We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Kilronan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilronan House
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

First and foremost, the incredibly friendly and helpful staff go above and beyond making each guest feel as if they are the only ones staying there. We had a lovely,cozy room with an old world romantic feel. The house is located on a quiet street and is a 10-15 minute walk to shopping, restaurants and great pubs. The bed was extremely comfortable. We stayed at four different B&Bs/guest houses during our trip and the Kilronan House was by far our favorite. (September 2011) If you stay, by all means, order the pancakes for breakfast, they are decadent! We had to leave early in the morning to drive back to Shannon (5:30am) and the staff pulled our car around the night before and parked it right in front of the door for us, gave us our keys and checked us out the day before. They then insisted on making us Irish coffees for a good night sleep before our trip in the morning. They wanted to have coffee and breakie ready for us at 5:30 but we had to beg them off as we didn't want to impose and we really had to be on the road. The staff gave us a great recommendation for dinner (Foleys) and helped plan our tour of the city. We were very impressed with our overall experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor with a double bed. It was quiet and free of the street noise. Our neice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    298
    79
    49
    40
See reviews for
189
357
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at Kilronan one day in Aug. 2011 and a couple days later in Sept. 2011. We arrived very late both evenings and we thoroughly welcomed and carefully settled in. We left too early for breakfast one day, however the day we had breakfast it was simply outstanding....the best omelets. Nice clean room and friendly, helpful staff. Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScreenNewWestminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My family and I had a good stay at the Kilronan when we visited Dublin this summer. Our room was beautiful and the place was pleasant and well-located. In general the staff were helpful and attentive, and the place was clean and well-kept.

Good points:
1. Definitely absolutely hands down the best breakfasts we had on our trip. In fact, the best porridge I've ever had in my life. It was nearly transcendant--somehow both creamy and light. Everything else was great, too.
2. Despite some minor frustrating experiences with the staff (see below), our interactions with them overall were very pleasant and they seemed really interested in making us as comfortable as possible.

On the complaint side:
1. The beds seemed to be of low quality, and I woke up after my first night with a sore neck that lingered for two weeks.
2. Staff not always helpful, illustrated in two instances: First, we were anxious to use the half-day after our arrival to begin exploring Dublin, so the kind woman at the desk offered to give us some information and guidance. She began by serving us tea, and then left for a moment...and then forty-five minutes, after which we sought her out. She wanted to give us time to "chill out" after our arrival, which we had not requested, and ended up wasting our time. Second, we asked for a restaurant recommendation from a couple of the staff who were hanging out by the front desk one evening and they were unable to confidently advise us. The place they ended up sending us to was very mediocre.
3. Unreliable wi-fi access, and only available in the common spaces as far as we could tell.

Overall it was a good stay, and I would recommend it. However it is a bit pricey considering some of the things they need to brush up on.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

georgian houses in a leafy street, shabby chic, but so welcoming and breakfast is amazing! try those pancakes! near enough to walk into town, they will give you a map and directions, parking strange, you leave them your keys , they then park it down the side of house, they keep keys so can move it in and out as neccesary. The staff on reception couldn't do more to help. We loved the place!

Room Tip: We had room 2 in house 68 it's enourmous, great powerful shower too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanePeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I was travelling alone for an exhibition and booked my 2 night stay in Kilronan House through an external booking website.
On Checking in I was welcomed with pretty surroundings and a warm welcome from the staff member who offered me a cup of Tea or coffee. He checked me and and helped me with my bags to my room on the first floor. The single room I purchased and paid for in advance was classed as 'an economic' room but it was far from 'economic'. It was an absolutely exquisite room at the front of the georgian building, with high ceilings and decor in keeping with the traditional style. A double bed with lavish furnishings and lighting, it was a cozy and comfortable and had a shower and sink- the only issue I had was that the room did not have an en-suite toilet. The external site where I made the booking did not mention this at all and the staff member apologised profusley and informed me that they were fully booked so unfortunately could not move me. He offered me an Irish Coffee and was very nice. I slept very well in my suprisingly quiet room (even with the window open given that It was at the front of the building with the road outside). The following morning (after a gorgeous breakfast from an impressively long breakfast menu- you name it, it is there and is stunning. Full Irish, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, fresh fruit salad, pancakes, yoghurt, toast, all the juices, tea, coffee... the list goes on) another staff member informed me that they could move me to a room with an en-suite. This room was stunning and in the newer part of the hotel. It had a huge ensuite with shower and velux windows with electric opening/closing & blinds.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin. It is great value for money, they have free parking in the lane alongside the building, the food is AMAZING, rooms and decor are stunning and all of this is a mere 10 minute walk to Grafton st. I will certainly be booking in to stay here on any visit to Dublin.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel so you have all the details. If not, double check with the external bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JConroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our room was dusty and old-fashioned. The bathroom in particular was really tiny and dirty. It was so tiny there was no way to fill the kettle in the room. The walls and corners had black stains on them so it was disgusting to have a shower there. Apart from that, the breakfast and service were ok. But I am sure there are far better places to sleep in Dublin, at a far better value.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonderho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at the Kilronan as a family of 4. This was the perfect location from which to explore Dublin on foot. It is very centrally located and yet quiet, in an elegant part of town. It is clean, comfortable, friendly, and offers car parking (another crucial ingredient for us). Fine and ample breakfast. We came back here at the tail end of our trip for another 2 nights - and the experience was even better, with a more luxurious room and a real personal touch.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#86 of 151 in Dublin
771 reviews
Waterloo House
#22 of 151 in Dublin
571 reviews
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albany House
#66 of 151 in Dublin
765 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,287 reviews
Harrington Hall
#85 of 151 in Dublin
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan House

Property: Kilronan House
Address: Kilronan House 70 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilronan House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan House Bed and Breakfast is in the beautiful quite Georgian quarter of Dublin city centre just one minute from St. Stephens Green and downtown Grafton Street area. Built in 1834, the guesthouse is comfortable period house that still features its original cornicing, Waterford Crystal chandeliers and ceiling roses. The staff at Kilronan House pride themselves in spoiling their guests with true Irish hospitality and excellent customer service. The National Concert Hall and Dublin's main cultural and historic sights including Trinity College, The National Museum and National Gallery are within a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilronan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan House Hotel Dublin
Kilronan Hotel Dublin
Kilronan House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing