We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central hotel but....”
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wynn's Hotel
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
dublin,ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“central hotel but....”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Stayed here for one night with my husband. Arrived early so we managed to get the free car parking in the hotel. Room was ready early also whic was great. First impression is that the hotel is a bit shabby. Carpet worn throughout the hotel and wall paper falling off on most corridors. We had room 372 and the whole floor and room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke!. Room was compact with 2 single beds and flat screen TV - only had 3 channels. Did not stay in the room during the day as we were eating and shopping. Did not drink the bar of the hotel. When we checked in we were told there was a party going on in the hotel so to expect noise until 1am. This was a disaster. The music and noise felt like it was right outside our room. It was SO LOUD. I wore ear plugs but could hear the noise of the party still. It finished up after 1am. The only think I really enjoyed about this hotel was the breakfast. Lovely choice of food and the waiter in restaurant at breakfast is very good. Would not stay here again.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank niamhDublin_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    472
    116
    50
    28
See reviews for
194
428
151
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

The Wynn was an extremely pleasant place to stay. Having arrived at the awful hour of 7:00 am, I was given hot coffee and a soft seat to sit until I was ready to brave the shopping excursion at 9:00 a.m. I stayed two nights, before and after my short trip and both rooms were very nice, clean, and well throught out. The staff at the front desk were very cordial and always willing to give advice. I would recommend this hotel as a place which was very close to shopping, the bus line, both from the airport and to excursions out of town.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchelstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Our stay at Wynn's was just perfect in every way.The staff were friendly,courteous and most helpful in every way.The food was delicious at every meal.The rooms were clean and comfortable.There was no loud noise at night time.We had a wonderful few days there.Marian

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomi027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
2,618 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6,667 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Victorian with enough of the old feel. Not to smart. Plenty of wood. Good full irish breakfast. close to the Abbey Theatre and the river. A good place for a first city. We had no expectations but loved it.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in Europe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Location is excellent, central for everything Dublin. I found it very quiet, other reviewers have mentioned noise from the trams on the street but I never heard a one.

The breakfast was freshly made to order and was very good. Not a huge selection, but unless you're staying for a month there's enough variety to keep you happy for days.

The room I had was comfortable and spacious, the staff were friendly and helpful.

The only negative thing I noticed (and it is only a small concern) is that it's starting to show its age just the tiniest bit. Loose door knobs, screws coming out, cupboard doors that don't quite shut right. But really, such things probably don't bother most people and it certainly didn't detract from my stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My wife and daughter stayed in Wynn's Hotel recently while they enjoyed a shopping weekend. They found the staff to be extremely helpful & courteous. The Doorman arranged for our car to be driven to the car park on arrival which allowed for a speedy and efficient check in. Breakfast was exceptional. Very good value overall but the staff are the jewel in the crown.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisureseeker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

this is a smashing hotel, oozes character. very clean and stylish. lovely breakfast with table service, very nice and comfortable bar and lounge and friendly helpful staff. Couldn't fault the place. Right in the centre of the city, great location but very calm and peaceful inside. highly recommend a visit, well worth the reasonable price.

Helpful?
1 Thank ridgeback74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,815 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
2,255 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Property: Wynn's Hotel
Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing