We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst managment ever”
Review of Kilronan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilronan House
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“worst managment ever”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

the place was terrible management worse than faulty towers, at least faulty towers you could have a laugh whereas here wasnt funny after the calamity of errors and useless excuses of poor service bad food poor beds rooms smelled sorry just had worst time ever booked out and found a place around the corner. would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floppyjoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    298
    79
    49
    40
See reviews for
189
357
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I've stayed at Kilronan House on three occasions now and have never been disappointed. I initially chose it as it got a good write up in the Rough Guide to Ireland and given that finding good value accomodation in Dublin can be tricky the Kilronan is a gem.

On arrival we were offered coffee/tea in the little lounge, before being shown to our room. The receptionist/manager was incredible friendly and helpful with maps and suggestions. The rooms themselves are, perhaps a wee bit old fashioned, but then that is in keeping with the house itself. The location is great - close to St Stephen's Green and the main shopping areas of Grafton Street and Henry Street.

Highlight of any stay at the Kilronan is the spectacular breakfast - you've got plenty of choice - starting with fresh fruit salad/grapefruit/cereals etc through to full Irish/pancakes and maple syrup/smoked salmon and egges (cooked to your liking). There's plenty to set you up for the day whether you're sightseeing or shopping.

Given it's central location it's amazingly quiet too guaranteeing a good night's sleep.

I've stayed there 3 times... would I stay again... yes indeed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hackenabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Kilronan House is perfectly located within easy walking distance to main attractions, pubs, parks and restaurants. Our room was immaculate and the twin beds we had were exceptionally comfortable. The Kilronan is accessable to tourist attractions yet away from the noise and activity of the city center. Because we didn't have time to plan our visit before we actually arrived, we found our hostess, Anne, had a wealth of knowledge about tours, bookings, things to do in the city (which appear to be limitless) and good places to eat. It was perfect for our 5 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmkart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My friend and I just spent 5 nights at the Kilronan and we highly recommend this guest house. The location is superb -- we walked to the shopping district, the theater, the symphony, the DART station, Trinity College, and St. Patrick's Cathedral. The staff was very attentive, offering tea whenever we arrived back at the house and providing great tourist information. They made reservations for tours and a taxi. The full breakfast is very nice with many selections. Be sure to order the soda bread! We found this guest house to be a real value and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calpaquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We really struggled to find a hotel for a friend's 40th birthday celebrations in Dublin. It was busy because of gay pride and a big concert. Everywhere seemed either eye-wateringly expensive or crummy and noisy. But not Kilronan House. It is a few minutes walk from St Stephen's Green and the bottom of Grafton St, so central enough without being horribly noisy. The room was very large and clean, as was the bathroom. I was woken rather early after the first night as there was a skylight above my bed, but the staff very quickly remedied that and found the remote control that closed the blind. The lady on reception was a real gem, full of good advice on what to see and do, really helpful and friendly. She even lent me her brolly during a downpour, even though she was about to go home. The breakfasts were delicious, and there was plenty of tea and coffee available. I'd definitely stay here on any future visits.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthviaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our family vacation. The staff was so welcoming and helpful with suggestions for touring,restaurants and transportation. Great breakfasts!The location was perfect - within walking distance of many sights but quiet for sleeping. We would certainly stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Our first night in Ireland was spent at the Kilronan House and we liked it so much that, after traveling through the countryside, we came back to the Kilronan for our last night. The hotel is charming and comfortable and our family loved that each room was unique. The location is ideal for walking to many of the area attractions and quiet at night so you are able to get a restful night's sleep. We were a large group and the manager, Anne, was extremely helpful in setting up tours, making dinner reservations and arranging for transportation as needed. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the service was excellent. It was a wonderful place to start and end our journey and if we ever make it back to Ireland we will stay at the Kilronan.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlmkoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#86 of 151 in Dublin
770 reviews
Waterloo House
#21 of 151 in Dublin
570 reviews
Schoolhouse Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albany House
#66 of 151 in Dublin
765 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,287 reviews
Harrington Hall
#84 of 151 in Dublin
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan House

Property: Kilronan House
Address: Kilronan House 70 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilronan House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan House Bed and Breakfast is in the beautiful quite Georgian quarter of Dublin city centre just one minute from St. Stephens Green and downtown Grafton Street area. Built in 1834, the guesthouse is comfortable period house that still features its original cornicing, Waterford Crystal chandeliers and ceiling roses. The staff at Kilronan House pride themselves in spoiling their guests with true Irish hospitality and excellent customer service. The National Concert Hall and Dublin's main cultural and historic sights including Trinity College, The National Museum and National Gallery are within a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilronan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan House Hotel Dublin
Kilronan Hotel Dublin
Kilronan House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing