We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central”
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wynn's Hotel
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

i stayed in Wynns for 1 night midweek - price was reasonable enough, the room i stayed in was quite small (but maybe because i asked for smoking room). The receptionist was quite welcoming, bar staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good and served very fast and staff again very friendly, location is excellent right in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Dont ask for smoking room as they are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mossy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We knew what to expect and were not disappointed.we went for a quiet midweek break and got it
THE hotel is old and has a history which we liked.Free parking was a bonus and only 40yds from
O Connell street .The breakfasts were delightfull and freshly cooked .The restaurant is old fashioned but quite elegant and the lounge bar is also similar,and our evening meal was as good as you will get .
Rory the barman and Roberta the receptionist(and the other recptionist also) were friendly and helpfull on advice as was head porter superman.The menu and quality and quantity of food was a good 9 outta 10,the hotel was fully booked which also is a good sign.Overall 2 nights B & B and one evening meal was euro 250 total for 2 persons,free parkin ,not at all bad for central dublin.Indeed we priced a 5 star very near grafton street as 520 euro (jus reverse first two digits easy) must mention the LUAS line runs immediately outside the front door and is great for a run thru the city. so overall Good value and yes we will return.

Room Tip: get a room at the back as front ones can be noisey facing O Connell st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Arrived at wynns with what turned out to be kidney stones at there painfully worst.didn't want to to be anywhere but home in bed.instead of the worst couple of days ahead of me I had a real Irish welcome .the comfortable bar sold the perfect guinness just the tonic with a mix of tourists also enjoying the surrounding .the bedroom was like home with the extra of a hydro bath to ease away my blues.the breakfast was better than I had enjoyed anywhere for years even my early departure back to John Lennon airport the next morning the night porter made a proper continental breakfast at 4 30am.if you want to be in right spot in dublin this has got be an affordable and pleasant hotel to settle down in .bill hislop ellesmere port.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

I wanted to be near Trinity College. Wynn's is just north of the river and close to the big department stores and airport shuttle. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good, especially the Egg Benedictine!:) There was a heatwave on and most rooms did not have air conditioning. But they made up for it with a table fan after I raised the issue with reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A great hotel as long as you get a room at the back of the hotel, not one facing Lower Abbey Street. The night time and early morning (5.00am) street noise will wake you.
We stayed early August 2013 when the weather was pleasantly warm. There is no air conditioning so the room temperature was high and uncomfortable for sleeping.
On the positive side, the staff were great, the food excellent, the history of the building amazing. A very traditional Irish hotel with downsides.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grahambayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at Wynn's recently for the start and end of our backroads tour of Ireland, about 25 minutes from the Dublin airport. It is convenient and friendly. We enjoyed sitting in the bar, talking to the locals and having a Guiness. Wynn's is right across the river from the Trinity College neighborhood with lots of good bars and restaurants. We went from there to the GO WEST and GO NORTH tours with Inroads Ireland - really enjoyed it! Very small group in a nimble van with an excellent guide - we hit the back roads, mountain passes, secluded beaches and interesting sights others never visit. We stayed in small, unique hotels and enjoyed the pubs and local music. Our guide, Phil, was chock-full of information and went out of his way to be kind and helpful. Go with Inroads - you will love it!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with AC if it is a hot day (we were there during an unusual heat wave).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Well we went back again this summer and I'm happy to say Wynn's Hotel is as good as ever! Unfortunately it was just for a week this time :-(

The majority of the staff were the same and many of them remembered us from last year. Even the little things like where we'd been and the things we had done.

I'm not going to repeat the description of the rooms, service etc from last year.. because really it was all excellent as usually and you could not fault them for anything. What I am going to highlight though is the staff. Without exception every single member of staff we encountered during the week from the chamber maid to management were very friendly and attentive.

You are really made to feel at home in Wynns and I think it rubs of on the guests, sitting in the Saints and Scholars bar of an evening it was very easy to fall in to conversation with other guests and bar patrons on all kinds of topics from travel, to politics and football.

We'll definitely plan to be back for more next year.

Room Tip: Room 247 now has a double window, which almost blocks out all the sounds of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,543 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
957 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,497 reviews
Aberdeen Lodge
#4 of 151 in Dublin
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £93 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing