We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and classy”
Review of Kilronan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilronan House
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sparta, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and classy”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed here with my mom after a 10 day trip all over Ireland. This was by far the best place we stayed. We got a discounted rate on the room, otherwise I think it would've been too pricey, but for what we paid it was great. It's kind of on the outskirts of the southern part of the city, but easy walking distance from Trinity College and Grafton Street. When we checked in we got free Irish coffees. The complimentary breakfast was two courses, plus toast, brown bread, and tea or coffee. It was incredible, considering it didn't cost any extra. The room was nice and clean, though the TV didn't work. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Parking - when you get there it will seem like there isn't any room in their lot, but they do that on purpose so other people don't park there. Make sure you go to the front desk and tell them you want to park your car and they'll help you out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Katie B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Kilronan House.

Our service, location and breakfast are always features that our guests are very happy with, and I am delighted to know that these were of such a high quality in your opinion as well.

Thank you very much indeed for stating that we were the highlight of your trip in terms of accommodation. That is truly a distinction we appreciate, and hope to repeat time and time again!

Thank you once again for your fantastic feedback. We hope you make it back to Dublin soon, and choose to visit us once again!

Yours sincerely,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    298
    79
    49
    40
See reviews for
189
357
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

As we walked in, Sean made us feel very welcome. Always very polite and helpfull with suggestions for places to eat and visit in Dublin. Our bedroom was spacious and everything very clean. We stayed 5 days and they managed to vary the breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSamuelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear MSamuelG,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your stay with us.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and that our friendly service and delicious breakfast helped to make your time as our guests something that you can remember fondly and treasure.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful stay, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was a great location for a week's stay in Dublin. We were warmly greeted and were appreciative of the full delicious breakfasts each morning. You're only a 10 minute walk from St Stephen's Green where you can pick up the hop on/hop off tour bus. And if you are more adventurous , there's a bus stop right across the streets -getting around a Dublin's city busses was quite easy. You can go online to determine the bus routes.

We hope to come back and stay again and hopefully get to the concert hall which is right around the corner. Thank you to Sean and staff who helped create a memorable vacation-

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtles1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Turtles1101,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your stay with us at Kilronan House.

I am delighted to hear that your experience with us was of such a high standard! It is wonderful to know that you found our location to your liking, and that the breakfast was as enjoyable for you as it is for each of our guests.

Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback, and your very kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin very soon for another fantastic holiday!

Kind regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castletown Geoghegan, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was so excited to visit Kilronan House at first. The photos made the rooms look amazing and I just couldn't wait to get there. Little did I know that the free parking meant putting your car in a narrow corridor next to the building, making it impossible to use it again once you;ve left the keys at the reception. We were going out that night for drinks so we didn't really care. Another great surprise was expecting us, once we got the keys to our room. We had to walk up the stairs to get there draggin our luggage through a very narrow staircase. Someone clearly forgot to mention that there are no lifts...Definately not recommended for mature visitors! Furthermore, the room was tiny, you could hear everything through the walls and our double bed was to singles put together..Disgraceful. We wanted to stay for 2 nights but we packed our bags and left after the first. Not to forget that the breakfast ends at 9:30am! Which is completely ridiculous, if you are planning a night out in Dublin and you pay for a room with breakfast included. We checked out at 11am since that was the latest they allowed, only to find a poor couple trying to sort out a broken mirror on their car, result of the ..free parking provided. I would definitely NOT recommended it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reeva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Martha M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Kilronan House. We value your feedback, and do try to take everything into consideration to improve the service we offer our guests.

I am truly sorry that your visit was not of the standard you expected. Regarding the parking, we always offer to park your car for you, and it is always available for use, should any guest have need of it. This is precisely the reason why we keep all keys safely in reception, so that we are always able to ensure that each and every car is accessible.

As you know, our building is of original Georgian design and construction, so unfortunately we cannot install an elevator without altering the nature of this historic site. We always help guests when taking luggage upstairs, to compensate for this inconvenience.

I am also sorry that you found breakfast service was too early. We would have been happy to allow for a later breakfast, if this issue was pointed out to us as a problem.

i would also like to address the issue you mention regarding the couple who had a damaged car mirror. While your check-out process took less than one minute, we continued dealing with the guests and resolved the problem. It is unfortunate that you were not present when we did resolve the problem, and also fully compensated the guest for the damage.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We value any and all information, as it helps us to improve the quality of the service we provide. I do hope you will stay with us again in future, so that we may make up for any shortcomings on your last visit.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss these and any other problems you may have had, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at info@kilronanhouse.com.

Kindest regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green River, Wyoming
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Where do I begin...

Upon arriving at the Kilronan House, in the pouring rain, manager Sean Finnegan greeted us and immediately insisted on serving breakfast, even though they had stopped serving it a half hour ago. It did not go unnoticed.

By the time we finished breakfast, our bags were already in our room. Again, noted and appreciated.

The room was as I expected, small and quaint, a bit outdated, but with enough modern accouterments to make it cozy for 2014. It is a standard size for a European room. If you're an American and want to stay in a room the size of a Holiday Inn, enjoy spending $400. The bed and pillows were terrific and, when you're out and about all day and night, that is the only thing that matters!

Breakfast was excellent every morning. The staff was attentive and personable. Their genuine kindness was welcomed every morning. Sean and the Kilronan staff are simply good people. When it came time to venture out each day, at least 2 people asked if we needed help or directions. Everyone on this staff pitches in - cleaning, cooking, front desk. It was quite refreshing to see!

The location is perfect. Walking distance to every major (and minor) sight in the city. Not many dining options in the immediate vicinity, but the staff knows of many little hidden gems. Take their advice!

All in all, we could not have asked for a better stay. When we do return to Dublin, we won't consider another establishment by the Kilronan House. Thank you guys!

Dan and Ashley

P.S. Best of luck with the move and delete solitaire before the addiction begins!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Downola,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your amazing review about your visit to Kilronan House!

I am delighted to see that your stay was so pleasant, in every possible way. As you are aware, we always strive to make our guests feel at home, welcome and comfortable. It is truly wonderful to know that you enjoyed your visit, and that our efforts are appreciated so much.

From myself and the whole team here at Kilronan House, I would like to say thank you, and that it was a pleasure to look after you while you enjoyed the splendour and charm of our fair city.

Once again, thank you for your amazing feedback, and we truly hope we are able to make the next visit just as memorable as the first!

Kindest regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Kilronan House is a great choice for any visit to Dublin. Great location, great service and fabulous fresh breakfast. Sean and the team always have a great welcome on hand. This is not the chain hotel experience. But it is friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. I have stayed there regularly over the course of about 6 months. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Pat D,

Thank you very much for your review and the wonderful feedback about your experiences with us at Kilronan House.

We are known for pour exceptional service and delicious breakfasts, as you well know. I am ecstatic to hear that this was your experience as well, having stayed with us on numerous occasions.

We always try our best to make everyone feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed.

Thank you once again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin very soon indeed!

Kindest regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a fabulous time in Dublin and stayed at Kilronan House. It was an easy walk to the city centre and surrounding attractions. The rooms were lovely, however it was Sean and the staff that made the stay special, nothing was too much trouble, we felt so welcome.
Thanks to everyone at Kilronan House we had the best time and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Kilronan House is a boutique style B&B, the breakfast is fantastic! We stayed in two rooms while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 519Deej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear 519Deej,

Thank you very much for your review and your very kind word about your stay with us at Kilronan House.

We always make it our priority to ensure each and every guest has nothing short of an absolutely fantastic experience. That this was the case for you as well, is truly. wonderful to know.

thank you once again for your fantastic feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin in the very near future.

kindest regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#86 of 151 in Dublin
771 reviews
Waterloo House
#28 of 151 in Dublin
573 reviews
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albany House
#66 of 151 in Dublin
765 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
Harrington Hall
#85 of 151 in Dublin
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan House

Property: Kilronan House
Address: Kilronan House 70 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilronan House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan House Bed and Breakfast is in the beautiful quite Georgian quarter of Dublin city centre just one minute from St. Stephens Green and downtown Grafton Street area. Built in 1834, the guesthouse is comfortable period house that still features its original cornicing, Waterford Crystal chandeliers and ceiling roses. The staff at Kilronan House pride themselves in spoiling their guests with true Irish hospitality and excellent customer service. The National Concert Hall and Dublin's main cultural and historic sights including Trinity College, The National Museum and National Gallery are within a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kilronan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan House Hotel Dublin
Kilronan Hotel Dublin
Kilronan House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing