We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Kilronan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilronan House
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Selected this guest house after reading the reviews and was not disappointed. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely homely feel to the place. Very nice breakfast although busy at times. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suepc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    298
    79
    49
    40
See reviews for
189
358
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

After being welcomed by energetic staff, our stay went downhill. The room was clean enough and comfortable enough initially, but a leak in the bathroom ceiling made the first morning a rough experience. The second morning, we were supposed to have confirmed transportation to the airport, and the hotel staff offered to set out some breakfast items for us since we were leaving before the regular breakfast; both were apparently forgotten. We had to flag down a taxi driver and left without any access to breakfast. The staff aren't on duty overnight, and no one answered the bell when we tried to seek assistance to remedy the second morning's problems. On the bright side, breakfast the first morning was tasty (even if the breakfast room was a bit crowded).

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NativeWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at Kilronan house before we toured of southern Ireland. The staff was gracious--offering us tea and a place to refresh ourselves after a the long flight. Ann gave us expert advice on the best way to visit all the places on our "must-see" list ... a huge help! We slept for 11 solid hours the first night (recovering from the journey) on a very comfortable bed. The room, the food and the service were all perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImagineYourselfThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymart
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our family of 5 had a wonderful stay at the Kilronan House. Rooms were lovely, bathrooms were fine, and everything was sparkling clean. It's location is a 10 minute walk to Trinity College and the heart of downtown Dublin, so once we parked our car we didn't need it again. Breakfast was terrific, and we were offered wonderful suggestions to make to most of our days in Dublin. Would gladly come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Based on other reviews I think this review would be very different if we were in a different room. My husband and I were in a top floor walk-up (no elevator). The good: breakfast was excellent; good service and food; the staff were friendly, helpful and responsive to any request; the rooms were clean, comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The bad: 2 of the 5 draws in the dresser kept falling off their track making them unusable; the toilet tank took almost 15 minutes to fill before it could be flushed again; the small bathroom had a light over the shower and toilet and a hole in the ceiling over the sink; the 2 outlets in the room were near the floor so recharging items had to be left on the floor; one day the bed wasn't made. I could go on with other annoying things, and although none of these things alone were terrible together they made the room seem worn and made getting out in the morning frustrating.

Room Tip: The main B&B is at # 70 (we were in #68). I would ask to be in the main house and not on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I really wanted to like this place. I read all the reviews on Trip Advisor and feel I stayed someplace else. First the good features of Kilronan House- Breakfast and Darren. Breakfast was always very nice. You are given a menu, no buffet. Eggs, pancakes salmon, irish soda bread, juices were all very good. Darren at the front desk was extremely nice. The negatives all related to our room. We were given room 7 in building 68. Since it is the top floor it must have been the servants room when constructed. It was very small (even by European standards). The windows were single pane and did not fully close. Drafts and street noise. The dresser draws were a problem closing. When we came back to the room the first night, two kights were not working. They were fixed the next day. On the third night we lost another light. The bathroom was small. There was no toilet pressure. You flushed once and had to wait 5 to 10 minutes to flush a second time. A high hat (ceiling light) was missing so there was a hole in the ceiling. This made the bathroom dark. Our room was not made up on the third day. The bed was not comfortable. Why did we continue to stay here?- Darren said the place was full when we checked in. Would I recomment this place? No I wanted a place that included breakfast but I also needed a palce to sleep. This was not it. Sorry for being so negative. The other rooms must be nicer due to the other positive reviews. Oh, when I went down to the front desk at 11 pm to tell them the beds were never made up, I really should have received an apology.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 68-7
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walnut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were only in Ierland for 3 days and were very lucky to find the Kilronan House. We were in a bit of a jam of where to stay but came across the Guesthouse and immediately the staff was welcoming and understanding to our dilemma. Our room was very clean with all the toiletries neatly provided. The room was well lit and nicely decorated as if we were staying in a local Irish home. There was a shower and sink in the room, but the toilet was down the hall, but we didn't mind at all. Our favorite part of staying at the Kilronan House was the excellent breakfast they provided in the morning. It was so nice to wake up every morning and go to the beautiful dinning room and have a full Irish breakfast. Again the staff showed hospitality and caring about us staying there. It was nice that the staff tried to know us on a more personal level asking us where we were from, what we planned on doing in Ireland, what places to see, etc. They made us feel very welcomed to the guesthouse and welcomed in a country we have come to for the first time. The house is in a great location. Harcourt St. is just around the corner and becomes very lively at night. St. Stephens Green and Grafton street is also just a short walk away. We absolutely loved our stay in Ierland and we give much of the credit to the caring staff at the Kilronan House. We would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone thinking about visiting Dublin. We will certainly make a return there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#86 of 151 in Dublin
771 reviews
Waterloo House
#27 of 151 in Dublin
574 reviews
Albany House
#66 of 151 in Dublin
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,147 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,289 reviews
Harrington Hall
#85 of 151 in Dublin
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan House

Property: Kilronan House
Address: Kilronan House 70 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilronan House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan House Bed and Breakfast is in the beautiful quite Georgian quarter of Dublin city centre just one minute from St. Stephens Green and downtown Grafton Street area. Built in 1834, the guesthouse is comfortable period house that still features its original cornicing, Waterford Crystal chandeliers and ceiling roses. The staff at Kilronan House pride themselves in spoiling their guests with true Irish hospitality and excellent customer service. The National Concert Hall and Dublin's main cultural and historic sights including Trinity College, The National Museum and National Gallery are within a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilronan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan House Hotel Dublin
Kilronan Hotel Dublin
Kilronan House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing