either Park or Garden views, coupled with excellent customer care and service, are what make a stay at Stauntons on the Green a special and rewarding experience. Room facilities include Private Bathroom, TV, Direct Dial Telephone, Hairdryer, Complimentary WiFi and Tea/Coffee facilities. Breakfasts are served each day, Monday to Friday 7am-10am and Saturday Sunday 8am -10am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stauntons on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stauntons On The Green Hotel Dublin
Stauntons On The Green Dublin
Stauntons Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing