We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wynn's Hotel
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very olde worlde charme Hotel right in the centre of Dublin.

Excellent service and staff are so helpful.We had a room on the 5th floor at the front of the Hotel. It's on a busy road and very noisy ALL the time, as in 24 hours, garbage trucks, street cleaners and the tram which is right outside the front door. The noises didn't bother me, but if you were a light sleeper they might.

Breakfast was excellent. We never ate there for any other meals so cannot comment on those.

The tram line is right in front of the Hotel, so there is no drop off access in front of the Hotel, you have to cross the road, which is no problem.

I loved the Hotel, it has an old world charm which I liked. I am in my 50's and I think I was the youngest person at the front bar when we went down for a drink lol

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, the front of the hotel is not for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandden6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    474
    116
    50
    28
See reviews for
195
429
151
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms are small no air con
But It's a nice hotel right in the heart of town. The breakfast is good and there is a good pub across the road.
The lifts are slow, we were at the back of the hotel so noise was not a problem. But you are next to the tram System so I don't know what the other rooms are like.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grm2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wynn's location can't be more strategic. It is very close to the Abbey Theatre, 10 mins walk from Trinity College and Temple Bar. Breakfast selection is good too.

The room I've got was the smallest on Level 5. The space between the bed and the bathroom door is only about the width of my luggage (about 1 to 2 ft I think). So was the space between the bed and the table.

But the location and the breakfast kind of make up for it.

Room Tip: I think I got the smallest room on level 5..room 532 I believe, or 523. Last room on level 5. Avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Wynn's Hotel August 21-26, 2013. Great location, very friendly staff. Room was clean but rather small and the shower compartment door is not for fat people. Great breakfast. There was a problem with the water and it was shut off 24 hours, but the staff took care of everything in a nice way. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmoStj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, but is clean & comfortable and in a wonderful location -- you can walk to almost everything you would want to see. The Luas stops in front of the door and the airport bus stops are very nearby. I requested a quiet room & was given one away from the street (other reviewers have said that the rooms at the front of the hotel are nicer, but mine was perfectly acceptable). There was a little street noise on the weekend, but I think that is inevitable in central Dublin. The included breakfast was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all I felt this was a great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great location in Dublin, within walking distance of pretty much everything you need to see. Only a 5 minute walk to Temple bar. The Arlington on Bachelors walk (just around the corner from Wynn's) is a fantastic place to go for Live Irish music and dancing. Wynn's itself is a wonderful hotel full of old school charm and tradition (I think the hotel is around 150 years old) the staff are very pleasant and their full Irish breakfast really starts the day off well. As well as the hotel being very central, the Luas (Tram) stops right outside the hotel making the hotel even easier to get too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robcastle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed one night at Wynns during August.

The hotel is centrally located & so its quite easy to walk to most of the areas that would be of interest to tourists - Temple Bar and Trinity College are a few minutes away, the Guiness Store house about 15 to 20 minute walk. We found the reception staf to be very helpful and friendly. We had booked a superior room, which we found to be very comfortable with plenty of room. The breakfasts had a good choice & set us up for the day.
The only disadvanatge was the noise from the street below. All superior rooms are front facing & although we were on the top floor we were disturbed by nosie from the street - trams, dust carts, people celebrating. We would say there agin but would make sure that we had a room at the back of the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentStjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,822 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,266 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Property: Wynn's Hotel
Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing