We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central hotel, but service??” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wynn's Hotel
Ranked #36 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Central hotel, but service??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very central hotel just off O'Connel street. Somewhat old and tired interior, but quiet being in the busiest part of Dublin and good breakfast. But when having got a room, I discovered that the bed was to short. I went to reception and ask to get a new room with a longer bed. At the reception I was told that all beds were the same. I knew that was wrong having seen pictures of the rooms on internet. After a night with very bad sleep, one of my collegues told me that her room had a longer bed, so we arranged a roomswitch ourselfes. Doesn't staff know the hotelrooms, or didn't they bother to help me?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeirStokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    443
    108
    50
    27
See reviews for
175
398
144
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a fabulous 4 night stay at Wynns hotel. Wynns is a traditional small 65 room hotel situated in the heart of Dublin city centre just off O 'Connell street. This is our second stay at Wynns hotel due to its fab location and great customer service. The staff are really helpful , friendly and will endeavour to help you as much as they can. For instance on our arrival day we were way ahead of the 2pm check in due to an early flight and we were expecting an offer to secure our bags only . However we were immediately offered complimentary tea and coffee whilst they checked to see if our room was ready, this resulted in a check in much earlier than planned which was excellent enabling us to freshen up before our first day of sightseeing. our room was fabulous we were on the top floor facing the city centre, rooms have a traditional decor, spacious and we had a jacuzzi bath also. There is free Wifi available in the rooms which is a bonus not just the lobby area as is offered in other hotels. The dining room is a grand room with an Art Deco feel to it, waiter service provides a sense of luxury and we enjoyed the relaxing peaceful vibe, no clashing of plates or scrum tackle to get your breakfast of a morning and the choice is plentiful and the food is lovely. If your room is at the front of the building and your windows are open you will here the noise of central city hustle and bustle which is no different to any other city noise such as London or New York. Our room was the last one on the top floor attached to the Grand Central Bar building, they play music until the early hours which can affect your sleep if the windows are open none of which bothered either of us personally. Transport links are fabulous, tram stop just outside and bus stop is on the corner, here you can get the Dublin hop on & off tour bus which is ideal for access to all the main tourist attractions. Basically if you want a traditional hotel with a great city centre location and friendly service this is the place for you, we certainly will be revisiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Grove
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Good staff,& breakfast,housekeeping,central city location.BUT-bathroom tiny, & we had a room facing downtown street with TERRIBLE noise level-bells ringing,engines idling,music playing,people shouting in street,cars running,streetcar noise. This went on loudly all night-worst was VERY loud sound of apparently an industrial strength pressure washer cleanind the rails -AT 2 AM !!!

Room Tip: Away from street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry,England UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at Wynns a couple of weeks ago for the fourth time and really love this place. Have tried a few others in Dublin but this is by far the best. the location is perfect for exploring Dublin. The staff are always polite,friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean and comfortable. I always get a good nights sleep in a quiet room facing the back of the Hotel, and the beds and pillows are really comfortable.
Breakfast is served by waiters in the beautiful Victorian dining room. There is a selection of hot breakfasts all cooked fresh and piping hot.as well as juices, cereals and toast.
well done to Wynns for providing an excellent and consistent good old fashioned level of service.
Have already booked my room for December for a spot of Christmas shopping in Dublin.

.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Wynn's website is good and that is what drew us to the hotel but the pub next door was constantly noisy, loud music nightly. They even have speakers attached to the outside of the building.
Breakfast was great, staff was great. But here is the big downside....only one elevator and no mention on the website. We were booked in for 12 days but left after 7. At nearly 70 I am too old to climb the stairs and we had too..frequently... when bus loads of tourists would check-in {in a very tiny lobby}. Would we stay there again.....NO.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front. Remember the noise pub next door and An Luas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Often passed by Wynns never had even been inside the door stayed there for 1 night this week how i wished i could have stayed for much longer ,every thing about this Hotel is perfect Rooms ,Staff and most of all the Breakfast .great location Luas (Tram) stops at the door

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisandniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Whenever the family return to Dublin we always try to stay here...

The staff are always attentive and the breakfasts are the best in Dublin.
The restaurant is amazing and the steaks to die for :)

The hotel is wonderfully situated with 'The Lucas' tram within very easy reach outside giving easy access to 'The O2' for concerts among many other attractions . Everything is within easy walking distance of the hotel.including 'Connolly station' where you can travel to pretty much all over Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedees1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Property: Wynn's Hotel
Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing